Kobe Japanese Steakhouse

★★★☆☆
  • 101 Venture Dr

    Smithfield, NC 27577

    Map & Directions
  • 919-938-3200

About Kobe Japanese Steakhouse

Hours
Sat 4:30pm-10:30pm
3.0769 13
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Kobe Japanese Steakhouse was?
Write a Review
.

My wife and I went to Kobe last night with two other couples and we were thoroughly pleased. My wife is Asian and from Hawaii... would this "Americanized" Japanese restaurant receive high praise in Japan, Hawaii or any other large city

3
★★★★★

My wife and I went to Kobe last night with two other couples and we were thoroughly pleased. My wife is Asian and from Hawaii... would this "Americanized" Japanese restaurant receive high praise in Japan, Hawaii or any other large city

.

OK....so Rick's review is absolutely false. Kobe's does not charge for refills on Tea, soft drinks, or water. It doesn't matter if you have 1 refill or 12...they are free. The cooks are all very nice and a pleasure to deal with. The waitstaff is just as nice. It is a great place to eat when you are wanting Japanease and don't want to drive forever to get it. I recommend it to anyone. Rick, get a life.

2
★★★★☆

OK....so Rick's review is absolutely false. Kobe's does not charge for refills on Tea, soft drinks, or water. It doesn't matter if you have 1 refill or 12...they are free. The cooks are all very nice and a pleasure to deal with. The waitstaff is just as nice. It is a great place to eat when you are wanting Japanease and don't want to drive forever to get it. I recommend it to anyone. Rick, get a life.

Pros: great food

Cons: Small dining area

.

I accidentally discovered this place when I took a wrong turn. It was quite the happy accident! The decor is extremely relaxing and modern. And, the food is wonderful.

I like that you can choose to sit at tables where they cook right in front of you or you can sit in the bar area (still non-smoking) for a quicker meal.

The cook we had was hilarious! He made several jokes and tossed food right in my husband's mouth. We had a great experience!

4
★★★★☆

I accidentally discovered this place when I took a wrong turn. It was quite the happy accident! The decor is extremely relaxing and modern. And, the food is wonderful.

I like that you can choose to sit at tables where they cook right in front of you or you can sit in the bar area (still non-smoking) for a quicker meal.

The cook we had was hilarious! He made several jokes and tossed food right in my husband's mouth. We had a great experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I really enjoy Kobe for hibachi grill Japanese food. The cooks prepare the food in front of you so it's entertainment as well as a great meal. I haven't tried the sushi there, but others have told me it's good. Kobe is located just minutes from the Outlets in Smithfield, so stop by after a day of shopping for an enjoyable meal.

4
★★★★☆

I really enjoy Kobe for hibachi grill Japanese food. The cooks prepare the food in front of you so it's entertainment as well as a great meal. I haven't tried the sushi there, but others have told me it's good. Kobe is located just minutes from the Outlets in Smithfield, so stop by after a day of shopping for an enjoyable meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

In response to that last post from rick---There isnt a japanese restaurant that wont charge u a seating fee at a grill. This is also posted on the menu and on the front door before you even walk into the facility. SOOO if you didnt want to pay the fee you shouldve turned around!!!!~On top of that u do not get charged for refills unless it is juice or milk so that is a total lie... as far as a reservation u must been with a GROUP BECAUSE THAT IS THE ONLY WAY TO MAKE ONE. tHEPRICES ARE CONSIDERED TO BE REASONABLE FOR THE AMOUNT OF THE FOOD YOU GET ---MOST PEOPLE WALK OUT FULL AND WITH A BOX FOR LUNCH THE NEXT DAY.mAYBE IT WASNT THE RESTAURANT MAYBE IT WAS JUST THE CUSTOMER.

2
★★★★☆

In response to that last post from rick---There isnt a japanese restaurant that wont charge u a seating fee at a grill. This is also posted on the menu and on the front door before you even walk into the facility. SOOO if you didnt want to pay the fee you shouldve turned around!!!!~On top of that u do not get charged for refills unless it is juice or milk so that is a total lie... as far as a reservation u must been with a GROUP BECAUSE THAT IS THE ONLY WAY TO MAKE ONE. tHEPRICES ARE CONSIDERED TO BE REASONABLE FOR THE AMOUNT OF THE FOOD YOU GET ---MOST PEOPLE WALK OUT FULL AND WITH A BOX FOR LUNCH THE NEXT DAY.mAYBE IT WASNT THE RESTAURANT MAYBE IT WAS JUST THE CUSTOMER.

Pros: PLENTY OF FOOD FOR THE $$$

.

This Resturant is a rip off from the fine Kobe Japanese Steakhouses which are located in Major cities across the US. I highly recommend not to eat in this place. The Staff is very rude and would even enrage someone to perforn sepuka with a spoon upon themselves. The food, if you can call it that, reminds one of table scraps from a church steak dinner. It is very easy to make a reservation, you will be promptly seated, then the torture begins. The hidden fees are disclosed at that time and you are then nickeled and dimed to death for the smallest detail. This is a very dishonorable practice even for Americans. When I ask a waitress for my first beverage refill she then charge me as to getting a second refill. The sitting fee has been raised to 7$ and I see why it is easy to get a reservation in this rip off on Kobe. I wish I had seen these reviews before trying to eat there. As to the competence of the chefs, the cook at the waffle house down the street is more talented and more personable to enhance your meal. I hope they file for bankruptcy soon and get out of town. Oh the sushi, if you are wondering about that. It is frozen and then microwaved and presented as fresh. The blonde cashier should think about trying out as Florence on the TV show Alice. Because Mel is cooking in the back.

0
★☆☆☆☆

This Resturant is a rip off from the fine Kobe Japanese Steakhouses which are located in Major cities across the US. I highly recommend not to eat in this place. The Staff is very rude and would even enrage someone to perforn sepuka with a spoon upon themselves. The food, if you can call it that, reminds one of table scraps from a church steak dinner. It is very easy to make a reservation, you will be promptly seated, then the torture begins. The hidden fees are disclosed at that time and you are then nickeled and dimed to death for the smallest detail. This is a very dishonorable practice even for Americans. When I ask a waitress for my first beverage refill she then charge me as to getting a second refill. The sitting fee has been raised to 7$ and I see why it is easy to get a reservation in this rip off on Kobe. I wish I had seen these reviews before trying to eat there. As to the competence of the chefs, the cook at the waffle house down the street is more talented and more personable to enhance your meal. I hope they file for bankruptcy soon and get out of town. Oh the sushi, if you are wondering about that. It is frozen and then microwaved and presented as fresh. The blonde cashier should think about trying out as Florence on the TV show Alice. Because Mel is cooking in the back.

Pros: The Exit

Cons: The Front Door

.

Don't let the appearance of the place fool you and I can't speak for the dining, but one of the best sushi bars around. Highly recommend the firecracker. The chef knows what he is doing.

2
★★★★★

Don't let the appearance of the place fool you and I can't speak for the dining, but one of the best sushi bars around. Highly recommend the firecracker. The chef knows what he is doing.

Pros: Sushi, prices

Cons: Atmosphere

.

This is a great Japanese restaurant in a wonderful area with a huge shopping mall just right next door.. The food is excellent, steak is super tender and some of the best fried rice.. one of the few Japanese restaurants that still give you a dessert after the meal.

4
★★★★☆

This is a great Japanese restaurant in a wonderful area with a huge shopping mall just right next door.. The food is excellent, steak is super tender and some of the best fried rice.. one of the few Japanese restaurants that still give you a dessert after the meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I usually like Kobe's but on two occasions myself and a friend were harrased for a tip. The waitress went as far as following us out to the parking lot to ask for it. We informed her that the tip was left on the table and another lady came over and picked up the cardholder folder we left it in. After speaking with the manager she made it seem as this was the norm to have the waitress run you down for a tip. I think we left a good tip we left her about a 35% tip. If you want to be "tip harrased" this is the place to go!

1
★★☆☆☆

I usually like Kobe's but on two occasions myself and a friend were harrased for a tip. The waitress went as far as following us out to the parking lot to ask for it. We informed her that the tip was left on the table and another lady came over and picked up the cardholder folder we left it in. After speaking with the manager she made it seem as this was the norm to have the waitress run you down for a tip. I think we left a good tip we left her about a 35% tip. If you want to be "tip harrased" this is the place to go!

Pros: Great Food

Cons: Crazy employees!

.

Will not return to this location. Our server Lisa was extremely rude! To ask her for a drink was like asking her to climb Mount Everest. She reacted to any of our request on dinner with hatefullness and anger. I was afraid to even ask for a napkin for fear she might explode. We didn't have dinner with a personal cheif and ate where the other seating was near the bar. However Lisa made sure to charge us gratuity, which should be illegal. I think she knew her service was terrible and the only way to get a tip was to ring it up herself. This place is extremely dirty the sanitation score will reflect this.Also the prices are rediculous considering the terrible service. The food is ok but when were paying 86.00 for our family to eat out and the way the economy is you deserve to have superior service. Anything less at that price is a waste.Please don't give this place the pleasure of your company. Also the manager won't be available for any complaints.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Will not return to this location. Our server Lisa was extremely rude! To ask her for a drink was like asking her to climb Mount Everest. She reacted to any of our request on dinner with hatefullness and anger. I was afraid to even ask for a napkin for fear she might explode. We didn't have dinner with a personal cheif and ate where the other seating was near the bar. However Lisa made sure to charge us gratuity, which should be illegal. I think she knew her service was terrible and the only way to get a tip was to ring it up herself. This place is extremely dirty the sanitation score will reflect this.Also the prices are rediculous considering the terrible service. The food is ok but when were paying 86.00 for our family to eat out and the way the economy is you deserve to have superior service. Anything less at that price is a waste.Please don't give this place the pleasure of your company. Also the manager won't be available for any complaints.

Pros: we didn't get sick

Cons: everything about this dump

.

If your big on sushi then your in the right place the variaty is more than awakeing of your knowldge as well as your taste buds, and I'm not talking california rolls. The portions are plentifull, fresh and filling. I would recommend staying away from the squid which is rather chewie to say the least. The stake and shrimp are meger and the rice over wheming serverd more as a filling than a complement to the shrimp and stake. The decor is lacking to say the least as well the table performance. Over all the sushi stands alone given smithfield isn't big on Japanese cusine.

1
★★★☆☆

If your big on sushi then your in the right place the variaty is more than awakeing of your knowldge as well as your taste buds, and I'm not talking california rolls. The portions are plentifull, fresh and filling. I would recommend staying away from the squid which is rather chewie to say the least. The stake and shrimp are meger and the rice over wheming serverd more as a filling than a complement to the shrimp and stake. The decor is lacking to say the least as well the table performance. Over all the sushi stands alone given smithfield isn't big on Japanese cusine.

Pros: sushi chief true to art

Cons: Lacking flair and feeling of Japan, inexperinced personell, poor performances

.

We ate here for lunch. The experience was terrible, and we would never return.
The chef spilled sauce on part of party and his performance was terrible. The grill barely worked and it took forever.
The food was poor even for Japanese steak house standards.
I would NOT recommend this.

0
★☆☆☆☆

We ate here for lunch. The experience was terrible, and we would never return.
The chef spilled sauce on part of party and his performance was terrible. The grill barely worked and it took forever.
The food was poor even for Japanese steak house standards.
I would NOT recommend this.

Pros: price

Cons: decor, food quality, manager response to issues

.

i live in Raleigh, but went to visit my mom in smithfield for her birthday. we went out to dinner and decided on Kobe. I'm vegetarian and they only had 1 option for me to choose from. plus, i wasn't very hungry. I decided to get Vegetable Tempura, b/c it's my favorite thing to eat. the price for this was around $5. The waitress told me it wasn't considered a meal and if i want to sit at the table (with the rest of my family) i'd be charged $6 as a "sitting fee". um, no. so i saw a dish that was noodles with vegetable tempura on top. it was $9. so i ordered that. the waitress brought out my salad and told me that dish was considered a "soup" so i'd still be charged the "sitting fee". she then told me if i paid $2.50 for the salad, that would make it a meal. i asked if i could get just the tempura (no noodles) and pay for the salad, would that still be considered a meal. she said yes. so that's what i did. let me mention, i order the $10 steak KIDS meal for my 4 year old. i got my tempura after the guy was finished cooking. then she brought out the bill. she charged me the $6 sitting fee anyway. she left the check and NEVER came back. so, we went up to the front to handle the situation. they told me the same thing she did, that i had to order a meal. then i told them what she told me. so they went to get the waitress. she stood right there in front of us and said she never told us that. she called us liars. then she tried to say i was sharing food with my daughter. (i gave my daughter a piece of baby corn from my tempura). not to mention they figured in gratuity for 4 people (1 was a child). finally we paid them their 6 bucks b/c obvisously they needed it more than we did.... considering they had only 3 full tables in the entire resturant.... and we left.... and i PROMISE you we will NEVER return. Next time the family will just drive to Raleigh to eat at Kanki... which has never let me down... and their Vegetable Tempura is a MEAL!!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

i live in Raleigh, but went to visit my mom in smithfield for her birthday. we went out to dinner and decided on Kobe. I'm vegetarian and they only had 1 option for me to choose from. plus, i wasn't very hungry. I decided to get Vegetable Tempura, b/c it's my favorite thing to eat. the price for this was around $5. The waitress told me it wasn't considered a meal and if i want to sit at the table (with the rest of my family) i'd be charged $6 as a "sitting fee". um, no. so i saw a dish that was noodles with vegetable tempura on top. it was $9. so i ordered that. the waitress brought out my salad and told me that dish was considered a "soup" so i'd still be charged the "sitting fee". she then told me if i paid $2.50 for the salad, that would make it a meal. i asked if i could get just the tempura (no noodles) and pay for the salad, would that still be considered a meal. she said yes. so that's what i did. let me mention, i order the $10 steak KIDS meal for my 4 year old. i got my tempura after the guy was finished cooking. then she brought out the bill. she charged me the $6 sitting fee anyway. she left the check and NEVER came back. so, we went up to the front to handle the situation. they told me the same thing she did, that i had to order a meal. then i told them what she told me. so they went to get the waitress. she stood right there in front of us and said she never told us that. she called us liars. then she tried to say i was sharing food with my daughter. (i gave my daughter a piece of baby corn from my tempura). not to mention they figured in gratuity for 4 people (1 was a child). finally we paid them their 6 bucks b/c obvisously they needed it more than we did.... considering they had only 3 full tables in the entire resturant.... and we left.... and i PROMISE you we will NEVER return. Next time the family will just drive to Raleigh to eat at Kanki... which has never let me down... and their Vegetable Tempura is a MEAL!!!

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Kobe Japanese Steakhouse, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review