Beech Lake Apartments

★★☆☆☆
  • 4800 University Drive

    Durham, NC 27707

    Map & Directions
  • 919-489-7599

About Beech Lake Apartments

Hours
Mon - Fri: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm Saturday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm Sunday: 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Reservations
Make A Reservation

Real Estate

Real Estate
More choices in Durham:
Resultset_next

Sterling Oaks Apartments

100 Sterling Oaks Dr Chico, CA

Resultset_next

Acacia Apartments

808 W 2nd Ave Chico, CA

2.25 8
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Beech Lake Apartments was?
Write a Review
.

Beech Lake is an awful place to reside, don't let the enhanced pictures fool you. The office staff is unorganized, unprofessional, and not knowledgeable about their own property and proceedings. This is the absolute worst property that I

3
★★★★★

Beech Lake is an awful place to reside, don't let the enhanced pictures fool you. The office staff is unorganized, unprofessional, and not knowledgeable about their own property and proceedings. This is the absolute worst property that I

.

Please do NOT move here. I have been here less than 3 months and I wish to haven I had not moved in. It will take weeks for them to make even simple repairs, and thats only if you call, email, contact the justice department, etc. Do NOT

3
★★★★★

Please do NOT move here. I have been here less than 3 months and I wish to haven I had not moved in. It will take weeks for them to make even simple repairs, and thats only if you call, email, contact the justice department, etc. Do NOT

.

Please do not move here. The people in the office will talk about you behind your back. If it is a small issue they will take care of it promptly but things like water leaking and having to cut holes in the ceiling or taking care of MOLD and other serious issues they won't do. In fact you will most likely need an attorney to handle the issue (learned that from experience). Please head my warning yes the management may be nice on the first day but once you sign those papers your a done for. The rent may be cheap but it is not worth the pain and the aggravation. I wish you luck if you move here. I will not be renewing my lease.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Please do not move here. The people in the office will talk about you behind your back. If it is a small issue they will take care of it promptly but things like water leaking and having to cut holes in the ceiling or taking care of MOLD and other serious issues they won't do. In fact you will most likely need an attorney to handle the issue (learned that from experience). Please head my warning yes the management may be nice on the first day but once you sign those papers your a done for. The rent may be cheap but it is not worth the pain and the aggravation. I wish you luck if you move here. I will not be renewing my lease.

.

I looked for 3 months for a apartment because i was finally gonna be moving out on my own so i took this very seriously. I should have taken peoples reviews more seriously about this place. THERE IS MOLDDDDDDDDDDDD. People here don't like to do work they do it half way or the easy way. When a contractor is needed they are to freaking cheap to hire one. If there is an issue here you may need to hire an attorney trust me. Please take my review seriously. If you can go handel mold or big holes in the ceiling due to pipes leaking and going without the use of water bec they cant fix something right or they tell you that they are cutting it off bec of some pipe issue you"ll do fine but if you can't handle those issues don't move here. Please don't move here. PLEASEEEEEEEEEE DON'TTTTT

1
★☆☆☆☆

I looked for 3 months for a apartment because i was finally gonna be moving out on my own so i took this very seriously. I should have taken peoples reviews more seriously about this place. THERE IS MOLDDDDDDDDDDDD. People here don't like to do work they do it half way or the easy way. When a contractor is needed they are to freaking cheap to hire one. If there is an issue here you may need to hire an attorney trust me. Please take my review seriously. If you can go handel mold or big holes in the ceiling due to pipes leaking and going without the use of water bec they cant fix something right or they tell you that they are cutting it off bec of some pipe issue you"ll do fine but if you can't handle those issues don't move here. Please don't move here. PLEASEEEEEEEEEE DON'TTTTT

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I lived here for two years. The second year was only because we were too lazy to move again so soon. That we regret.\n\nMy apartment (6G, 2bdrm) and beech lake experience sucked because:\n\n-When toured the apt. there we some things that needed to be repaired. When we moved in, they had not repaired any of them and it was up to us to file maintenance requests until they were taken care of. That's poor as I assumed these things would have been taken care of prior to move in.\n\n-Stinky with mold smells, especially the cabinetry and the poorly ventilated bedroom bathroom.\n\n-AC/heating broke numerous times and although the maintenance folks are nice, good people trying to do their job, the repair methods are basically trial and error. It was annoying to say the least.\n\n-Unfriendly neighbors, and half didn't seem to speak English...\n\n-Thin floors + walls\n\n-Pipe in the bathroom wall burst and the place flooded with about 2in water everywhere! They did pay for a 3 day hotel stay while they ripped up the carpet, stuck giant fans under it + had a big dehumidifier running. They had helped us move a lot of our furniture onto the porch + covered it with a tarp. In retrospect, our valuables could have easily been stolen. The place seemed dry when we moved back in but I'm sure it only added more mold issues... The only good thing out of this, I suppose, is at the time they had insurance so we were financially reimbursed for most of our damaged stuff. Of course photos + such are irreplaceable... \n\n-When we moved out, we were charged for the carpet to be replaced, and they had inaccurate records of the prior flood in their computer records. We tried to fight this but didn't win, and didn't have the time to deal with their crap.\n\n-Some of the people working in the office were nice, but you could tell they hated working there... a lot of residents probably bitching to get problems resolved unsuccessfully. One lady acted like a total botch when we tried to fight the carpet replacement stuff. It was like talking to a stupid wall.\n\n-Not the safest neighborhood though things did seem to be well lit outside. Btw, someone was shot in one of the apartments. This was on the news briefly otherwise I probably wouldn't have known about it.\n\n-Three dryers in the laundry room worked very poorly. Damp results!\n\nThe good things about beech lake:\n\n-The layout of our apartment was decent + the square footage was large for a 2bdrm\n\n-The landscape outside was fairly well maintained\n\n-Enough parking\n\n-There was a pool\n\nFind a better place to live!

0
★☆☆☆☆

I lived here for two years. The second year was only because we were too lazy to move again so soon. That we regret.\n\nMy apartment (6G, 2bdrm) and beech lake experience sucked because:\n\n-When toured the apt. there we some things that needed to be repaired. When we moved in, they had not repaired any of them and it was up to us to file maintenance requests until they were taken care of. That's poor as I assumed these things would have been taken care of prior to move in.\n\n-Stinky with mold smells, especially the cabinetry and the poorly ventilated bedroom bathroom.\n\n-AC/heating broke numerous times and although the maintenance folks are nice, good people trying to do their job, the repair methods are basically trial and error. It was annoying to say the least.\n\n-Unfriendly neighbors, and half didn't seem to speak English...\n\n-Thin floors + walls\n\n-Pipe in the bathroom wall burst and the place flooded with about 2in water everywhere! They did pay for a 3 day hotel stay while they ripped up the carpet, stuck giant fans under it + had a big dehumidifier running. They had helped us move a lot of our furniture onto the porch + covered it with a tarp. In retrospect, our valuables could have easily been stolen. The place seemed dry when we moved back in but I'm sure it only added more mold issues... The only good thing out of this, I suppose, is at the time they had insurance so we were financially reimbursed for most of our damaged stuff. Of course photos + such are irreplaceable... \n\n-When we moved out, we were charged for the carpet to be replaced, and they had inaccurate records of the prior flood in their computer records. We tried to fight this but didn't win, and didn't have the time to deal with their crap.\n\n-Some of the people working in the office were nice, but you could tell they hated working there... a lot of residents probably bitching to get problems resolved unsuccessfully. One lady acted like a total botch when we tried to fight the carpet replacement stuff. It was like talking to a stupid wall.\n\n-Not the safest neighborhood though things did seem to be well lit outside. Btw, someone was shot in one of the apartments. This was on the news briefly otherwise I probably wouldn't have known about it.\n\n-Three dryers in the laundry room worked very poorly. Damp results!\n\nThe good things about beech lake:\n\n-The layout of our apartment was decent + the square footage was large for a 2bdrm\n\n-The landscape outside was fairly well maintained\n\n-Enough parking\n\n-There was a pool\n\nFind a better place to live!

.

I live next to one of the "model" apartments. I've seen the inside and it does NOT look like the other apartments in the complex. The trees and space fool too many people. I've seen too many future residents walk up the the building looking at the trees not the building. One poor college student's father asked his daughter if she even looked at the building before signing the lease. The answer from her and almost everyone else, myself included, is NO. Security gates don't work more than half the time. the other half they are crashing into cars because they "have to close" on the exit before allowing another car through if the closure process has started. My apartment has three different types of linoleum and all of them bad, and I had them replaced at move in. Complaints to management were a waste of time. Management teams change every 6 months or so, if you sign now you'll have a new set soon. I stopped even trying to get my repair requests answered. I reported and took notes. Carpet installation is haphazard, be careful for nails and staples sticking you. AIMCO, the parent company, is as apathetic to the tenants as the on site management.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I live next to one of the "model" apartments. I've seen the inside and it does NOT look like the other apartments in the complex. The trees and space fool too many people. I've seen too many future residents walk up the the building looking at the trees not the building. One poor college student's father asked his daughter if she even looked at the building before signing the lease. The answer from her and almost everyone else, myself included, is NO. Security gates don't work more than half the time. the other half they are crashing into cars because they "have to close" on the exit before allowing another car through if the closure process has started. My apartment has three different types of linoleum and all of them bad, and I had them replaced at move in. Complaints to management were a waste of time. Management teams change every 6 months or so, if you sign now you'll have a new set soon. I stopped even trying to get my repair requests answered. I reported and took notes. Carpet installation is haphazard, be careful for nails and staples sticking you. AIMCO, the parent company, is as apathetic to the tenants as the on site management.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Beech Lake Apartments is now managed by Westdale. We offer impeccable customer service and take pride in our apartments and our community. I encourage you to give it a new chance!
.

This was by far my worst living experience ever! I was a graduate student, so the cheap rent was nice. However, the unit was in HORRIBLE shape. My roommate and I made a list of problems with it when we first arrived, and about a third of them were actually fixed by the time we left. This included our weekly calls to the office asking for something to be fixed. The ceiling also collapsed at one point during the year, and they stopped the leak but did not patch up the hole in the ceiling. \r\n\r\nI also traveled a lot for my research, and came home once to find that they changed my locks and cleaned the carpets without telling me. I then had to wait several hours for the EMERGENCY maintenance person to come let me into my apartment.\r\n\r\nThe icing on the cake was that the last month I lived there I received a bill for $0 for that month. I called the office to ask what was up and was told that I had paid a month's rent up front and that was them reimbursing me. On move out day, I found out that that was incorrect and that I was currently being evicted in court. Not a good thing as a grad student taking out loans. I also never received warnings about the eviction. All the warnings were sent to my roommate's parents house in NY, while the office knew that my roommate had moved out of the country.\r\n\r\nLive here at your own risk!!! HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!!! \r\n

0
★☆☆☆☆

This was by far my worst living experience ever! I was a graduate student, so the cheap rent was nice. However, the unit was in HORRIBLE shape. My roommate and I made a list of problems with it when we first arrived, and about a third of them were actually fixed by the time we left. This included our weekly calls to the office asking for something to be fixed. The ceiling also collapsed at one point during the year, and they stopped the leak but did not patch up the hole in the ceiling. \r\n\r\nI also traveled a lot for my research, and came home once to find that they changed my locks and cleaned the carpets without telling me. I then had to wait several hours for the EMERGENCY maintenance person to come let me into my apartment.\r\n\r\nThe icing on the cake was that the last month I lived there I received a bill for $0 for that month. I called the office to ask what was up and was told that I had paid a month's rent up front and that was them reimbursing me. On move out day, I found out that that was incorrect and that I was currently being evicted in court. Not a good thing as a grad student taking out loans. I also never received warnings about the eviction. All the warnings were sent to my roommate's parents house in NY, while the office knew that my roommate had moved out of the country.\r\n\r\nLive here at your own risk!!! HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!!! \r\n

Pros: Umm ... The lake was pretty.

Cons: Everything else. Management especially is horrible. The manager changed at least four times in the year I lived there.

.

I lived here for only 9 months (thank goodness), but the list of problems go on and on. Before I went to move in, they forgot to inform me that the apartment I signed a lease for was no longer going to be vacant on my move-in day. Because there was no other availability immediately, I had to live (and pay for myself) in a hotel for 1 week. Then, my application for automatic withdrawal for rent was not processed - so I ended up with an eviction notice on my door. My electronic key would always have problems, and I'd have to SIT outside the gate until another resident would go in. Then, when I went to move out ... they insisted that my lease was in effect for another 3 months. Thank goodness I kept my copy of the leasing agreement. This is the WORSE PLACE TO LIVE!!!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

I lived here for only 9 months (thank goodness), but the list of problems go on and on. Before I went to move in, they forgot to inform me that the apartment I signed a lease for was no longer going to be vacant on my move-in day. Because there was no other availability immediately, I had to live (and pay for myself) in a hotel for 1 week. Then, my application for automatic withdrawal for rent was not processed - so I ended up with an eviction notice on my door. My electronic key would always have problems, and I'd have to SIT outside the gate until another resident would go in. Then, when I went to move out ... they insisted that my lease was in effect for another 3 months. Thank goodness I kept my copy of the leasing agreement. This is the WORSE PLACE TO LIVE!!!!

Pros: NOTHING

Cons: Administration

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Beech Lake Apartments, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review