American Auto Body Inc

★★★☆☆
  • 304 Manchester St

    Greenville, NC 27834

    Map & Directions
  • 252-355-1036

About American Auto Body Inc

Hours
Mon-Thu 7am-5:30pm, Fri 7am-1pm

Automotive

Automotive
More choices in Greenville:
Resultset_next

Clark's Paint & Body

156 Montgomery Hwy Greenville, AL

Resultset_next

Simmon's Auto Repair

104 Beeland St Greenville, AL

3.2222 9
Hi! Sign in to let us know how American Auto Body Inc was?
Write a Review
.

Document everything before you drop it off!

American Auto Body was recommended by my insurance company for the repair. They seemed very professional and had a lot of business, so I thought they would be good at what they do. They quoted the repair to repaint the side of the vehicle that was damaged, only later to find out it cost more than they anticipated. Then I find they only painted the fender and not the ram box cover or fender flair, so it seemed as a half done job since nothing matches now. But that was only the beginning....

The next day after picking up the truck and examining it in the sun, there was scratches and chips that were repaired that was not present when I brought the vehicle in. The worst part is the parking system is no longer functional. They agreed to look at the parking system but had no clue what caused the issue, so they sent me to the Dodge dealer to find out more. It came back the wiring harness needed replacing due to pulled wires as well as a damaged parking sensor. American Auto Body denied they caused the problem due to prior damage to the bumper, which was a small dent 1 foot away from a sensor. The system has functioned normally since I had the truck, heck I even have a picture showing no faults as well as friends that know the system was functioning the week I dropped the vehicle off. But American Auto Body wants to deny they did not cause the issue when removing my rear bumper to repaint the side panel. Coincidence??

So in the end make sure you document what is broken or working on your vehicle before bring it to anyone for a repair, they will try their hardest to flip the blame.

They lost my business for life and anyone that I recommend a body shop to.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Document everything before you drop it off!

American Auto Body was recommended by my insurance company for the repair. They seemed very professional and had a lot of business, so I thought they would be good at what they do. They quoted the repair to repaint the side of the vehicle that was damaged, only later to find out it cost more than they anticipated. Then I find they only painted the fender and not the ram box cover or fender flair, so it seemed as a half done job since nothing matches now. But that was only the beginning....

The next day after picking up the truck and examining it in the sun, there was scratches and chips that were repaired that was not present when I brought the vehicle in. The worst part is the parking system is no longer functional. They agreed to look at the parking system but had no clue what caused the issue, so they sent me to the Dodge dealer to find out more. It came back the wiring harness needed replacing due to pulled wires as well as a damaged parking sensor. American Auto Body denied they caused the problem due to prior damage to the bumper, which was a small dent 1 foot away from a sensor. The system has functioned normally since I had the truck, heck I even have a picture showing no faults as well as friends that know the system was functioning the week I dropped the vehicle off. But American Auto Body wants to deny they did not cause the issue when removing my rear bumper to repaint the side panel. Coincidence??

So in the end make sure you document what is broken or working on your vehicle before bring it to anyone for a repair, they will try their hardest to flip the blame.

They lost my business for life and anyone that I recommend a body shop to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My car was broken into at phelps chevorlet causing minor damage to the passanger side of the vehicle. It needed dent repair, paint work, a little body work and a back side window. Phelps chevorlet was more then helpful. Insurance came out took a look at it and recommended American Auto Body. Upon picking my car up, the front driver tire was flat, do to someone cracking my rim, they picked my car up from phelps and drove it to their shop. They stated that they didnt do it and its not their fault, the finger print powder used by the police was, all over the car still glass was in the floor board, scratches still remained, they bleached my trim panels on the front door, failed to fix the back seat. They kept it one more day and I was pleased with my second result, fixed the scratches, and the seats, fixed the trim panels, cleaned the car very well. However I'm still left with a non usable cracked driver front rim and have been told that its my problem. They did good work with the body and paint and interior, but the headache that is now created for me is not worth the job they did.

1
★☆☆☆☆

My car was broken into at phelps chevorlet causing minor damage to the passanger side of the vehicle. It needed dent repair, paint work, a little body work and a back side window. Phelps chevorlet was more then helpful. Insurance came out took a look at it and recommended American Auto Body. Upon picking my car up, the front driver tire was flat, do to someone cracking my rim, they picked my car up from phelps and drove it to their shop. They stated that they didnt do it and its not their fault, the finger print powder used by the police was, all over the car still glass was in the floor board, scratches still remained, they bleached my trim panels on the front door, failed to fix the back seat. They kept it one more day and I was pleased with my second result, fixed the scratches, and the seats, fixed the trim panels, cleaned the car very well. However I'm still left with a non usable cracked driver front rim and have been told that its my problem. They did good work with the body and paint and interior, but the headache that is now created for me is not worth the job they did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have had my car repaired several times due to "fender benders" encountered here in Greenville (not my fault of course). I was very happy with the service and the quality of work every time I needed them. If you need body repairs done, this is the place to go. I highly recommend them. They do a very professional job! Each time my car was repaired it was restored back to its original state.

5
★★★★★

I have had my car repaired several times due to "fender benders" encountered here in Greenville (not my fault of course). I was very happy with the service and the quality of work every time I needed them. If you need body repairs done, this is the place to go. I highly recommend them. They do a very professional job! Each time my car was repaired it was restored back to its original state.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

my car looks great I was recommended by several people to use American Auto Body I'm glad I went there these people are professionals and do a great job I would not use anyone else

5
★★★★★

my car looks great I was recommended by several people to use American Auto Body I'm glad I went there these people are professionals and do a great job I would not use anyone else

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks we appreciate your business and your response
.

I wouldn't go anywhere else to get my car fixed they have fixed my car several times and at times have gotten behind but the repairs are always excellent people will complain about about a bad experience 10 times more than they will talk about a good repair

5
★★★★★

I wouldn't go anywhere else to get my car fixed they have fixed my car several times and at times have gotten behind but the repairs are always excellent people will complain about about a bad experience 10 times more than they will talk about a good repair

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks We are happy to have repeat customers and pleased that you have always been satisfied with your repairs thank you for your business
.

I have taken my vehicle to American twice...the first time they did an amazing job! Spotless, great customer service, happy customer! The second time I had to take my vehicle there it was awful! They'd left my car messy on the outside, like they didn't finish cleaning it up and when I brought it to their attention they flipped out. They ruined my business with them and hopefully it was a bad day for them and they're better to others but I will not go back there.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have taken my vehicle to American twice...the first time they did an amazing job! Spotless, great customer service, happy customer! The second time I had to take my vehicle there it was awful! They'd left my car messy on the outside, like they didn't finish cleaning it up and when I brought it to their attention they flipped out. They ruined my business with them and hopefully it was a bad day for them and they're better to others but I will not go back there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Sorry we don't flip out when a customer has and issue we look at the problem and attempt to resolve it We would have had the clean up person responsible for leaving the vehicle in that condition go over the car with us and the client but we would not have flipped out if someone does not do their job correctly we do bring it to their attention so as to make sure we don't have the same situation again
.

I got in an accident on September 13, 2008. The insurance company let me choose American Auto Body to fix my car. It took them a whole month to fix the right rear suspension and a corner panel. Once the work was completed, I got the car back and the brakes did not work. American Auto Body damaged the master cyllinder when bleeding the breaks and refuse to fix it. It is going to cost $348 to fix the breaks, not to mention that it has been a month and I still do not have a freaking car!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I got in an accident on September 13, 2008. The insurance company let me choose American Auto Body to fix my car. It took them a whole month to fix the right rear suspension and a corner panel. Once the work was completed, I got the car back and the brakes did not work. American Auto Body damaged the master cyllinder when bleeding the breaks and refuse to fix it. It is going to cost $348 to fix the breaks, not to mention that it has been a month and I still do not have a freaking car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

sorry we had the vehicle checked by the Dealership they stated that the only way the master cylinder could have been damaged in the accident would be if the person driving could have hit the brakes hard enough to build up enough pressure to break the seal you cannot damage a master brake cylinder by bleeding the brakes . We contacted the Insurance Company when it was found that the master brake cylinder was bad and let them make the call it's unfortunate that this young man did not call the service department and let them explain the wear and tear issue on this car this vehicle had 97834 miles on it and was a 5400.00 repair it did take almost a month to repair the vehicle had alot of damage to it the master cylinder is a worn out part not a result of the accident or anything that our technician did
.

American Auto Body is "the bomb" for car repair in Greenville. I have used them repeatedly, and they have always done a great job. They are the gold standard, and you should take your car to them. Ignore the whiners who get upset over a scheduling problem. Life happens, deal with it! American Auto Body does great work.

5
★★★★★

American Auto Body is "the bomb" for car repair in Greenville. I have used them repeatedly, and they have always done a great job. They are the gold standard, and you should take your car to them. Ignore the whiners who get upset over a scheduling problem. Life happens, deal with it! American Auto Body does great work.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank you We are gratefull to our clients that appreciate the efforts we put into the repair of their vehicle ..
.

During the past several years I have used American Auto Body at least 3 times but I am very displeased with the poor customer service I received recently. My daughters car was hit on May 2, 2008. The insurance company told me to have it towed to whoever I wanted so I called American again since I had used them before. I was told at the time that they were scheduling cars now to be in the shop no later than May 19. Since I and my children were going on vacation during some of that time I agreed. I called on the 19th to check. They claim they didn't tell me that and no work had been done other than ordering parts. They said they would try to get it in the next week. I called again the following week and it still wasn't in. The person I talked with had a very uncaring you'll get it when you get it type of attitude. This attitude continued through yesterday June 11th when we finally picked the car up. They wouldn't even let me test drive the car before we signed the papers and the insurance check (which they tried to get me to sign last week before the car was finished but I refused) Their work seems OK, but the customer service was very poor. I will never use them again

5
★★★★★

During the past several years I have used American Auto Body at least 3 times but I am very displeased with the poor customer service I received recently. My daughters car was hit on May 2, 2008. The insurance company told me to have it towed to whoever I wanted so I called American again since I had used them before. I was told at the time that they were scheduling cars now to be in the shop no later than May 19. Since I and my children were going on vacation during some of that time I agreed. I called on the 19th to check. They claim they didn't tell me that and no work had been done other than ordering parts. They said they would try to get it in the next week. I called again the following week and it still wasn't in. The person I talked with had a very uncaring you'll get it when you get it type of attitude. This attitude continued through yesterday June 11th when we finally picked the car up. They wouldn't even let me test drive the car before we signed the papers and the insurance check (which they tried to get me to sign last week before the car was finished but I refused) Their work seems OK, but the customer service was very poor. I will never use them again

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

sorry you felt this way We try to start repairs in a timely manner , we also try to estimate a completion date however sometimes we have delays it could be parts it could that a frame machine is not available I have reviewed this file and I do see delays related to parts and notes regarding customer contact to that effect this car had over $5000 in damages it is a 3-4 week repair as far as paying us prior to completion of repairs it would be highly unusual for us to take payment prior to completion of repairs and we do not allow test drives prior to payment because and this has happened what if the driver has and accident while test driving the vehicle we guarantee everything if you drive the car and find something wrong with it related to the accident it will be resolved with the Insurance Co and us it is understandable when a client is unhappy about the amount of time needed to complete their car it is very inconvienient to be without a car

Message from American Auto Body Inc

Remember What your vehicle looked like BEFORE your accident? We can make it look that way again ! We are a full service shop that specializes in unibody collision repairs our Technicians are I-Car certified we are a I-Car Gold Class repair shop you can go online to i-Car.com and look up Gold Class shops in this area we maintain that status by continuing training and education for our Technicians and other personel training insures that the technician working on your vehicle has been taught the proper repair and paint procedures and I-Car Gold shop status tells you that every employee working at this shop meets or exceeds his or her training requirements our employees are also certified on the equipment or products they use such as the Car-o-Liner frame machines and Standox paint systems we also train through ASE and any other available source we feel that it is important for our employees and other personel be properly trained so that the repairs to your vehicle will be done right the first time.Currently we have two paint booths and four frame machines in our facility. We take pride in our work and do our best to provide good customer service We work with most of the major insurance companies in the area. We have proudly been serving the Greenville Area for over 25 years and are locally owned and operated by Klaus and Yvette Langemann. We strive for a good repair within a timely manner we understand our customers concerns when it comes to a damaged vehicle the most important part of the repair is to repair a vehicle to a pre-loss condition with all safety systems intact and for the vehicles appearance to be as it was prior to the accident .we also achieved Autochex premier status for 2008 which means we rated in the top 5% of shops in 32 states for customer satisfaction

More about American Auto Body Inc

Our main specialty is Collision repair. We can also do paint jobs.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used American Auto Body Inc, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review