Tony's Culver Atlantic

★★★☆☆
Auto Repair in Rochester NY
  • 1628 Winton Rd N

    Rochester, NY 14609

    Map & Directions
  • 585-224-0290

Automotive

Automotive
More choices in Rochester:
Resultset_next

Zara's Collision Ctr

3117 Wide Track Dr Springfield, AR

Resultset_next

Springfield Welding & Auto Bdy

2720 Holmes Ave Springfield, AR

3.4 5
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Tony's Culver Atlantic was?
Write a Review
.

I've been bringing our vehicles to Tony's Culver Atlantic for years. They always take the time to explain (and show me) what needs to be done, and what can wait. They even give me the old parts if I ask for them! Both our vehicles ('08 Saturn Vue & '98 Mercury Mountaineer) have been paid off and out of warranty for years ... and I wouldn't hesitate to put either of them to the test thanks to Mike & Tony.

5
★★★★★

I've been bringing our vehicles to Tony's Culver Atlantic for years. They always take the time to explain (and show me) what needs to be done, and what can wait. They even give me the old parts if I ask for them! Both our vehicles ('08 Saturn Vue & '98 Mercury Mountaineer) have been paid off and out of warranty for years ... and I wouldn't hesitate to put either of them to the test thanks to Mike & Tony.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thank You, Scott!
.

My extended family has been going to Mike and Tony for 10-15 years. I trust them, and they would not install parts or provide services that were not necessary . . . Maybe the other person who wrote the negative review had some communication issues. I always ask, and they tell me whether its a necessary repair, or if there are less expensive options.

5
★★★★★

My extended family has been going to Mike and Tony for 10-15 years. I trust them, and they would not install parts or provide services that were not necessary . . . Maybe the other person who wrote the negative review had some communication issues. I always ask, and they tell me whether its a necessary repair, or if there are less expensive options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank You, John!
.

My car overheated, they replaced the radiator, it overheated again and they replaced the reservoir tank, it again overheated the following day, they then said the thermostat needed to be replaced, the following day the check engine light came on. I brought it to a reputable mechanic who found that they broke the nipple off of the side of the pressure solenoid, they left the t-stat unbolted, the air box left unclipped, in addition still traces of coolant, the radiator needed to be replaced again 3 weeks after the first one was put in. I don't think I ever needed a radiator to begin with, I think it was the thermostat all along, Total costs including the broken map sensor was 901.77. My new mechanic said it wouldn't have cost more than $500.00 with him. Also, they have often had open containers of beer when I go into the shop. I would never recommend them to anyone. Also he lied about how much the radiator cost, he charged 289. for a CSF radiator and my cost would be 209.00(mechanics get a discount)

1
★☆☆☆☆

My car overheated, they replaced the radiator, it overheated again and they replaced the reservoir tank, it again overheated the following day, they then said the thermostat needed to be replaced, the following day the check engine light came on. I brought it to a reputable mechanic who found that they broke the nipple off of the side of the pressure solenoid, they left the t-stat unbolted, the air box left unclipped, in addition still traces of coolant, the radiator needed to be replaced again 3 weeks after the first one was put in. I don't think I ever needed a radiator to begin with, I think it was the thermostat all along, Total costs including the broken map sensor was 901.77. My new mechanic said it wouldn't have cost more than $500.00 with him. Also, they have often had open containers of beer when I go into the shop. I would never recommend them to anyone. Also he lied about how much the radiator cost, he charged 289. for a CSF radiator and my cost would be 209.00(mechanics get a discount)

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Although Peggy wouldn't say, it was fairly obvious that her vehicle had been in a minor crash before her arrival. We'd only replace the reservoir if it were cracked and leaking fluid. The cracked reservoir tank is typically located in the same area as the nipple on the side of the pressure solenoid (which we did not break), and both account for the lingering traces of anti-freeze. The "check engine" light will illuminate for a bad thermostat, yet many vehicles can be driven without one. It may take longer for the vehicle to warm up, and the heat inside the passenger compartment may not work ... but it can be driven. According to her review, Peggy's vehicle was not overheating when she took it to another mechanic. We still don't understand why they needed to replace a brand new radiator if we didn't need to replace the old one in the first place. "The customer may not always be right, but they are always the customer." We value our customers - even when they're wrong - and work to make things right wherever possible.
.

I read the other review and had to respond. We've been going to Tony's for at least 10 years. Their prices are always good and they couldn't be friendlier. They've gone out of their way for us to locate some intermittent noises that are were hard to diagnose. There have been times when they've fixed something small without charge. I feel comfortable taking our car there because I know I'll get good service.

4
★★★★☆

I read the other review and had to respond. We've been going to Tony's for at least 10 years. Their prices are always good and they couldn't be friendlier. They've gone out of their way for us to locate some intermittent noises that are were hard to diagnose. There have been times when they've fixed something small without charge. I feel comfortable taking our car there because I know I'll get good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thank You, Thomas!
.

I took my car here for an inspection and was given a $700 quote, and I knew that the car didn't need everything that I was told. They over charge and do unnecessary work. When I took the car back, with out being inspected and went with another garage, I got everything the car needed for under $300. I won't be using them for any work in the future.

2
★★☆☆☆

I took my car here for an inspection and was given a $700 quote, and I knew that the car didn't need everything that I was told. They over charge and do unnecessary work. When I took the car back, with out being inspected and went with another garage, I got everything the car needed for under $300. I won't be using them for any work in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

When we look at a vehicle, we ask ourselves "if my (family member) were going to drive away in this vehicle, what would we say about it?" Taking another mechanic's advice over ours is completely your choice. Lots of other mechanics will let you go down the road with problems just to get some of your business today. We will not give you the same false confidence. If it's broken, we're going to tell you. Whether you decide to fix it or not is up to you. "The customer may not always be right, but they are always the customer." We value our customers - even when they're wrong - and work to make things right wherever possible.

Message from Tony's Culver Atlantic

Visit our website for discounts and special offers!

More about Tony's Culver Atlantic

We've been repairing cars, trucks, and SUVs in the Rochester, NY area for over 40 years.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Tony's Culver Atlantic, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review