Glidewell's

★★★★☆
  • 1182 Main St

    Blowing Rock, NC 28605

    Map & Directions
  • 828-295-9683

About Glidewell's

Categories
  • Lounges
  • Restaurants
  • Traditional American Restaurants

Food

Food
More choices in Blowing Rock:
Resultset_next

Mountain House Pancakes

1601 Blowing Rock Rd Boone, CO

Resultset_next

Golden Corral Buffet & Grill

187 Watauga Village Dr Boone, CO

3.5455 11
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Glidewell's was?
Write a Review
.

We stopped in at Glidewells after being caught in a storm on a motorcycle trip, this is the second time we have eaten there. I love the Chicken salad with the cranberries and pecans, however it is now served on an english muffin, I thought the croissant was much better. The servers were wonderful and very accomidating, they were so good with keeping our coffee cup's full so we could warm up from getting caught in the storm, love this place!!!

5
★★★★★

We stopped in at Glidewells after being caught in a storm on a motorcycle trip, this is the second time we have eaten there. I love the Chicken salad with the cranberries and pecans, however it is now served on an english muffin, I thought the croissant was much better. The servers were wonderful and very accomidating, they were so good with keeping our coffee cup's full so we could warm up from getting caught in the storm, love this place!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My husband and I have been coming to Blowing Rock for years, and came up thursday with our daughter and grandchildren. Our old friends referred us to Glidewells. I'm an amateur chef, and am very difficult to please. No restaurant in Charlotte compares! The ambiance was wonderful! The building is also an art gallery that they let you peruse. We had a few drinks and our bartender, Brandon, was the most knowledgeable person with regards to wine I have ever met. When we were seated we met Victoria our server who was the most delightful knowledgeable server we have experienced. All of the people we met seemed very invested in the restaurant, and were that perfect mix of "letting us have a good time" and "there when we needed them with any question we asked" To be frank, when we arrived our family mood was rather somber, and 10 minutes later we all remarked about how beautiful the building was, and how wonderful and happy we felt. It looks like an old house with beautiful woodwork, old stone fireplaces, high ceilings, and wonderful local art. Something about Blowing Rock and Glidewells just lifted our spirits! Then our food came! I could go on and on, but it was magical! We asked to see the chef, and the server thought something was wrong, and a man named Skipper came to our table, and he was delightful. Apparently he is from South Carolina and was a chef at the Ritz Carlton in Buckhead. I quizzed him as best I could, and he really knew his stuff. In summary, my family really appreciated our experience to the point that I felt compelled to write it down. We have decided its where our family will gather.

5
★★★★★

My husband and I have been coming to Blowing Rock for years, and came up thursday with our daughter and grandchildren. Our old friends referred us to Glidewells. I'm an amateur chef, and am very difficult to please. No restaurant in Charlotte compares! The ambiance was wonderful! The building is also an art gallery that they let you peruse. We had a few drinks and our bartender, Brandon, was the most knowledgeable person with regards to wine I have ever met. When we were seated we met Victoria our server who was the most delightful knowledgeable server we have experienced. All of the people we met seemed very invested in the restaurant, and were that perfect mix of "letting us have a good time" and "there when we needed them with any question we asked" To be frank, when we arrived our family mood was rather somber, and 10 minutes later we all remarked about how beautiful the building was, and how wonderful and happy we felt. It looks like an old house with beautiful woodwork, old stone fireplaces, high ceilings, and wonderful local art. Something about Blowing Rock and Glidewells just lifted our spirits! Then our food came! I could go on and on, but it was magical! We asked to see the chef, and the server thought something was wrong, and a man named Skipper came to our table, and he was delightful. Apparently he is from South Carolina and was a chef at the Ritz Carlton in Buckhead. I quizzed him as best I could, and he really knew his stuff. In summary, my family really appreciated our experience to the point that I felt compelled to write it down. We have decided its where our family will gather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

When we found Glidewell's this past week (3/2010) in Blowing Rock, we got lucky. Don't be put off by the weird, Flintstone's front door or the slightly Mexican facade....this is not a Mexican place. For the price (midrange), Glidewell's has knock-your-socks-off food. The service at 8pm on a Saturday night was excellent. We ordered the soho salmon and beef tenderloin. A 3 ounce beef tenderloin looked a LOT larger, and both dishes simply melted in your mouth. Sauces were light and complex at the same time. The sides were excellent. I substituted sweet potato fries for shoestring potatoes and ate every single one. This was a highly satisfying and creative meal. We recommend Glidewell's for 5 stars

5
★★★★★

When we found Glidewell's this past week (3/2010) in Blowing Rock, we got lucky. Don't be put off by the weird, Flintstone's front door or the slightly Mexican facade....this is not a Mexican place. For the price (midrange), Glidewell's has knock-your-socks-off food. The service at 8pm on a Saturday night was excellent. We ordered the soho salmon and beef tenderloin. A 3 ounce beef tenderloin looked a LOT larger, and both dishes simply melted in your mouth. Sauces were light and complex at the same time. The sides were excellent. I substituted sweet potato fries for shoestring potatoes and ate every single one. This was a highly satisfying and creative meal. We recommend Glidewell's for 5 stars

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The food could have mad up for the service or the service could have made up for the food, but neither one decided to step up. This is now my 3rd (and last) time eating at Glidwell's and I am still yet to be impressed or satisfied. The menu tries to be a little of everything but just ends up being a lot of things you don't want. They need to find a style their chef/cooks can master and stick with their strong suites. Their servers are obvious uninterested non-attentive college students. Inability to listen and or concentrate have lead to, two of my three visits resulting in bringing the wrong drink or app, and my last visit resulted in the wrong check being brought to my table. I will not be going back a fourth time and I would not recommend this place to a friend..... or an enemy.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The food could have mad up for the service or the service could have made up for the food, but neither one decided to step up. This is now my 3rd (and last) time eating at Glidwell's and I am still yet to be impressed or satisfied. The menu tries to be a little of everything but just ends up being a lot of things you don't want. They need to find a style their chef/cooks can master and stick with their strong suites. Their servers are obvious uninterested non-attentive college students. Inability to listen and or concentrate have lead to, two of my three visits resulting in bringing the wrong drink or app, and my last visit resulted in the wrong check being brought to my table. I will not be going back a fourth time and I would not recommend this place to a friend..... or an enemy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I eat here about once a week, and live in Blowing Rock. I love this place. The food is quick and awesome, its a neat old building, and its fun to eat outside on their patio. They have a great chef, and its just lots of fun to go here, you should definitely check it out.

5
★★★★★

I eat here about once a week, and live in Blowing Rock. I love this place. The food is quick and awesome, its a neat old building, and its fun to eat outside on their patio. They have a great chef, and its just lots of fun to go here, you should definitely check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My husband and I just spent a wonderful week in Blowing Rock, and enjoyed most of the excellent restaurants they have in this area. We had the most fun at Glidewells on Main Street. We ended up eating there 4 times, and the excellent menu, dcor, and service caused us to keep coming back. It is the most enjoyable restaurant in this area by far. The menu is fun, they call it ??global comfort food? and there are dishes from all over the world. The prices are more reasonable than the other restaurants also. The most fun is to arrive late for dinner and sit on their patio and enjoy the cool mountain air.

5
★★★★★

My husband and I just spent a wonderful week in Blowing Rock, and enjoyed most of the excellent restaurants they have in this area. We had the most fun at Glidewells on Main Street. We ended up eating there 4 times, and the excellent menu, dcor, and service caused us to keep coming back. It is the most enjoyable restaurant in this area by far. The menu is fun, they call it ??global comfort food? and there are dishes from all over the world. The prices are more reasonable than the other restaurants also. The most fun is to arrive late for dinner and sit on their patio and enjoy the cool mountain air.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My husband and I just spent a wonderful week in Blowing Rock, and enjoyed most of the excellent restaurants they have in this area. We had the most fun at Glidewells on Main Street. We ended up eating there 4 times, and the excellent menu, dcor, and service caused us to keep coming back. It is the most enjoyable restaurant in this area by far. The menu is fun, they call it ??global comfort food? and there are dishes from all over the world. The prices are more reasonable than the other restaurants also. The most fun is to arrive late for dinner and sit on their patio and enjoy the cool mountain air.

2
★★★★★

My husband and I just spent a wonderful week in Blowing Rock, and enjoyed most of the excellent restaurants they have in this area. We had the most fun at Glidewells on Main Street. We ended up eating there 4 times, and the excellent menu, dcor, and service caused us to keep coming back. It is the most enjoyable restaurant in this area by far. The menu is fun, they call it ??global comfort food? and there are dishes from all over the world. The prices are more reasonable than the other restaurants also. The most fun is to arrive late for dinner and sit on their patio and enjoy the cool mountain air.

Pros: For some reason its just a great time, every time

Cons: I wish it was larger, because it gets packed

.

If you can eat outdoors on the patio, the food is OK Mexican. We could not get past the front door to eat inside because the smoking section is right up front and makes the place look dingy and smell awful. We turned around and went back out.

2
★★☆☆☆

If you can eat outdoors on the patio, the food is OK Mexican. We could not get past the front door to eat inside because the smoking section is right up front and makes the place look dingy and smell awful. We turned around and went back out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

NOT Glidewells Glidewells opened in February of 2009. We do not serve Mexican Food, and we do not allow smoking. This review is here improperly, and does not refer to Glidewells.
.

Where do I begin? The service was fine. We sat outside and the weather was excellent for a March evening. That was the only thing good about our dining experience.
My husband and I were sat at a table next to the off-duty employees who talked loudly about how smoking wasn't bad for your health (as they all smoked like chimneys) and how smashed they got on various occassions. There was another couple sitting adjacent to this bunch and the woman was pregnant. The couple finally got up and left b/c the off duty employees couldnt keep their 2nd hand smoke to themselves. I found this all dishearting that an eating establishment would allow their own employees to act so horrible it would run paying customers off. But hey that is just my opinion.
Now on to the meal - if you can call it that! My husband and I each got different items and they were both horrible. I got the vegiterian #2. It was suppose to be 2 echiladas - 1 cheese and green chilies and one with red cabbage. The cheese and green chili one was ok - but not great. The red cabbage one was literally uncooked red cabbage (approx. 1 oz.) wrapped in warmed 8" corn tortilla. My husband got the chicken enchilladas and they were even worse. The chicken was unseasoned with no sauce or cheese wrapped in the same crappy corn tortillas. These were both served with cheap saffron rice and refried beans.
This all wouldn't have been SO bad if our meal didn't cost us 50 some bucks. We did get alcohol but the chicken echilada dish was 12 bucks and I guarantee it cost no more than 3 bucks to make. I could have made better food at home.
Save your money and either stay home or go to one of the other restaurants in Blowing Rock. There is one just across the street maybe they use spices and other yummy things that make foods taste good.
What a terrible memory to have of such a great little town!

0
★☆☆☆☆

Where do I begin? The service was fine. We sat outside and the weather was excellent for a March evening. That was the only thing good about our dining experience.
My husband and I were sat at a table next to the off-duty employees who talked loudly about how smoking wasn't bad for your health (as they all smoked like chimneys) and how smashed they got on various occassions. There was another couple sitting adjacent to this bunch and the woman was pregnant. The couple finally got up and left b/c the off duty employees couldnt keep their 2nd hand smoke to themselves. I found this all dishearting that an eating establishment would allow their own employees to act so horrible it would run paying customers off. But hey that is just my opinion.
Now on to the meal - if you can call it that! My husband and I each got different items and they were both horrible. I got the vegiterian #2. It was suppose to be 2 echiladas - 1 cheese and green chilies and one with red cabbage. The cheese and green chili one was ok - but not great. The red cabbage one was literally uncooked red cabbage (approx. 1 oz.) wrapped in warmed 8" corn tortilla. My husband got the chicken enchilladas and they were even worse. The chicken was unseasoned with no sauce or cheese wrapped in the same crappy corn tortillas. These were both served with cheap saffron rice and refried beans.
This all wouldn't have been SO bad if our meal didn't cost us 50 some bucks. We did get alcohol but the chicken echilada dish was 12 bucks and I guarantee it cost no more than 3 bucks to make. I could have made better food at home.
Save your money and either stay home or go to one of the other restaurants in Blowing Rock. There is one just across the street maybe they use spices and other yummy things that make foods taste good.
What a terrible memory to have of such a great little town!

Pros: Outside dining, Service

Cons: Food, Prices, Attitude

.

The server was pleasant and eager to keep us happy. The food was hot and served quickly. I had the beef and bean burrito - enchilada style. I thought it was pretty darn good! I didn't care for the frozen margaritas - I thought they should have tasted better since we WERE at a Mexican restaurant. But since alcohol isn't that important - I would give this a try again.

2
★★★★☆

The server was pleasant and eager to keep us happy. The food was hot and served quickly. I had the beef and bean burrito - enchilada style. I thought it was pretty darn good! I didn't care for the frozen margaritas - I thought they should have tasted better since we WERE at a Mexican restaurant. But since alcohol isn't that important - I would give this a try again.

Pros: Quirky building, nice atmosphere

Cons: below avg frzn margs

.

I had the worst dining experience possible ever at Tijuana Fats'. It was my first time visiting this establishment and my last. The food was awful, no flavor whatsoever. I did not only have to wait to be seated but once I was seated it took fifteen minutes for anyone to even greet my table. If the owner would take more time to make sure her guest were being served instead of bringing flowers to decorate the establishment I am sure her business would fare a lot better. I do not recommend this place at all, do yourself a favor and visit Taco Bell instead, you will probably receive better service and you food will not taste like cardboard.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I had the worst dining experience possible ever at Tijuana Fats'. It was my first time visiting this establishment and my last. The food was awful, no flavor whatsoever. I did not only have to wait to be seated but once I was seated it took fifteen minutes for anyone to even greet my table. If the owner would take more time to make sure her guest were being served instead of bringing flowers to decorate the establishment I am sure her business would fare a lot better. I do not recommend this place at all, do yourself a favor and visit Taco Bell instead, you will probably receive better service and you food will not taste like cardboard.

Message from Glidewell's

We are a fun casual restaurant serving "global comfort food" with outdoor dining on Main Street in Blowing Rock, NC just down from the Park. We are also an Art Gallery!!

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Glidewell's, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review