Zest Cafe & Home Art

★★★☆☆
  • 8831 Six Forks Rd

    Raleigh, NC 27615

    Map & Directions
  • 919-848-4792

About Zest Cafe & Home Art

Hours
Tue-Sat: 10am-8:30pm, Sun: 10am-3pm
3.3125 48
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Zest Cafe & Home Art was?
Write a Review
.

Granted, I haven't eaten here in awhile, but when I did, it was a hit or miss, as far as service. Foodwise, I only had one bad experience. The waitstaff did not seem to want to be at work. I felt sometimes like I should apologize for

3
★★★★★

Granted, I haven't eaten here in awhile, but when I did, it was a hit or miss, as far as service. Foodwise, I only had one bad experience. The waitstaff did not seem to want to be at work. I felt sometimes like I should apologize for

.

Excellent food & shop..I have been going to Zests for probably 10 years and its always divine... Excellent & interesting menu...
Tonight I had veggie lasagna and I will be dreaming about the flavor..

The bad reviews are obviously someone out for revenge. They all have the same horrible grammer...This place is always a great experience....

5
★★★★★

Excellent food & shop..I have been going to Zests for probably 10 years and its always divine... Excellent & interesting menu...
Tonight I had veggie lasagna and I will be dreaming about the flavor..

The bad reviews are obviously someone out for revenge. They all have the same horrible grammer...This place is always a great experience....

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I USED to love this place and loved to shop there. So much so that for a special treat from my husband, I received a $50 gift card. I was so excited to spend it but when I finally was able (4 kids/ 3jobs), I was told it had expired the

3
★★★★★

I USED to love this place and loved to shop there. So much so that for a special treat from my husband, I received a $50 gift card. I was so excited to spend it but when I finally was able (4 kids/ 3jobs), I was told it had expired the

.

I have always loved both the restaurant and store UNTIL now.... I bought a handful of expensive christmas ornaments which they took off the tree and wrapped for me while I ate in the cafe. My two small girls opened them up to be crushed

3
★★★★★

I have always loved both the restaurant and store UNTIL now.... I bought a handful of expensive christmas ornaments which they took off the tree and wrapped for me while I ate in the cafe. My two small girls opened them up to be crushed

.

My husband and I enjoy eating at Zest. You can ALWAYS count on the food and we have found the wait staff and owner to be very cordial. The surroundings are nice with available shopping afterwards. Really, it's a favorite place for us. We highly recommend it!

2
★★★★★

My husband and I enjoy eating at Zest. You can ALWAYS count on the food and we have found the wait staff and owner to be very cordial. The surroundings are nice with available shopping afterwards. Really, it's a favorite place for us. We highly recommend it!

.

My family and I go to Zest as often as possible! I always have a great meal, the quality of the food and creativity of options are always top notch! I feel like it's a home away from home, as the staff is so out going and remembers your name, favorite item on the menu, it's rare to find that combination these days!
The shop is adorable- I love browsing for any upcoming gift- when I go to a party people always get so excited to see a Zest gift package (they wrap them so cute)- and typically there are quite a few of them!! The selection of merchandise is fantastic- the buyer has quite the eye- as I can find something for myself (which I always do!!!), my girlfriends, husband, co-workers, etc!!!

2
★★★★★

My family and I go to Zest as often as possible! I always have a great meal, the quality of the food and creativity of options are always top notch! I feel like it's a home away from home, as the staff is so out going and remembers your name, favorite item on the menu, it's rare to find that combination these days!
The shop is adorable- I love browsing for any upcoming gift- when I go to a party people always get so excited to see a Zest gift package (they wrap them so cute)- and typically there are quite a few of them!! The selection of merchandise is fantastic- the buyer has quite the eye- as I can find something for myself (which I always do!!!), my girlfriends, husband, co-workers, etc!!!

Pros: fresh, local ingredients, friendly staff, consistantly great

Cons: wish there were more locations!

.

The food is incredible! There is something on the menu for everybody. They have a sanitation score of 100.5 and the waitresses, though busy, give great service. The shop is really cute too and everyone in there is always eager to help. I would definitely recommend to anyone!

2
★★★★★

The food is incredible! There is something on the menu for everybody. They have a sanitation score of 100.5 and the waitresses, though busy, give great service. The shop is really cute too and everyone in there is always eager to help. I would definitely recommend to anyone!

Pros: friendly waitresses, great food, clean, nice shop

Cons: none

.

I love the food and the waitresses are fine but the owner was down right NASTY and RUDE. He yelled at me when a waitress brought me another chair. I explained that I've had 2 back surgeries and he just yelled more. I was shocked. I feel sorry for the people who work there.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I love the food and the waitresses are fine but the owner was down right NASTY and RUDE. He yelled at me when a waitress brought me another chair. I explained that I've had 2 back surgeries and he just yelled more. I was shocked. I feel sorry for the people who work there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I walked in last night and told the owner (he was the host) that I needed a table for two outside and that my friend was coming in just a minute. He mumbled something and proceeded to seat two other parties. Then I thought he must have misheard me because clearly there were tables available, so I asked politely, "Can you tell me how long the wait is for two people outside"? He glared at me like I was an idiot and said abruptly, "I will seat you when your other party gets here. You can go have a seat over there and wait." I turned around and walked out the door. I won't ever go back there.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I walked in last night and told the owner (he was the host) that I needed a table for two outside and that my friend was coming in just a minute. He mumbled something and proceeded to seat two other parties. Then I thought he must have misheard me because clearly there were tables available, so I asked politely, "Can you tell me how long the wait is for two people outside"? He glared at me like I was an idiot and said abruptly, "I will seat you when your other party gets here. You can go have a seat over there and wait." I turned around and walked out the door. I won't ever go back there.

Pros: Food is good

Cons: Rude

.

I not go back to this restaurant. And go to other restaurants. At this restaurant,employees- management and waitresses,salespeople are continually rude to me and people I eat with. There are alot of other restaurants in the Raleigh area. I get better service and cleaner. This restaurant not always clean. The employees not clean it up. And see the dirty place.And the food is better also.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I not go back to this restaurant. And go to other restaurants. At this restaurant,employees- management and waitresses,salespeople are continually rude to me and people I eat with. There are alot of other restaurants in the Raleigh area. I get better service and cleaner. This restaurant not always clean. The employees not clean it up. And see the dirty place.And the food is better also.

Pros: none

Cons: many

.

I took my mom to what should have been a wonderful lunch outing yesterday. This restaurant had been recommend by a close friend. From the moment we walked into the cafe, the staff were rude and aloof. It was our first time there, so we weren't sure of how to be seated as there was no sign and no one was at the hostess stand. When the hostess appeared, she was rude. Our waitress was arrogant. The restaurant and store staff looked as if they were at a wake instead of there to provide customer service. They all looked tired and perhaps should retire. That being said, the food was very good. We each had a very nice salad. The store was very cute but the staff couldn't be bothered with providing any customer service. It's really a shame that such a lovely place is packed with bitter staff.

1
★★☆☆☆

I took my mom to what should have been a wonderful lunch outing yesterday. This restaurant had been recommend by a close friend. From the moment we walked into the cafe, the staff were rude and aloof. It was our first time there, so we weren't sure of how to be seated as there was no sign and no one was at the hostess stand. When the hostess appeared, she was rude. Our waitress was arrogant. The restaurant and store staff looked as if they were at a wake instead of there to provide customer service. They all looked tired and perhaps should retire. That being said, the food was very good. We each had a very nice salad. The store was very cute but the staff couldn't be bothered with providing any customer service. It's really a shame that such a lovely place is packed with bitter staff.

Pros: good food, cute store

Cons: rude staff

.

some of the employees told me they are leaving.bad management. low wages and the owners are not a nice couple. not get many tips. the atmosphere is not nice.rather go somewhere else.not many benefits.and the merchandise is expensive. rather go to another place to work.

0
★☆☆☆☆

some of the employees told me they are leaving.bad management. low wages and the owners are not a nice couple. not get many tips. the atmosphere is not nice.rather go somewhere else.not many benefits.and the merchandise is expensive. rather go to another place to work.

.

I eat lunch at Zest quite often and I always have enjoyable experiences there! The waitresses are just about as nice as they could be and, for the price, I don't think you can beat the food. The brie sandwich is my favorite! Lunch can get pretty busy, but I never really have to wait more than about 15 mins or so (if I even end up having to wait- just get there early) and the store has such cute stuff that it's usually hard not to buy something while we wait. If I know that I'm not going to have much time to sit and eat I'll call in an order to go since I work in the office park right across the street. It is very convenient and I still feel like I'm eating healthy!

2
★★★★★

I eat lunch at Zest quite often and I always have enjoyable experiences there! The waitresses are just about as nice as they could be and, for the price, I don't think you can beat the food. The brie sandwich is my favorite! Lunch can get pretty busy, but I never really have to wait more than about 15 mins or so (if I even end up having to wait- just get there early) and the store has such cute stuff that it's usually hard not to buy something while we wait. If I know that I'm not going to have much time to sit and eat I'll call in an order to go since I work in the office park right across the street. It is very convenient and I still feel like I'm eating healthy!

Pros: being able to get food to go, friendly staff

.

I love this little cafe! The quality of the food is above and beyond even most higher end restaurants in the area. The service is great and the wait staff is very friendly. I had a wonderful experience this holiday season when I decided to let Zest cater a small dinner party for me. The food was amazing and received great raves! The preparation was all done for me I just had to re-warm and serve. The owner helped me plan the meal and the chef did an outstanding job! It certainly took all the stress out of the evening for me. I highly recommend it!

2
★★★★★

I love this little cafe! The quality of the food is above and beyond even most higher end restaurants in the area. The service is great and the wait staff is very friendly. I had a wonderful experience this holiday season when I decided to let Zest cater a small dinner party for me. The food was amazing and received great raves! The preparation was all done for me I just had to re-warm and serve. The owner helped me plan the meal and the chef did an outstanding job! It certainly took all the stress out of the evening for me. I highly recommend it!

.

My husband and I are regulars at this wonderful cafe. The food is amazing and the chef comes up with the most tasty combinations! Dinner is special and you can dress casual. I love going at the end of the work day and having a glass of wine and terrific meal. Sunday brunch is great and we often go with our entire family as there is something for everyone on the menu. The wait staff is always friendly and courteous. If the cafe is busy, and it usually is, I never mind the wait because there is so much to see on the Home Art side of the establishment. There are wonderful gift items that you don't see anywhere else in Raleigh and the helpful staff giftwraps for you!

2
★★★★★

My husband and I are regulars at this wonderful cafe. The food is amazing and the chef comes up with the most tasty combinations! Dinner is special and you can dress casual. I love going at the end of the work day and having a glass of wine and terrific meal. Sunday brunch is great and we often go with our entire family as there is something for everyone on the menu. The wait staff is always friendly and courteous. If the cafe is busy, and it usually is, I never mind the wait because there is so much to see on the Home Art side of the establishment. There are wonderful gift items that you don't see anywhere else in Raleigh and the helpful staff giftwraps for you!

Pros: food, service, shopping, parking

Cons: sometimes you have to wait for a table

.

I had not eaten at Zest Cafe until today (although I work nearby). I met a friend there for lunch, and we did not have a good experience. The food is okay (nothing spectacular) and the lunch menu is fairly expensive.
My friend and I had not seen each other in a while, and so we spent a little over an hour there. However, at the hour mark different wait staff (and I think the owner) kept approaching our table individually and saying, "is there anything else?" and "is there anything else we can get you?" in a rude and impatient tone. They were obviously trying to get us to leave so they could make our table available to waiting diners. While I understand their motivation, the way they went about it was unfriendly and a clear-cut example of poor customer service. I will never eat there again, and I will warn other diners about the substandard customer service. The owner and employees clearly do not care enough about their customers, and I wish I had read the other customer reviews before I spent too much money for mediocre food and an atmosphere of impatience.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I had not eaten at Zest Cafe until today (although I work nearby). I met a friend there for lunch, and we did not have a good experience. The food is okay (nothing spectacular) and the lunch menu is fairly expensive.
My friend and I had not seen each other in a while, and so we spent a little over an hour there. However, at the hour mark different wait staff (and I think the owner) kept approaching our table individually and saying, "is there anything else?" and "is there anything else we can get you?" in a rude and impatient tone. They were obviously trying to get us to leave so they could make our table available to waiting diners. While I understand their motivation, the way they went about it was unfriendly and a clear-cut example of poor customer service. I will never eat there again, and I will warn other diners about the substandard customer service. The owner and employees clearly do not care enough about their customers, and I wish I had read the other customer reviews before I spent too much money for mediocre food and an atmosphere of impatience.

Pros: Parking, vegetarian options

Cons: Wait staff, ambience

.

walked in with another person. the owner's wife /co owner only nice to people who buy. she rude to other guests.not buy.go elsewhere

0
★☆☆☆☆

walked in with another person. the owner's wife /co owner only nice to people who buy. she rude to other guests.not buy.go elsewhere

Pros: good parking

Cons: employees

.

This used to be my favorite place to take someone for a special occasion, until today. Today I took my mother there for her birthday. The owner asked how many in our party, which was 3 including my very well behaved daughter, we were told 15 min. We waited outside so my little one would not make anyone nervous as the cafe is next to the art shop which has lots of fragile items. After 15 min. we came back inside and noticed at least 2 new tables had been seated. We asked how long and were told, 15 minutes again. I said "30 minutes total now?", to which the owner responded loaded with sarcasm, " What can I say, it is what it is" and then abruptly walked away. Upon leaving to go to another more hospitable establishment, I checked with the cashiers to see if they take reservations, possibly explaining why others had been seated ahead of us. They do not take reservations. I'm guessing he didn't want to seat us because of my 3 yr. old, who is very well behaved, or maybe because we weren't all elderly women dripping in diamonds-no matter, we left. Although we were hoping for something a little more elegant, Milton's pizza is only a few steps away and there we were greeted with warm smiles and great food. It's seems crazy to think that the owner of a "cafe" would need to take customer service cues from a pizza place, but there it is. Our family seeks out and supports local business. We will not be supporting Zest Cafe. Our only consolation is that a packed Zest cafe means there are at least 50 fewer jerks where we are.

0
★☆☆☆☆

This used to be my favorite place to take someone for a special occasion, until today. Today I took my mother there for her birthday. The owner asked how many in our party, which was 3 including my very well behaved daughter, we were told 15 min. We waited outside so my little one would not make anyone nervous as the cafe is next to the art shop which has lots of fragile items. After 15 min. we came back inside and noticed at least 2 new tables had been seated. We asked how long and were told, 15 minutes again. I said "30 minutes total now?", to which the owner responded loaded with sarcasm, " What can I say, it is what it is" and then abruptly walked away. Upon leaving to go to another more hospitable establishment, I checked with the cashiers to see if they take reservations, possibly explaining why others had been seated ahead of us. They do not take reservations. I'm guessing he didn't want to seat us because of my 3 yr. old, who is very well behaved, or maybe because we weren't all elderly women dripping in diamonds-no matter, we left. Although we were hoping for something a little more elegant, Milton's pizza is only a few steps away and there we were greeted with warm smiles and great food. It's seems crazy to think that the owner of a "cafe" would need to take customer service cues from a pizza place, but there it is. Our family seeks out and supports local business. We will not be supporting Zest Cafe. Our only consolation is that a packed Zest cafe means there are at least 50 fewer jerks where we are.

Cons: horrible customer service

.

not come back .the cashiers are rude,waitresses.ownersalso. i not come back.i have seen the owner and his wife yell at customers when they have complaints. it was done to females.

1
★☆☆☆☆

not come back .the cashiers are rude,waitresses.ownersalso. i not come back.i have seen the owner and his wife yell at customers when they have complaints. it was done to females.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

some of the waitresses try to sell items to customers. like one sold cosmetics.and also tried to sell tickets to a chairity fund raiser to customers.and also one waitress continually complained about her in-laws to customers.they would not stop. and one waitress said they needed money tips for the son. one waitress said management was bad. and waitresses complained to customers they not leave a tip. and service was bad.some waitresses spend more time with their friends as customers. not much time at all to customers that are not social friends.

0
★☆☆☆☆

some of the waitresses try to sell items to customers. like one sold cosmetics.and also tried to sell tickets to a chairity fund raiser to customers.and also one waitress continually complained about her in-laws to customers.they would not stop. and one waitress said they needed money tips for the son. one waitress said management was bad. and waitresses complained to customers they not leave a tip. and service was bad.some waitresses spend more time with their friends as customers. not much time at all to customers that are not social friends.

Pros: some foods are good

Cons: management and waitresses

.

not recommended. i have seen the owner and his wife rude to customers. i haven seen them both yell at female customers. when there is a complaint. or ask for a certain waitress. they both yell and scream at the female customers that have a concern. the waitstaff see food on the floor. the restaurant is not busy.
they will not pick it up. except i have seen one waitress pick food off the floor with her hands. and not wash it afterwards.the waitstaff will brush the food crumbs on the table and onto the floor. and not clean it up. the hostesses not friendly at all. only nice to male customers. and the white older female hostess i noticed always rude to females alone.not nice.only nice to customers when there is a male guest. the waitresses are rude to female customers. they just walk away from tables where there are only females. to gossip with another employees. and leave the females at a table. without explination and not come back. the female cashiers are rude. they often wait on two people at a time. only nice to male customers.management sees the rudeness not do anything. also some waitresses complain they not get enough tips from customers. and ask for money tips. tell customers they need more money. at lunch time more female customers. and the waitresses tend to wait on female customers dressed up.like they have alot of money impression.they only get good service

0
★☆☆☆☆

not recommended. i have seen the owner and his wife rude to customers. i haven seen them both yell at female customers. when there is a complaint. or ask for a certain waitress. they both yell and scream at the female customers that have a concern. the waitstaff see food on the floor. the restaurant is not busy.
they will not pick it up. except i have seen one waitress pick food off the floor with her hands. and not wash it afterwards.the waitstaff will brush the food crumbs on the table and onto the floor. and not clean it up. the hostesses not friendly at all. only nice to male customers. and the white older female hostess i noticed always rude to females alone.not nice.only nice to customers when there is a male guest. the waitresses are rude to female customers. they just walk away from tables where there are only females. to gossip with another employees. and leave the females at a table. without explination and not come back. the female cashiers are rude. they often wait on two people at a time. only nice to male customers.management sees the rudeness not do anything. also some waitresses complain they not get enough tips from customers. and ask for money tips. tell customers they need more money. at lunch time more female customers. and the waitresses tend to wait on female customers dressed up.like they have alot of money impression.they only get good service

Pros: not many at all

Cons: people work there are continually rude to people,including management

.

We used to go here because we liked the food, but it has gotten pricey and we had a terrible experience recently. We had an issue with our meal, and the manager refused to even discuss correcting the issue. Their customer service is awful, we won't go back.

1
★☆☆☆☆

We used to go here because we liked the food, but it has gotten pricey and we had a terrible experience recently. We had an issue with our meal, and the manager refused to even discuss correcting the issue. Their customer service is awful, we won't go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We used to be regular customers here. The food is priced high, but we thought we were getting good value. Then we started to see some inconsistency, and had to send back some food once because it was overcooked. Everything was ok with that (no apologies, though) however today we had lunch and had to send back a turkey burger that was burnt. The manager came back and told us that he would not re-make it - it was cooked the way it was supposed to be and in fact, we could order anything else on the menu but we were not allowed to get another turkey burger! He did not even apologize for the burnt food nor did he engage us in discussion or ask us what he could do to make things better. Bottom line, he is a tactless individual who should not be in a service industry. Buyer beware - if you have problems here, don't expect any of the kind of customer service you should expect from a high-priced bistro - you won't get it. We walked out and won't be back.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We used to be regular customers here. The food is priced high, but we thought we were getting good value. Then we started to see some inconsistency, and had to send back some food once because it was overcooked. Everything was ok with that (no apologies, though) however today we had lunch and had to send back a turkey burger that was burnt. The manager came back and told us that he would not re-make it - it was cooked the way it was supposed to be and in fact, we could order anything else on the menu but we were not allowed to get another turkey burger! He did not even apologize for the burnt food nor did he engage us in discussion or ask us what he could do to make things better. Bottom line, he is a tactless individual who should not be in a service industry. Buyer beware - if you have problems here, don't expect any of the kind of customer service you should expect from a high-priced bistro - you won't get it. We walked out and won't be back.

Pros: Decent food

Cons: Awful management

.

This place was a huge dissapointment. My friends and I went there to eat on Saturday. Two of us were white and we were with an Indian family. When our turn came to be seated after 45min of waiting the manager refused to put two tables together in the middle of the shop. I said so you are going to sit people behind us first! He said yep! So my friends waited I refused to give him any business. My friend then noticed after the manager thought we left, he sat a nice white family together putting the same tables together he told us he couldn't do. My friend confronted him and said you will put the tables together for them and not us? He said yep! So my friend said im leaving, the manager said see ya!
This makes me very sad that we still have this much prejudice still blatenly around. My friend has two children with him, they had to be made to feel not as good as the white people. I feel they should not still be allowed to be in business with this type of treatment of people. A very very prejuduce resturant!! I would never give them any business I'm spreading the word. I have a huge friend group with my organizations i belong to, they will be boycotting as well.
Please don't encourage them by supporting their business!

0
★☆☆☆☆

This place was a huge dissapointment. My friends and I went there to eat on Saturday. Two of us were white and we were with an Indian family. When our turn came to be seated after 45min of waiting the manager refused to put two tables together in the middle of the shop. I said so you are going to sit people behind us first! He said yep! So my friends waited I refused to give him any business. My friend then noticed after the manager thought we left, he sat a nice white family together putting the same tables together he told us he couldn't do. My friend confronted him and said you will put the tables together for them and not us? He said yep! So my friend said im leaving, the manager said see ya!
This makes me very sad that we still have this much prejudice still blatenly around. My friend has two children with him, they had to be made to feel not as good as the white people. I feel they should not still be allowed to be in business with this type of treatment of people. A very very prejuduce resturant!! I would never give them any business I'm spreading the word. I have a huge friend group with my organizations i belong to, they will be boycotting as well.
Please don't encourage them by supporting their business!

.

I went to this shopping strip for a long time and never really noticed or paid attention to Zest. One day a friend took me and I was hooked. You enter into a crafty, trendy type store selling home decor and toys, purses, just to name a few. Everything is very unique. Once past the store, is a small comfy tea room type diningroom. The menu is short but everything is absolutely fresh and delicious tasting.

2
★★★★★

I went to this shopping strip for a long time and never really noticed or paid attention to Zest. One day a friend took me and I was hooked. You enter into a crafty, trendy type store selling home decor and toys, purses, just to name a few. Everything is very unique. Once past the store, is a small comfy tea room type diningroom. The menu is short but everything is absolutely fresh and delicious tasting.

.

My girlfriend and I have eaten here several times, and both of us have always enjoyed everything we have had. Soups, salads, entree's, and sandwiches are all on the healthy side, yet they are always very flavorful. While the ambiance is minimal, the service has always been good, and the prices are reasonable. If you get chance, stop by and check Zest out, you wont be disappointed!

2
★★★★★

My girlfriend and I have eaten here several times, and both of us have always enjoyed everything we have had. Soups, salads, entree's, and sandwiches are all on the healthy side, yet they are always very flavorful. While the ambiance is minimal, the service has always been good, and the prices are reasonable. If you get chance, stop by and check Zest out, you wont be disappointed!

Pros: Excellent food, good service.

.

I really enjoyed the variety of the menu. Everything from pizza to lasagna to bbq chicken. But each was unique in its own way. I had one of the pizzas which included chicken and apples--among other toppings. It came with a salad. My date had the bbq chicken which was a huge piece of chicken, with colesaw, watermelon, and corn on the cob. (Make sure you ask for bread, which is delicious, as they don't often bring it if you don't ask.) Both of us really liked the meal and had enough to bring home for lunch. We ate outside, partially because of the weather and partially for the weird aroma of the store/restaurant. I recommend this place and hope to come back some time.

2
★★★★☆

I really enjoyed the variety of the menu. Everything from pizza to lasagna to bbq chicken. But each was unique in its own way. I had one of the pizzas which included chicken and apples--among other toppings. It came with a salad. My date had the bbq chicken which was a huge piece of chicken, with colesaw, watermelon, and corn on the cob. (Make sure you ask for bread, which is delicious, as they don't often bring it if you don't ask.) Both of us really liked the meal and had enough to bring home for lunch. We ate outside, partially because of the weather and partially for the weird aroma of the store/restaurant. I recommend this place and hope to come back some time.

Pros: Good food

Cons: Smell of restaurant

.

This is a cozy & friendly place with a menu that meets the needs of both the traditionalists & adventurous diner. It's not a fancy restaurant, but one where anyone should feel comfortable & treated like family. It's hard to pick a favorite menu item, but pizzas & salads are always excellent & creatively presented. I usually end up buying some items from the shop, too. My favorite go-to casual place in N. Raleigh!

2
★★★★☆

This is a cozy & friendly place with a menu that meets the needs of both the traditionalists & adventurous diner. It's not a fancy restaurant, but one where anyone should feel comfortable & treated like family. It's hard to pick a favorite menu item, but pizzas & salads are always excellent & creatively presented. I usually end up buying some items from the shop, too. My favorite go-to casual place in N. Raleigh!

Pros: Interesting Food; always tasty; casual neighborly ambience

.

Zest has been a favorite of mine for years. First of all, the reviews here are all over the place regarding the quality of service. I have had excellent service and mediocre service here; it really depends on the waitstaff working that particular nice. However, they have always been very acommodating with kids - we have a 5 year old and a 3 year old, and it has never been a problem at all briging them to eat at Zest. The only thing to worry about with children is the store - there are plenty of breakable vases, picture frames, etc., so your kids can't run around or anything. The entrees on the menu change periodically and tend to be hit-or-miss, but the salads are always fresh - I always get salad, and it's always fantastic - and definitely leave room for dessert (especially the chocolate peanut butter pie). The atmosphere is also charming, and the arrangement changes frequently as new items come into the store.

1
★★★☆☆

Zest has been a favorite of mine for years. First of all, the reviews here are all over the place regarding the quality of service. I have had excellent service and mediocre service here; it really depends on the waitstaff working that particular nice. However, they have always been very acommodating with kids - we have a 5 year old and a 3 year old, and it has never been a problem at all briging them to eat at Zest. The only thing to worry about with children is the store - there are plenty of breakable vases, picture frames, etc., so your kids can't run around or anything. The entrees on the menu change periodically and tend to be hit-or-miss, but the salads are always fresh - I always get salad, and it's always fantastic - and definitely leave room for dessert (especially the chocolate peanut butter pie). The atmosphere is also charming, and the arrangement changes frequently as new items come into the store.

Pros: ambience, store, desserts

Cons: limited seating

.

Every time I have been to Zest, the food has been fantastic. I've taken friends there and they loved the food too. The menu changes regularly, so there is usually something new to try. The hours are a bit strange, so be sure to check before you go. The only time I've been disappointed is when I arrived and found them closed. It can get crowded at lunch, so be prepared to wait a bit, or go early (before 11:30).

2
★★★★★

Every time I have been to Zest, the food has been fantastic. I've taken friends there and they loved the food too. The menu changes regularly, so there is usually something new to try. The hours are a bit strange, so be sure to check before you go. The only time I've been disappointed is when I arrived and found them closed. It can get crowded at lunch, so be prepared to wait a bit, or go early (before 11:30).

Pros: Fresh, good variety

Cons: limited seating

.

We went to Zest for my birthday and the service was excellent and the food was delicious. I had the salmon salad and the quesadilla. I actually shared both & the waitress had split them so we each got a plate with half of both. My daughter had a pizza and she loved it. Service was attentive but not bothersome.

2
★★★★★

We went to Zest for my birthday and the service was excellent and the food was delicious. I had the salmon salad and the quesadilla. I actually shared both & the waitress had split them so we each got a plate with half of both. My daughter had a pizza and she loved it. Service was attentive but not bothersome.

Pros: healthy fare, pretty atmosphere, fresh tasting food

.

Zest Cafe and Home Art carries the most unique and divine gifts! When I have to get something special for my extra picky loved ones, I go to Zest. Go hugry, because their food is excellent, too!!! A great spot for "ladies who lunch"!

Their menu changes all the time and so does their store inventory-- i never eat pasta and i had the new cheese ravioli-- it was amazing-- not too much pasta with steamed vegetables all on top!! it's hard to describe- but trust me- it's great!

their slaw and chicken salad are famous for good reason!!!

brunch is fantastic too!! i get the seasonal fritatta with side salad and the wasabi dressing & then fresh fruit--
i am allergic to preservatives-- and i know i can safely order anything on their menu!

2
★★★★★

Zest Cafe and Home Art carries the most unique and divine gifts! When I have to get something special for my extra picky loved ones, I go to Zest. Go hugry, because their food is excellent, too!!! A great spot for "ladies who lunch"!

Their menu changes all the time and so does their store inventory-- i never eat pasta and i had the new cheese ravioli-- it was amazing-- not too much pasta with steamed vegetables all on top!! it's hard to describe- but trust me- it's great!

their slaw and chicken salad are famous for good reason!!!

brunch is fantastic too!! i get the seasonal fritatta with side salad and the wasabi dressing & then fresh fruit--
i am allergic to preservatives-- and i know i can safely order anything on their menu!

Pros: Good Parking, Warm & Friendly Peopl, Great Gift Wrapping!

Cons: Closed Mondays

.

I've heard good things about Zest but my experience spoke louder than their reputation. Between tolerating loud cell phone talkers and being ignored by waitstaff I had a sesame-oil drenched meal and an empty drink glass. The cafe offered hope of charm and a european-style care-free lunch but sadly fell short.

1
★★☆☆☆

I've heard good things about Zest but my experience spoke louder than their reputation. Between tolerating loud cell phone talkers and being ignored by waitstaff I had a sesame-oil drenched meal and an empty drink glass. The cafe offered hope of charm and a european-style care-free lunch but sadly fell short.

Pros: Location

Cons: Rude clientel, Uninspired, Poor food flavor

.

I have been doing lunch, brunch, dinner and take-out at Zest for a number of years--I am a regular. I use Zest as my "personal chef" 2-3 times a week. The food is healthful and beautifully prepared. The employees in the cafe and store have always been courteous and accommodating for my special requests. It is a place where they know my name.

2
★★★★★

I have been doing lunch, brunch, dinner and take-out at Zest for a number of years--I am a regular. I use Zest as my "personal chef" 2-3 times a week. The food is healthful and beautifully prepared. The employees in the cafe and store have always been courteous and accommodating for my special requests. It is a place where they know my name.

.

Zest is a great store to go to if you are looking for a unique gift. Whether you are shopping for your mother in law, or your 6 year old nephew your bound to find something absolutly perfect at zest.

4
★★★★☆

Zest is a great store to go to if you are looking for a unique gift. Whether you are shopping for your mother in law, or your 6 year old nephew your bound to find something absolutly perfect at zest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My husband and I have eaten here several times over the years and always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. However, we will NEVER go back! Several of the other reviews reference the staff not being willing to accomodate groups, etc. Apparantly this attitude extends to small children as well.
Parents- stick with restaurants that you know like and welcome your children. Zest is not one of them!

0
★☆☆☆☆

My husband and I have eaten here several times over the years and always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. However, we will NEVER go back! Several of the other reviews reference the staff not being willing to accomodate groups, etc. Apparantly this attitude extends to small children as well.
Parents- stick with restaurants that you know like and welcome your children. Zest is not one of them!

.

In a city of malls, shopping centers and the same store at every turn, Zest is a refreshing change. They carry every kind of specialty gift you can imagine - from pocketbooks to hand designed glasses to games for children. The prices reflect North Raleigh living but are very comparable to many stores in the area. This is the first place to go if you know someone who has everything and you need to get them a gift. (Note: I have not eaten at the cafe so I cannot comment on it.)

PROS: Unique gifts
CONS:

4
★★★★☆

In a city of malls, shopping centers and the same store at every turn, Zest is a refreshing change. They carry every kind of specialty gift you can imagine - from pocketbooks to hand designed glasses to games for children. The prices reflect North Raleigh living but are very comparable to many stores in the area. This is the first place to go if you know someone who has everything and you need to get them a gift. (Note: I have not eaten at the cafe so I cannot comment on it.)

PROS: Unique gifts
CONS:

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The food was fresh and innovative. This place is absolutely refreshing. Sometimes there is a wait, but you can browse the "Pottery Barn" like store while you wait. A great chat with the girls spot.

2
★★★★★

The food was fresh and innovative. This place is absolutely refreshing. Sometimes there is a wait, but you can browse the "Pottery Barn" like store while you wait. A great chat with the girls spot.

Pros: Inexpensive, Light Fare

.

Great, health-focused food in a casual yet intimate setting. Menu changes monthly or so. It's a breath of fresh air compared to the dull chain restaurants around! We have always found the wait staff courteous and friendly; in fact, Marvin (the owner and frequent host) always greets us with a smile-- and even treated us to a house warming gift when we came to celebrate our new purchase. Now THAT's what a neighborhood cafe is all about!

2
★★★★★

Great, health-focused food in a casual yet intimate setting. Menu changes monthly or so. It's a breath of fresh air compared to the dull chain restaurants around! We have always found the wait staff courteous and friendly; in fact, Marvin (the owner and frequent host) always greets us with a smile-- and even treated us to a house warming gift when we came to celebrate our new purchase. Now THAT's what a neighborhood cafe is all about!

Pros: healthy, inexpensive, inventive cuisine

.

This restaurant is not accommodating of parties larger than 6 people. I was with a group of 6-9 business professionals and the staff refused to seat us. The hostess/waitress said there was not room. At that time, 11:30 a.m. there were only 4 tables being used in the entire restaurant! She was rude and did not try to accommodate our request. She completely ignored the group. We had to leave!

0
★☆☆☆☆

This restaurant is not accommodating of parties larger than 6 people. I was with a group of 6-9 business professionals and the staff refused to seat us. The hostess/waitress said there was not room. At that time, 11:30 a.m. there were only 4 tables being used in the entire restaurant! She was rude and did not try to accommodate our request. She completely ignored the group. We had to leave!

.

Recently, some friends and I went to Zest for lunch. The restaurant was less than half full. The hostess was not willing to accomodate us and was most rude. I have never experienced such rudeness before; it was unexcusable. My friends and I will never visit there again.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Recently, some friends and I went to Zest for lunch. The restaurant was less than half full. The hostess was not willing to accomodate us and was most rude. I have never experienced such rudeness before; it was unexcusable. My friends and I will never visit there again.

.

Incredible food! Incredible Shopping! And some of the best service in Raleigh! What's not to love about Zest? Nothing. The food is fresh and inventive. It is great to find culinary creativity without a big price tag...and in a casual atmosphere. While you wait, there are delectable treats for the eye in the home art store attached to the cafe. I do all my gift shopping here, as the store alone is a reason to visit Zest. This place is every woman's dream cafe...but my husband loves it too.

2
★★★★★

Incredible food! Incredible Shopping! And some of the best service in Raleigh! What's not to love about Zest? Nothing. The food is fresh and inventive. It is great to find culinary creativity without a big price tag...and in a casual atmosphere. While you wait, there are delectable treats for the eye in the home art store attached to the cafe. I do all my gift shopping here, as the store alone is a reason to visit Zest. This place is every woman's dream cafe...but my husband loves it too.

.

Zest Cafe and Home Art is a hidden treasure in North Raleigh. The terrific food and wonderful service combine to make a delightful dining experience. Shopping in the attached store is fun due to the mix of merchandise. This dining and shopping make for an evening well spent.

2
★★★★★

Zest Cafe and Home Art is a hidden treasure in North Raleigh. The terrific food and wonderful service combine to make a delightful dining experience. Shopping in the attached store is fun due to the mix of merchandise. This dining and shopping make for an evening well spent.

Pros: Inexpensive, Menu changes often, Good wait staff

.

Great restaurant with a wide variety of food. I have been twice for lunch and sat outside in their patio both times. Very enjoyable experience, I will go again !

2
★★★★☆

Great restaurant with a wide variety of food. I have been twice for lunch and sat outside in their patio both times. Very enjoyable experience, I will go again !

Pros: good food, outside patio, wide variety

Cons: some traffic noise

Review Partner
.

The food at Zest was excellent, however, there was a lack of ambiance. A little background chatter is nice,...

2
★★★★☆

The food at Zest was excellent, however, there was a lack of ambiance. A little background chatter is nice,...

.

Rude owner. I've been here a few times and each time I am more shocked. Wrong orders, owner being brusk and rude. The last time was my last. I asked when a table would be available and he barked "you have to wait" and turned away. I

0
★☆☆☆☆

Rude owner. I've been here a few times and each time I am more shocked. Wrong orders, owner being brusk and rude. The last time was my last. I asked when a table would be available and he barked "you have to wait" and turned away. I

.

In a city of malls, shopping centers and the same store at every turn, Zest is a refreshing change. They carry every kind of specialty gift you can imagine - from pocketbooks to hand designed glasses to games for children. The prices

2
★★★★☆

In a city of malls, shopping centers and the same store at every turn, Zest is a refreshing change. They carry every kind of specialty gift you can imagine - from pocketbooks to hand designed glasses to games for children. The prices

.

Zest is the perfect gift store. Whether your looking for a gift for your mom, or for your ten year old newphew you can probably find something unique and neat at zest. the prices tend to be a little expensive, but are comperable to otehr

2
★★★★☆

Zest is the perfect gift store. Whether your looking for a gift for your mom, or for your ten year old newphew you can probably find something unique and neat at zest. the prices tend to be a little expensive, but are comperable to otehr

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Zest Cafe & Home Art, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review