Cake Creations

★★★☆☆
  • 2606 N Bluff St Ste 110

    Fulton, MO 65251

    Map & Directions
  • 573-592-8885

About Cake Creations

Hours
Mon-Fri 9am-5:30pm, Sat 10am-4pm
3.3 10
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Cake Creations was?
Write a Review
.

I do not usually pay attention to the reviewing of businesses, but my curiosity got the best of me. I have used this bakery many times for different desserts. They have helped me with holiday meals as well as baby showers and such, and I have had good service. I was amazed last time I used them that I could pick up on Sunday, they are there 6 days a week. Only one time have I been disappointed in finding them closed, and I belive that was for a family matter of some sort. It is a woman and her daughter, and from working in this type of business in the past; the hours get long. I wouldn't say forgetting to change an answering machine is "bad business" or "not trustworthy". I have had a couple of orders that have been complicated, but once explained I have been happy with the results.She is able to tell you when the pricing is questionable, but she always gives me a "maximum", and usually comes in below. I just thought I would share my experiences...I used the old owner, and will continue to use the new.

4
★★★★☆

I do not usually pay attention to the reviewing of businesses, but my curiosity got the best of me. I have used this bakery many times for different desserts. They have helped me with holiday meals as well as baby showers and such, and I have had good service. I was amazed last time I used them that I could pick up on Sunday, they are there 6 days a week. Only one time have I been disappointed in finding them closed, and I belive that was for a family matter of some sort. It is a woman and her daughter, and from working in this type of business in the past; the hours get long. I wouldn't say forgetting to change an answering machine is "bad business" or "not trustworthy". I have had a couple of orders that have been complicated, but once explained I have been happy with the results.She is able to tell you when the pricing is questionable, but she always gives me a "maximum", and usually comes in below. I just thought I would share my experiences...I used the old owner, and will continue to use the new.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you very much, I am glad that you find us helpful.
.

I loved the old owner of Cake Creations and had many lovely quality cakes made while she was in the business. Once it changed hands, however, everything changed. I showed up with my husband 10 minutes before they were scheduled to closed because I need to get something for a school party for the next day. There were three ladies locking up the store (again, before the end of posted store hours) and they refused to help me. All I wanted was some cookies and cupcakes that were clearly already made and sitting in the display cases that I could see through the window. They wouldn't go back in. On another occasion I called the store to ask for something and got the voice message stating the store hours. I wasn't able to speak to anyone so I drove into Fulton, 20 minutes away, as the message indicated the store was open. When I arrived, there was a note on the door that said they were taking several days off and would be closed! The least they could have done is change their message while they were away. The new owners practice very poor business practices and can't be trusted in my opinion. Order at your own risk!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I loved the old owner of Cake Creations and had many lovely quality cakes made while she was in the business. Once it changed hands, however, everything changed. I showed up with my husband 10 minutes before they were scheduled to closed because I need to get something for a school party for the next day. There were three ladies locking up the store (again, before the end of posted store hours) and they refused to help me. All I wanted was some cookies and cupcakes that were clearly already made and sitting in the display cases that I could see through the window. They wouldn't go back in. On another occasion I called the store to ask for something and got the voice message stating the store hours. I wasn't able to speak to anyone so I drove into Fulton, 20 minutes away, as the message indicated the store was open. When I arrived, there was a note on the door that said they were taking several days off and would be closed! The least they could have done is change their message while they were away. The new owners practice very poor business practices and can't be trusted in my opinion. Order at your own risk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I apologize for the bad experiences that you have had. I am not sure when you would have not been allowed in the store, I am usually there after closing time and as long as I am there, my doors are open. As to the other, we have been dealing with a family health crisis since the holidays, on top of taking a few days off the week of Christmas...I did realize that i had forgotten to change my machine, but by then was out-of-state. Again, I apologize.
.

I have purchased many, many cakes from Cake Creations under the new ownership and have always been extremely pleased with their work, prices and professionalism. They have worked with me in designing the cakes I had in my mind. They have phenomenal icing. Truly unique! And their cakes are very moist. I moved to St. Louis 2 years ago and I still drive an hour and a half back to Fulton for every cake I have made. Their prices are well below the St. Louis average and the taste can't compare. I would highly recommend this bakery for any party needs you might have. Their cookies and desserts are awesome as well!!!

Again, I ordered my daughters first birthday cake over the phone from St. Louis and was extremely pleased. I had a house full of people who all loved both the cakes taste and decoration. I have submitted a photo with this additional review. I asked for an Owl theme that matched my daughters bedroom and she nailed it. Fabulous job. Looking forward to my next cake already!!!! Thank you Cake Creations!!!

5
★★★★★

I have purchased many, many cakes from Cake Creations under the new ownership and have always been extremely pleased with their work, prices and professionalism. They have worked with me in designing the cakes I had in my mind. They have phenomenal icing. Truly unique! And their cakes are very moist. I moved to St. Louis 2 years ago and I still drive an hour and a half back to Fulton for every cake I have made. Their prices are well below the St. Louis average and the taste can't compare. I would highly recommend this bakery for any party needs you might have. Their cookies and desserts are awesome as well!!!

Again, I ordered my daughters first birthday cake over the phone from St. Louis and was extremely pleased. I had a house full of people who all loved both the cakes taste and decoration. I have submitted a photo with this additional review. I asked for an Owl theme that matched my daughters bedroom and she nailed it. Fabulous job. Looking forward to my next cake already!!!! Thank you Cake Creations!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you very much!
.

Grandson lives in Kansas City, MO, currently I'm in Atlanta, he wanted a Ben-10 birthday cake, 1/2 chocolate and 1/2 white. Butter cream icing and he wanted the icing heavily applied. The design was well done, the cake was moist, and was reasonably price. In fact we also ordered a cherry pie, it too was professionally made. I highly recommend this bakery. Will continue purchasing here.

5
★★★★★

Grandson lives in Kansas City, MO, currently I'm in Atlanta, he wanted a Ben-10 birthday cake, 1/2 chocolate and 1/2 white. Butter cream icing and he wanted the icing heavily applied. The design was well done, the cake was moist, and was reasonably price. In fact we also ordered a cherry pie, it too was professionally made. I highly recommend this bakery. Will continue purchasing here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I am so glad to see long distance customers, I hope your family enjoyed the pie and cake last time.
.

Love the bakery. Staff professional. Quality decorated cakes which are incredibly moist. Creatively decorated cookies of varing sizes which are wonderful small treats for kids of all ages and sizes. Worth the drive from Columbia to pick up such treats.

4
★★★★☆

Love the bakery. Staff professional. Quality decorated cakes which are incredibly moist. Creatively decorated cookies of varing sizes which are wonderful small treats for kids of all ages and sizes. Worth the drive from Columbia to pick up such treats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I hope you keep coming, thank you.
.

Since being taken over by a new owner, I have given this business plenty of opportunities to redeem themselves. The first cake I ordered from the new owner chagned in price when I picked up the cake. We agreed on $35 and when I picked it up, the cake ended up costing me over $50 and she said it was for "extra decorating costs". Um, hello, you make cakes for a living. Icing and decorating isn't supposed to be "extra". Then I ordered two more cakes after that, giving her a very detailed idea for her to follow, even drew a picture on paper of what I wanted. I paid for those cakes up front so I would not be blind sided. Those two instances went well. Then I went to her for a Topsy Turvy cake which can be difficult to make. I made the mistake of ordering this cake over the phone and when I picked it up, it was totally wrong and she offered to redo it because she could tell I was very dissatisfied. The next day I picked it up (before open hours) and no more than I drove out of the parking lot, it tumbled in the box. I immediatly returned to the store and she did not answer the door. I had to go back about a month later to get some balloons and she asked how it turned out and I told her the story. She didn't even insist on giving me those balloons for free, a $5 value...... Due to time restrictions I recently went to her with another sketch, I wanted a two tier cake, 10 in and 6 inch, both one layer and she wanted to charge me $75 for that little cake. Is she crazy? I laughed and told her I would make it myself. I'm not that nieve!!!

2
★★☆☆☆

Since being taken over by a new owner, I have given this business plenty of opportunities to redeem themselves. The first cake I ordered from the new owner chagned in price when I picked up the cake. We agreed on $35 and when I picked it up, the cake ended up costing me over $50 and she said it was for "extra decorating costs". Um, hello, you make cakes for a living. Icing and decorating isn't supposed to be "extra". Then I ordered two more cakes after that, giving her a very detailed idea for her to follow, even drew a picture on paper of what I wanted. I paid for those cakes up front so I would not be blind sided. Those two instances went well. Then I went to her for a Topsy Turvy cake which can be difficult to make. I made the mistake of ordering this cake over the phone and when I picked it up, it was totally wrong and she offered to redo it because she could tell I was very dissatisfied. The next day I picked it up (before open hours) and no more than I drove out of the parking lot, it tumbled in the box. I immediatly returned to the store and she did not answer the door. I had to go back about a month later to get some balloons and she asked how it turned out and I told her the story. She didn't even insist on giving me those balloons for free, a $5 value...... Due to time restrictions I recently went to her with another sketch, I wanted a two tier cake, 10 in and 6 inch, both one layer and she wanted to charge me $75 for that little cake. Is she crazy? I laughed and told her I would make it myself. I'm not that nieve!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Haley, I do not recall which of your cakes was the first one; but I apologize for any pricing confusion. The topsy-turvy was a challenge for sure, and I simply did not think on my feet the next time you were in. And the last occasion was simply a matter of me initially thinking that you wanted a FULL two-tiered cake, it just needed some clarification. I know that life gets busy, thank you for the time that you were a customer.
.

I recently had my wedding cake done by this shop. Despite the unusual set-up that I wanted with my cake, they nailed it right on. I received several compliments and inquiries as to who had done the cake. The owner is very friendly and helpful, really went the extra mile to meet our needs. I was very pleased with the service that I received and will plan on using them in the future.

5
★★★★★

I recently had my wedding cake done by this shop. Despite the unusual set-up that I wanted with my cake, they nailed it right on. I received several compliments and inquiries as to who had done the cake. The owner is very friendly and helpful, really went the extra mile to meet our needs. I was very pleased with the service that I received and will plan on using them in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you, I enjoy doing unusual cakes. Thanks for letting me contribute to your day.
.

Well to simply put it we gave them $250.00 for our cakes for our wedding and we recieved no cake no refund- owner called and said she wouldnt do either going to small claims court- cake creations are thiefs liars and need to be shut down. owner is never there-has young young girls working and owner has no business sense in a small town like Fulton--I have told and will continue to tell EVERYONE i know AVOID THIS BUSINESS LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!! THEY DONT EVEN DESERVE A STAR BUT YOU HAVE TO GIVE ONE TO POST THIS COMMENT

1
★☆☆☆☆

Well to simply put it we gave them $250.00 for our cakes for our wedding and we recieved no cake no refund- owner called and said she wouldnt do either going to small claims court- cake creations are thiefs liars and need to be shut down. owner is never there-has young young girls working and owner has no business sense in a small town like Fulton--I have told and will continue to tell EVERYONE i know AVOID THIS BUSINESS LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!! THEY DONT EVEN DESERVE A STAR BUT YOU HAVE TO GIVE ONE TO POST THIS COMMENT

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

This was a matter that started with the previous owner, I am sorry that I could not serve you. I am continuing to learn.
.

I was recently married and this service did our cake. Despite plenty of people around town telling us not to go here, we were happy with the service we received inside the store, so we decided to go with it. First problem: after we had placed our order for two cakes (wedding cake/groom's cake), we paid our 150 dollar deposit. The final price was set. We were locked in at this point. Or so I thought.. my wife went in a week later to give her our colors. She had added in extra costs for "extra stuff". I'm not even going to list all the reasons this lady said it's going to cost more... We figured this was a minor error on her part. No big deal right? WRONG. This is the biggest red flag in business. Once details are worked out and money is paid, you don't change final costs. This makes you a unprofessional liar. Why the wife didn't just go somewhere else at this point, I'll never know. Problem 2: Morning of wedding: The cake creator decided she wasn't able to make the second cake. Reason: she had other orders and didn't have time. Should this be my problem? Red flag #2 but, what was I supposed to do on the morning of my wedding? Problem 3: Agreed time for her to setup cake at reception area (same area as altar) 3pm because our ceremony was at 4pm. The weather kept us from starting on time, but we still had to wait for her to finally get our cake setup at 4:30pm. NOT COOL... Our cake was not of the quality and specifics agreed upon in the store at all. Wrong icing, wrong fillings, looked nothing like what we were promised. It looked like a paper mache project done by junior high kids at best. This person was 90 minutes late. I mean I would rethink my profession if I was this lady. She had 1001 excuses. I shouldn't have had to experience one of them. Bottom line: l should have listened to my fellow Fulton town folk in the first place. Please reconsider using this service. They lie to your face, take your money, and make you look stupid all at the same time.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I was recently married and this service did our cake. Despite plenty of people around town telling us not to go here, we were happy with the service we received inside the store, so we decided to go with it. First problem: after we had placed our order for two cakes (wedding cake/groom's cake), we paid our 150 dollar deposit. The final price was set. We were locked in at this point. Or so I thought.. my wife went in a week later to give her our colors. She had added in extra costs for "extra stuff". I'm not even going to list all the reasons this lady said it's going to cost more... We figured this was a minor error on her part. No big deal right? WRONG. This is the biggest red flag in business. Once details are worked out and money is paid, you don't change final costs. This makes you a unprofessional liar. Why the wife didn't just go somewhere else at this point, I'll never know. Problem 2: Morning of wedding: The cake creator decided she wasn't able to make the second cake. Reason: she had other orders and didn't have time. Should this be my problem? Red flag #2 but, what was I supposed to do on the morning of my wedding? Problem 3: Agreed time for her to setup cake at reception area (same area as altar) 3pm because our ceremony was at 4pm. The weather kept us from starting on time, but we still had to wait for her to finally get our cake setup at 4:30pm. NOT COOL... Our cake was not of the quality and specifics agreed upon in the store at all. Wrong icing, wrong fillings, looked nothing like what we were promised. It looked like a paper mache project done by junior high kids at best. This person was 90 minutes late. I mean I would rethink my profession if I was this lady. She had 1001 excuses. I shouldn't have had to experience one of them. Bottom line: l should have listened to my fellow Fulton town folk in the first place. Please reconsider using this service. They lie to your face, take your money, and make you look stupid all at the same time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

This wedding cake was a challenge all-around. The original price was a base price for the original order, and then changes were made. Despite a last minute payment, and a very long, FREE drive for delivery...the cake was set up at a very pretty, although rainy; outdoor venue. I am sorry that we both had a bad experience, but your wedding seemed nice otherwise..and the staff at Alpine Gardens was wonderful.
.

I Love this store!! The help that they give me in deciding what I want is amazing, they're such a hometown feel!! There's a new owner that is just nice as can be! I don't know what the other reviewer had against them but I disagree! They do wonderful wedding ckaes, cookies, and I heard a rumor about starting pies and other delicious treats like gourmet cheese cakes!!! I'm sooo excited because I have an upcoming baby shower and am stopping in there soon!

5
★★★★★

I Love this store!! The help that they give me in deciding what I want is amazing, they're such a hometown feel!! There's a new owner that is just nice as can be! I don't know what the other reviewer had against them but I disagree! They do wonderful wedding ckaes, cookies, and I heard a rumor about starting pies and other delicious treats like gourmet cheese cakes!!! I'm sooo excited because I have an upcoming baby shower and am stopping in there soon!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank you so much, I am still working on getting some of the "new" things that I would like. It continues to be mainly cookies and cakes for now, but I can always do pies and such by special order.
 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Cake Creations, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review