A Little Shop Of Comics

★★★☆☆
  • 393 Park Ave

    Scotch Plains, NJ 07076

    Map & Directions
  • 908-322-9402

About A Little Shop Of Comics

Hours
Sun 12pm-6pm, Mon-Tue 11am-7pm, Wed-Fri 11am-8pm, Sat 10am-6pm

Shopping

Shopping
More choices in Scotch Plains:
Resultset_next

Villa Furniture

475 US Hwy 22 North Plainfield, NJ

Resultset_next

Slingers Games

2520 Us Highway 22 Scotch Plains, NJ

2.75 4
Hi! Sign in to let us know how A Little Shop Of Comics was?
Write a Review
.

This shop is very well maintained, however, their business practices leave something to be desired. I called the shop to see if they still had a specific item that I had seen the last time I was in the shop. They responded that they did. The next day I drive up to the store, which is approximately 40 minutes away and find that the item was "sold" the day before. I come to find that when the person running the shop said "sold" they meant they put it up on eBay two days later for twice the price! Not only did they waste my time for the drive up, but they lied to my face about what they were really doing with a product I inquired about. I will never be returning to this store again.

1
★☆☆☆☆

This shop is very well maintained, however, their business practices leave something to be desired. I called the shop to see if they still had a specific item that I had seen the last time I was in the shop. They responded that they did. The next day I drive up to the store, which is approximately 40 minutes away and find that the item was "sold" the day before. I come to find that when the person running the shop said "sold" they meant they put it up on eBay two days later for twice the price! Not only did they waste my time for the drive up, but they lied to my face about what they were really doing with a product I inquired about. I will never be returning to this store again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Not how it went down. You called on a Sunday asked to hold the item. You were informed by staff that we can only hold the item for 24 hours. The item sat all day on Monday, you never showed up. So the item was put back into stock. Tuesday after opening we sold one. We had another in the storeroom, there were at least 2 per case on that item. My wife called me and asked if we should restock it, and I told her no I want to put that one on Ebay. On Tuesday late afternoon you came in and my wife informed you it was no longer in stock. Which was the truth, not a lie. While I understand that you drove a long way, you were literally a day late. That Walking Dead Daryl figure was a hot item, your weren't the only one searching for it. Our hold policy has been in place for 18 years.
.

A most disappointing experience. I was here with my son today, and the clerk rudely told me that "he could not have me reading a book in the store". (as my son was selecting his weekly supply of comics, I was perusing the a shelf of books). As a frequent visitor to bookstores, I was taken aback. After all, the only reason I go to brick and mortar bookstores anymore is to "read the books in the store" to make a more informed buying decision.

In this day in age, with growing competition from the web, I am surprised that a business like this would push me away and make me all the more likely to make my future purchases from the web, where I am not annoyed by self-important clerks driving away customers.

I will not be back, but the whole experience makes me sad, because I know what business is like for independent booksellers, and I know the lengths to which the smart ones go to accommodate their customers and make them feel welcome. Still, I suppose that in a crowded marketplace, only those who put customer service first will survive. I wonder what sort of business will end up at this address a year or so from now?

1
★☆☆☆☆

A most disappointing experience. I was here with my son today, and the clerk rudely told me that "he could not have me reading a book in the store". (as my son was selecting his weekly supply of comics, I was perusing the a shelf of books). As a frequent visitor to bookstores, I was taken aback. After all, the only reason I go to brick and mortar bookstores anymore is to "read the books in the store" to make a more informed buying decision.

In this day in age, with growing competition from the web, I am surprised that a business like this would push me away and make me all the more likely to make my future purchases from the web, where I am not annoyed by self-important clerks driving away customers.

I will not be back, but the whole experience makes me sad, because I know what business is like for independent booksellers, and I know the lengths to which the smart ones go to accommodate their customers and make them feel welcome. Still, I suppose that in a crowded marketplace, only those who put customer service first will survive. I wonder what sort of business will end up at this address a year or so from now?

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Robert I am sorry that your experience was not a good one. Our number one priority has always been and always will be customer service. I was within earshot of the employee and he was following company policy (after 5 minutes we approach a customer). We encourage browsing, perusing and flipping through the books. We politely ask that customers do not read the books; this enables us to provide excellent customer service by providing books in a new condition. He was very polite to you and delivered the message very professionally. Many of us have shopped the large stores where folks are sprawled out on the floor reading, and when we pick up a book that has been read many times, we skip that purchase. We are a mom and pop shop and simply cannot afford to restock damaged books, and we cannot return what is on our shelves as they are non-returnable. By your own admission you only come to a brick and mortar store to read the books, and in this case it was a Calvin and Hobbes book. Again we regret that you were unhappy with your experience in our store, and you seem determined to buy on the internet. However this is how we have made our living for the past 17 years, and stand by our policies and reputation, as we continue to move forward into this century. Sir I bid you fond adieu have a nice day!
.

My brother-in-law wants to move into this store. Really. If you know someone who knows what Manga is, reads graphic novels or comic books or maybe just collects action figures, they will be right behind him. This is a the Mecca store for comic-con freaks. What I love about this place, as someone who knows nothing about the craze, is how patient and honest the owner is. This is a business that is filled with rip-off artists that routinely take advantage of the less knowledgeable customer, so it is no small feat to find a place like this where you can be assured that all your questions will be answered cheerfully and that you will pay the fair price for your purchases. You can even send your kids there by themselves with assurance that they will not be taken advantage of. Check out their web site for in store tournaments and special release dates.

PROS: Excellent web site
CONS:

5
★★★★★

My brother-in-law wants to move into this store. Really. If you know someone who knows what Manga is, reads graphic novels or comic books or maybe just collects action figures, they will be right behind him. This is a the Mecca store for comic-con freaks. What I love about this place, as someone who knows nothing about the craze, is how patient and honest the owner is. This is a business that is filled with rip-off artists that routinely take advantage of the less knowledgeable customer, so it is no small feat to find a place like this where you can be assured that all your questions will be answered cheerfully and that you will pay the fair price for your purchases. You can even send your kids there by themselves with assurance that they will not be taken advantage of. Check out their web site for in store tournaments and special release dates.

PROS: Excellent web site
CONS:

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This was a very nice store but for some reason it was hard to find a spot to park, I actually had to walk quite a distance from where I eventually found a spot. But my kids really enjoyed the comics that they have there, I think this is the place to go if you are in search of some of the latest comics, or it you are looking for some collectible cards for your kids. It is even good for husband who are still in love with collecting there comic books.

4
★★★★☆

This was a very nice store but for some reason it was hard to find a spot to park, I actually had to walk quite a distance from where I eventually found a spot. But my kids really enjoyed the comics that they have there, I think this is the place to go if you are in search of some of the latest comics, or it you are looking for some collectible cards for your kids. It is even good for husband who are still in love with collecting there comic books.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

New Location More Parking Rolanda, thank you for the kind words.In case you haven't been in for a while, we moved.There are over 100 parking spots in the rear of the building. So now it is easier for our customers to find a spot.Thanks Steve

Message from A Little Shop Of Comics

Over 100 parking spots in rear of building.

Visit our all ages section.

Remember we are "A Place for the Whole Family"

More about A Little Shop Of Comics

Graphic Novels Comic Books Board Games Non Collectible Card Games Collectible Card Games Sports Cards Warhammer Games Workshop Lord of the Rings Magic the Gathering Pokemon Yugioh

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used A Little Shop Of Comics, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review