Uptown Auto Care

★★★☆☆
  • 2217 Lyndale Ave S

    Minneapolis, MN 55405

    Map & Directions
  • 612-871-7545

About Uptown Auto Care

Categories
Hours
Mon. - Fri. 7am - 6pm;Sat. 8am - 4pm;Sun. CLOSED

Automotive

Automotive
More choices in Minneapolis:
Resultset_next

Atkinson Homeworks

1099 N 190th Rd Minneapolis, KS

Resultset_next

D & M Body Shop

1206 N 120th Rd Minneapolis, KS

2.5714 14
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Uptown Auto Care was?
Write a Review
.

I will never go back there. Dishonest and rude and they will take advantage of anyone to make a profit. Whatever happened to integrity in auto repair?

3
★★★★★

I will never go back there. Dishonest and rude and they will take advantage of anyone to make a profit. Whatever happened to integrity in auto repair?

.

This was my first experience with Honest1 Auto Care. While they were able to provide me with good service, I will never go back. When I picked up my car I realized my GPS was gone and my doors were unlocked. They said my car was left inside the garage which leads me to believe that one of the employees took it. They never returned my call so I had to call back again and again on my vacation. Of course they said they are not liable but I am very disappointed in their conduct. I trusted them with my vehicle and they let me down.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This was my first experience with Honest1 Auto Care. While they were able to provide me with good service, I will never go back. When I picked up my car I realized my GPS was gone and my doors were unlocked. They said my car was left inside the garage which leads me to believe that one of the employees took it. They never returned my call so I had to call back again and again on my vacation. Of course they said they are not liable but I am very disappointed in their conduct. I trusted them with my vehicle and they let me down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

New Business Owners, Place Looks Alot better than the old shop. I will be coming back here, very friendly and nice counter people! Give these guys a try!

5
★★★★★

New Business Owners, Place Looks Alot better than the old shop. I will be coming back here, very friendly and nice counter people! Give these guys a try!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I wanted to know the differences between synthetic vs. conventional oil and was ridiculed.

The lobby is also a mess and the workers are rude and disrespectful.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I wanted to know the differences between synthetic vs. conventional oil and was ridiculed.

The lobby is also a mess and the workers are rude and disrespectful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Hi Scott, I am not sure who you have dealt with, but we would be more then happy to fix this issue. Thanks!
.

I was a little nervous about going here because of the bad reviews, but I live only a couple blocks away and didn't want to have my vehicle towed. My experience is that they are a friendly staff and quite capable. My vehicle was in and out in one day and the repairs seem fine. It might be a little more expensive than other repair shops, but their location is in the middle of a city. so it's understandable it's not as cheap as in the suburbs. I would go here again and think they have been reviewed inaccurately by others.

4
★★★★☆

I was a little nervous about going here because of the bad reviews, but I live only a couple blocks away and didn't want to have my vehicle towed. My experience is that they are a friendly staff and quite capable. My vehicle was in and out in one day and the repairs seem fine. It might be a little more expensive than other repair shops, but their location is in the middle of a city. so it's understandable it's not as cheap as in the suburbs. I would go here again and think they have been reviewed inaccurately by others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Hi Roxie, Thank you for giving us a try! Yes you are right, we have one person that is creating different names and is putting bad reviews for us (they are upset because they received repair they could not afford). We are quality oriented shop and our pricing is pretty competitive with other shops. We hope to see you soon! Thank you for your business Roxie S.
.

Had my Toyota Prius in there for an oil change and soon after the car smelled like something was burning. Turns out the so called mechanic forgot to tighten the oil filter, causing oil to leak out all over the hot exhaust. I am lucky my car did not start on fire.

I AM NEVER GOING BACK THERE AGAIN!!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

Had my Toyota Prius in there for an oil change and soon after the car smelled like something was burning. Turns out the so called mechanic forgot to tighten the oil filter, causing oil to leak out all over the hot exhaust. I am lucky my car did not start on fire.

I AM NEVER GOING BACK THERE AGAIN!!!

Cons: Can't fix anything the first time!

.

As I drove home the other day with my new starter motor installed and my Honda??s
Engine purring like a contented cat, I felt like I was King of the road!

Of course , I`ve felt that way after every one of the dozens of times I??ve brought my car or my wife??s pickup in for routine or emergency service under your stewardship.
Obviously, you are the person who takes great pride in his work and one who by his example teaches employees the satisfactions that come from a high commitment to service and a determination to meet customer??s needs ( whether they are appreciative or not ).

Over many decades of having my cars worked on in New York, Massachusetts, and California, I??ve never been as satisfied anywhere else as I??ve been with the service I??ve gotten under your supervision in Minnesota these last 10 years. To say, ??It??s always
A pleasure doing business with you ??falls short of telling the full story, but it??s a start.

Best regards, Peter B

2
★★★★☆

As I drove home the other day with my new starter motor installed and my Honda??s
Engine purring like a contented cat, I felt like I was King of the road!

Of course , I`ve felt that way after every one of the dozens of times I??ve brought my car or my wife??s pickup in for routine or emergency service under your stewardship.
Obviously, you are the person who takes great pride in his work and one who by his example teaches employees the satisfactions that come from a high commitment to service and a determination to meet customer??s needs ( whether they are appreciative or not ).

Over many decades of having my cars worked on in New York, Massachusetts, and California, I??ve never been as satisfied anywhere else as I??ve been with the service I??ve gotten under your supervision in Minnesota these last 10 years. To say, ??It??s always
A pleasure doing business with you ??falls short of telling the full story, but it??s a start.

Best regards, Peter B

Pros: Takes Pride in his workl

Cons: None!

.

We've been taking our vehicles to Uptown Auto Care for over 15 years and have always received high quality auto care. The owner is knowledgeable and takes great pride in his company and has many repeat customers. We've moved further away and have other choices now, but continue to bring our vehicles here whenever possible.

2
★★★★★

We've been taking our vehicles to Uptown Auto Care for over 15 years and have always received high quality auto care. The owner is knowledgeable and takes great pride in his company and has many repeat customers. We've moved further away and have other choices now, but continue to bring our vehicles here whenever possible.

Pros: honest, fair, knowledgeable

Cons: location (for us)

.

This place is a joke. Their level of irresponsibility is wanton. My roommate left his car there to be fixed. Several months later his vehicle was still sitting in their lot. Apparently they kept telling him they were working on it. Granted, I would have taken my keys and my car no more than two weeks into the ordeal and brought it somewhere else if I was really interested in getting it fixed. They apparently don't return phone calls. His vehicle is old and my guess is the job became an albatross, something about a spider assembly, and they just didn't want to deal with it considering they can probably sit around and do $350 brake jobs all day long that take 1/2 hour and that they over charge on parts for. So anyways, his car is still sitting in their lot over a year later. I'm very confused that either side let this go this long, but Uptown Auto Care is supposed to be a professional organization. I'm sure that Uptown Auto Care has helped many a happy customer by doing basic repairs that a certain percentage of the population is afraid to do, but sometimes where there is smoke, there is fire. There are too many bizarre complaints to believe this place is ethically or competently run.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This place is a joke. Their level of irresponsibility is wanton. My roommate left his car there to be fixed. Several months later his vehicle was still sitting in their lot. Apparently they kept telling him they were working on it. Granted, I would have taken my keys and my car no more than two weeks into the ordeal and brought it somewhere else if I was really interested in getting it fixed. They apparently don't return phone calls. His vehicle is old and my guess is the job became an albatross, something about a spider assembly, and they just didn't want to deal with it considering they can probably sit around and do $350 brake jobs all day long that take 1/2 hour and that they over charge on parts for. So anyways, his car is still sitting in their lot over a year later. I'm very confused that either side let this go this long, but Uptown Auto Care is supposed to be a professional organization. I'm sure that Uptown Auto Care has helped many a happy customer by doing basic repairs that a certain percentage of the population is afraid to do, but sometimes where there is smoke, there is fire. There are too many bizarre complaints to believe this place is ethically or competently run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

My car started to overheat on 94 so I pulled off at Lyndale, spotted Uptown Auto Care and pulled in. They called me later to report what was wrong and quoted me a price which struck me as high. I started to call around to other shops and decided to take it elsewhere. The other shop (Uptown Imports), which had much better Citysearch reviews, correctly diagnosed the problem and repaired my car, including showing me the parts that had been replaced and said the main issue that Uptown Auto Care had suggested was working fine. Thank goodness for spidersense or whatever it was that told me to leave this place.

0
★☆☆☆☆

My car started to overheat on 94 so I pulled off at Lyndale, spotted Uptown Auto Care and pulled in. They called me later to report what was wrong and quoted me a price which struck me as high. I started to call around to other shops and decided to take it elsewhere. The other shop (Uptown Imports), which had much better Citysearch reviews, correctly diagnosed the problem and repaired my car, including showing me the parts that had been replaced and said the main issue that Uptown Auto Care had suggested was working fine. Thank goodness for spidersense or whatever it was that told me to leave this place.

Pros: They didn't try to charge me more for misdiagnosing my car.

Cons: They misdiagnosed the problem completely.

.

They had my car for 3 months and when I finally got it back there was a bracket sitting in the engine that was never mounted back on, when I called and complained they gave me a coupon for a free oil change! Yah right like I would ever go back there again! Very expensive as well, somehow with a full waranty, I still ended up shelling out over 3,500.00 on a car that was only 3 years old! I was young and dumb, never again!

0
★☆☆☆☆

They had my car for 3 months and when I finally got it back there was a bracket sitting in the engine that was never mounted back on, when I called and complained they gave me a coupon for a free oil change! Yah right like I would ever go back there again! Very expensive as well, somehow with a full waranty, I still ended up shelling out over 3,500.00 on a car that was only 3 years old! I was young and dumb, never again!

Pros: Nice receptionist

Cons: They will get you in the end

.

This is a great, honest repair shop. They are willing to take the time and energy to properly determine what's wrong with your car vs. trying to make a quick and wrong fix. In addition, they really believe in explaining the problem to the customer so everyone is comfortable with whatever needs to be done and they do their best to save you money.

2
★★★★☆

This is a great, honest repair shop. They are willing to take the time and energy to properly determine what's wrong with your car vs. trying to make a quick and wrong fix. In addition, they really believe in explaining the problem to the customer so everyone is comfortable with whatever needs to be done and they do their best to save you money.

.

Had my SUV in for repair and paid over $2100 for repairs and in less then (1) month the vehicle overheated and the engine block was cracked. Took the vehicle back in for warranty repair and/or a refund and was told to leave the shop. Turns out the shop owner (m.p.) forgot to replace the thermostat (the brain of the cooling system). Uptown Auto Care will give you a warranty, but it is useless as a phony $3 bill. Avoid this poor excuse for a repair facility my friends in Minneapolis- you will be glad you did! I would not even let them change the oil in my lawnmower.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Had my SUV in for repair and paid over $2100 for repairs and in less then (1) month the vehicle overheated and the engine block was cracked. Took the vehicle back in for warranty repair and/or a refund and was told to leave the shop. Turns out the shop owner (m.p.) forgot to replace the thermostat (the brain of the cooling system). Uptown Auto Care will give you a warranty, but it is useless as a phony $3 bill. Avoid this poor excuse for a repair facility my friends in Minneapolis- you will be glad you did! I would not even let them change the oil in my lawnmower.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Dishonest repair shop that overcharges and replaces parts that are not needed. This shop was investigated by a local news channel. Please avoid this repair shop my friends.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Dishonest repair shop that overcharges and replaces parts that are not needed. This shop was investigated by a local news channel. Please avoid this repair shop my friends.

Cons: Will give you a warranty but will not stand behind it.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Uptown Auto Care, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review