Garden State Animal Hospital

★★★☆☆
  • 9018 Kennedy Blvd Ste 1

    North Bergen, NJ 07047

    Map & Directions
  • 201-868-3753

About Garden State Animal Hospital

Pets & Animals

Pets & Animals
More choices in North Bergen:
Resultset_next

Northside Veterinary Clinic

233 Berry St Brooklyn, NY

Resultset_next

Bergenline Animal Hospital: Wisegarver Fred DVM

7706 Bergenline Ave North Bergen, NJ

2.8333 12
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Garden State Animal Hospital was?
Write a Review
.

DO NOT USE THIS PLACE!!! IT IS NOT AN ANIMAL HOSPITAL!!!
We took our cat there on February 24, 2011 at 11am. Our cat was going into shock and could not walk because of severe pain in the rear of his body. They took him in the back and gave him a sedative and slight amount of pain meds. 7 hours later, some blood tests and xrays and they call us to say we have no idea what is wrong with your cat, but he is unstable, in pain and we close at 7PM, so come get your cat and this visit will be $460.00 !!! WHAT??? Well, we quickly searched online for a REAL ANIMAL HOSPITAL and thank God we found Mt. Laurel Animal Hospital. We arrived at GSAH to pick up our unstable cat and they tech bought him out with his rear hanging, not supported and the cat was screaming in pain.... they explained that they ran out of Fentinal Patches and could not give that to him, but they did not give enough of the only pain meds that they did have!! UNREAL!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

DO NOT USE THIS PLACE!!! IT IS NOT AN ANIMAL HOSPITAL!!!
We took our cat there on February 24, 2011 at 11am. Our cat was going into shock and could not walk because of severe pain in the rear of his body. They took him in the back and gave him a sedative and slight amount of pain meds. 7 hours later, some blood tests and xrays and they call us to say we have no idea what is wrong with your cat, but he is unstable, in pain and we close at 7PM, so come get your cat and this visit will be $460.00 !!! WHAT??? Well, we quickly searched online for a REAL ANIMAL HOSPITAL and thank God we found Mt. Laurel Animal Hospital. We arrived at GSAH to pick up our unstable cat and they tech bought him out with his rear hanging, not supported and the cat was screaming in pain.... they explained that they ran out of Fentinal Patches and could not give that to him, but they did not give enough of the only pain meds that they did have!! UNREAL!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I should first say she is rude never ever would she even say hello. You go there because you want answer's from a doctor not a little girl working as a Vet Tec.
Well, What can I say about this place, not good that's for sure I should of read a few things before. This so call doctor she is not doctor she is a money hungry butcher. She did killed two of my pet. All she cares about is money. I really would advice everyone not to go here. As a matter of fact I saw on her ex workers at a restaurant and she told me she had to leave because of the abuse thatwas going on in that place. People don't bring your pet there she will lie to you too.. and charge you a lot of money.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I should first say she is rude never ever would she even say hello. You go there because you want answer's from a doctor not a little girl working as a Vet Tec.
Well, What can I say about this place, not good that's for sure I should of read a few things before. This so call doctor she is not doctor she is a money hungry butcher. She did killed two of my pet. All she cares about is money. I really would advice everyone not to go here. As a matter of fact I saw on her ex workers at a restaurant and she told me she had to leave because of the abuse thatwas going on in that place. People don't bring your pet there she will lie to you too.. and charge you a lot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have taken my cats to Dr Young since I took them 8 years ago. I was happy with her service until she decided to abruptly shut her doors a few weeks ago, and now I cannot get my cat's medical records. Less than a week after she disappeared, my cat got very sick and I had to take him to another vet. Without his records I had to have all the tests rerun. My other cat is having problems, tests were run on his last visit, which pertain to his current problem. I never received the results of those tests, and cannot find her to obtain his records.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have taken my cats to Dr Young since I took them 8 years ago. I was happy with her service until she decided to abruptly shut her doors a few weeks ago, and now I cannot get my cat's medical records. Less than a week after she disappeared, my cat got very sick and I had to take him to another vet. Without his records I had to have all the tests rerun. My other cat is having problems, tests were run on his last visit, which pertain to his current problem. I never received the results of those tests, and cannot find her to obtain his records.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Please be aware that over the years there have been many bad reviews posted about this business, the owner somehow manages to get them removed. This is not a valid forum. Keep your pets far away!!!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

Please be aware that over the years there have been many bad reviews posted about this business, the owner somehow manages to get them removed. This is not a valid forum. Keep your pets far away!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I had a great experience at this hospital. Everything was explained to me thoroughly about my dog when he was very ill and the doctor and staff went over a written estimate with me before we decided on any course of treatment. I was upset and asked the same questions several times but they were extremely patient with me and explained it over and over until I understood it all. They were very caring and professional and made me feel very comfortable leaving my dog there when he was so ill. I have total confidence in them and owe my dog's life to them. I would highly recommend this hospital. They really know what they are doing and care. i loved all the hospital cats that they have living there as well that are all rescues.

5
★★★★★

I had a great experience at this hospital. Everything was explained to me thoroughly about my dog when he was very ill and the doctor and staff went over a written estimate with me before we decided on any course of treatment. I was upset and asked the same questions several times but they were extremely patient with me and explained it over and over until I understood it all. They were very caring and professional and made me feel very comfortable leaving my dog there when he was so ill. I have total confidence in them and owe my dog's life to them. I would highly recommend this hospital. They really know what they are doing and care. i loved all the hospital cats that they have living there as well that are all rescues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

we found GSAH when we adopted a cat from a Long Island shelter. No other vet in NJ would accept the spay certificate except GSAH, they took in our cat and had her spayed and also followed up 2 wks later to make sure she was OK.

When our older cat seemed ill, we took her there and she was diagnosed with diabetes. They took very good care of her and had her stabilized within 2 days and the bill was less than our usual vet (also very good) for 1 overnight. They constantly followed up on her care and we boarded her during our vacation as we didn't trust anyone else due to her condition. Our cat passed away recently after more than 2 yrs of diabetes at the age of 17 and the office was very compassionate upon finding out. They also inquired about our other cat who they had fixed 8 years previously. Their board rates are 1/4 the price of the vet in my town, so we took our cat there even though it takes us 30 minutes each way.

4
★★★★☆

we found GSAH when we adopted a cat from a Long Island shelter. No other vet in NJ would accept the spay certificate except GSAH, they took in our cat and had her spayed and also followed up 2 wks later to make sure she was OK.

When our older cat seemed ill, we took her there and she was diagnosed with diabetes. They took very good care of her and had her stabilized within 2 days and the bill was less than our usual vet (also very good) for 1 overnight. They constantly followed up on her care and we boarded her during our vacation as we didn't trust anyone else due to her condition. Our cat passed away recently after more than 2 yrs of diabetes at the age of 17 and the office was very compassionate upon finding out. They also inquired about our other cat who they had fixed 8 years previously. Their board rates are 1/4 the price of the vet in my town, so we took our cat there even though it takes us 30 minutes each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

Dr. Young and her staff are just wonderful. I called her for the first time after hours and her staff got back to me. Although she would not in until Monday, they gave me several alternate treatment locations and also their cell phone number in case I had more questions or concerns before I could get there on Monday. WHO, I ASK YOU, GIVES OUT THEIR CELL PHONE NUMBER TO A COMPLETE STRANGER??? One trip to their office and it is plain to see that this crew are not just animal doctors, they are animal lovers and have adopted several cats who "live there". Unfortunately, for my dog, he had cancer and I did not see the signs early enough for him to be treated. Facing what would be a very painful and doubtful outcome for our dog, we made the decision to end his pain.

Again, Doctor Young and Gary of her staff were just outstanding. They cried with us, and treated us with such kindness and treated Rex with great dignity. You could see it hurt them as much as it broke our hearts.

Dr. Young also takes care of my sons dogs and now many of our neighbors. In our book, Dr. Young and her office are just the best!!

4
★★★★☆

Dr. Young and her staff are just wonderful. I called her for the first time after hours and her staff got back to me. Although she would not in until Monday, they gave me several alternate treatment locations and also their cell phone number in case I had more questions or concerns before I could get there on Monday. WHO, I ASK YOU, GIVES OUT THEIR CELL PHONE NUMBER TO A COMPLETE STRANGER??? One trip to their office and it is plain to see that this crew are not just animal doctors, they are animal lovers and have adopted several cats who "live there". Unfortunately, for my dog, he had cancer and I did not see the signs early enough for him to be treated. Facing what would be a very painful and doubtful outcome for our dog, we made the decision to end his pain.

Again, Doctor Young and Gary of her staff were just outstanding. They cried with us, and treated us with such kindness and treated Rex with great dignity. You could see it hurt them as much as it broke our hearts.

Dr. Young also takes care of my sons dogs and now many of our neighbors. In our book, Dr. Young and her office are just the best!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

.

I have known Doctor Young for over 10 years and would not trust anyone else with
my pets. She is an amazing doctor with great skills and is very caring for ALL
animals! She has taken several strays I have found over the years and found them
all great homes. She has numerous hospital pets that are there to greet you
whenever you go to her hospital. They are all very happy and healthy and are
great to see when you stop in. She even saved my dog's life and cut me a HUGE
break financially one time when I had almost NO money. Certainly not concerned
about the money in my opinion. She LOVES ALL animals and even has several strays
as her own pets I know. I have no idea why the other people are saying the
things they are but it sounds personal so don't believe it. You can definitely
trust doctor Young with your pets and that she will do the best for them and
always be fair. I appreciate having such a good vet to care for my babies!

5
★★★★★

I have known Doctor Young for over 10 years and would not trust anyone else with
my pets. She is an amazing doctor with great skills and is very caring for ALL
animals! She has taken several strays I have found over the years and found them
all great homes. She has numerous hospital pets that are there to greet you
whenever you go to her hospital. They are all very happy and healthy and are
great to see when you stop in. She even saved my dog's life and cut me a HUGE
break financially one time when I had almost NO money. Certainly not concerned
about the money in my opinion. She LOVES ALL animals and even has several strays
as her own pets I know. I have no idea why the other people are saying the
things they are but it sounds personal so don't believe it. You can definitely
trust doctor Young with your pets and that she will do the best for them and
always be fair. I appreciate having such a good vet to care for my babies!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

.

Have you had a bad experience with Kimberlee Young and her veterinary services?\r
Please file a report with the state ASAP!! \r
nj.gov/oag/ca/complaint/vetcom.pdf\r
She is nasty, and arrogant thinks she knows it all, and a huge LIAR. Lie

0
★☆☆☆☆

Have you had a bad experience with Kimberlee Young and her veterinary services?\r
Please file a report with the state ASAP!! \r
nj.gov/oag/ca/complaint/vetcom.pdf\r
She is nasty, and arrogant thinks she knows it all, and a huge LIAR. Lie

.

I thought that the price for the "adoption fee" was very high, and I could have paid less at other places to adopt a dog, however, when I consider the price I paid for the dog in total with all vaccinations, fees, spaying, and heartworm tests, really, it was not even half the price of the mall pet stores.

I was at a pet store in the mall today, in fact, just to see the animals and to pick up some treats, as they were on sale. They had a boxer puppy in there for 3400 dollars. That seemed insane to me.

Although the vet at the animal hospital has about as much charisma as a DMV employee, she at least was knowledgeable about the animals that were there.

The only grip is that an operation was performed on my pet. Unfortunately, the elizabethan collar they gave her wasn't big enough to cover the area of the surgery, so my pet ended up pulling the sutures open.

The rest of the staff was nice, the place was fairly clean, and at the end of the day, I love my pet.

3
★★★☆☆

I thought that the price for the "adoption fee" was very high, and I could have paid less at other places to adopt a dog, however, when I consider the price I paid for the dog in total with all vaccinations, fees, spaying, and heartworm tests, really, it was not even half the price of the mall pet stores.

I was at a pet store in the mall today, in fact, just to see the animals and to pick up some treats, as they were on sale. They had a boxer puppy in there for 3400 dollars. That seemed insane to me.

Although the vet at the animal hospital has about as much charisma as a DMV employee, she at least was knowledgeable about the animals that were there.

The only grip is that an operation was performed on my pet. Unfortunately, the elizabethan collar they gave her wasn't big enough to cover the area of the surgery, so my pet ended up pulling the sutures open.

The rest of the staff was nice, the place was fairly clean, and at the end of the day, I love my pet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Adoptions are something we really work to do as much as possible! Thanks for the so-so review and your honesty. We are sorry you feel the adoption fee was too high but we charge from $100.00- $500.00 for adoptions based on what an animal that has been brought to us requires. Some have had to have orthopedic procedures, surgeries, blood testing, etc which can be rather costly and the adoption fees help us defray these expenses at least slightly and continue to be able to take in more hard luck cases and find then forever homes! We get no help from the city or the state and all funds must come from our own pockets and the adoption fees. Glad you are happy with your new family member!!
.

The Garden State Animal Hospital is a wonderful place to leave your pet when you are away...I don't know what that other lady is talking about giving them a bad review, but my dog is VERY well taken care of and happy when he comes home. The dog is well fed, clean and content upon returning home. Their staff is kind and loving and never make you pay for anything that isn't necessary. I also returned early from my trip on a Sunday and took a chance of finding someone at the kennels only to find a concerned staff member sitting with a dog who was suffering from separation syndrome! The doctor came in on sunday also to check out the dog. They are the best! Don't hesitate to use them for your pet needs! Thanks again for taking such good care of my dog. Peace of mind when away on vacation is worth a million dollars...even though they are very reasonably priced.

4
★★★★☆

The Garden State Animal Hospital is a wonderful place to leave your pet when you are away...I don't know what that other lady is talking about giving them a bad review, but my dog is VERY well taken care of and happy when he comes home. The dog is well fed, clean and content upon returning home. Their staff is kind and loving and never make you pay for anything that isn't necessary. I also returned early from my trip on a Sunday and took a chance of finding someone at the kennels only to find a concerned staff member sitting with a dog who was suffering from separation syndrome! The doctor came in on sunday also to check out the dog. They are the best! Don't hesitate to use them for your pet needs! Thanks again for taking such good care of my dog. Peace of mind when away on vacation is worth a million dollars...even though they are very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

.

We have taken our dog and cat to Garden State Animal Hospital several times for boarding over the last 5 years. The facility is clean and the staff is pleasant; their boarding rates are better than any others in the area. The last time we were there, the doctors reviewed our pets medical records from another vet and told us that we were getting several vaccines and tests that were unnecessary and expensive. I would definitely bring my pets here again.

PROS: Clean facility, good rates
CONS: none

4
★★★★☆

We have taken our dog and cat to Garden State Animal Hospital several times for boarding over the last 5 years. The facility is clean and the staff is pleasant; their boarding rates are better than any others in the area. The last time we were there, the doctors reviewed our pets medical records from another vet and told us that we were getting several vaccines and tests that were unnecessary and expensive. I would definitely bring my pets here again.

PROS: Clean facility, good rates
CONS: none

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

10 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Message from Garden State Animal Hospital

" Committed to Excellence ,Helping the animals and the community!"We offer a full state of the art in-house laboratory, medical, dental, and laser surgical center!! Special interest in reproduction and pediatrics! Artificial insemination and c-sections. **Note: In Jan/Feb 2008 Dr. Y agreed to help the HCSPA get their shelter straightened out and was in constant communication with the NJ State Dept. Of Health. Dr Y advised for treatments of animals and documented such. The HCSPCA failed to follow these recommendations. Dr Y could not FORCE the HCSPCA to do anything she advised only! This is the capacity in which she was the "vet on record" only! The HSPCA consistently refused to get appropriate care for the animals and thus Dr Y is no longer affiliated with them and the State has shut the HCSPCA down!! Dr. Young and this hospital are in NO WAY affiliated with the HSPCA or the management there! The numerous posts here are by disgruntled misinformed animal rights individuals perpetuating lies and misrepresenting and grossly distorting the facts!! Dr Young has a very long standing, honorable, and impeccable record and is still very much in business and practicing, obviously, as she was at no fault in this matter! Any and all allegations are and were found to be false! Feel free to call us if you have any questions or stop in and meet us! We look forward to serving both you and your beloved pets and take great pride in our hospital.

More about Garden State Animal Hospital

Full medical, dental, hospitalization, laboratory, and laser surgical facilities. Adoption and animal rescue organization

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Garden State Animal Hospital, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review