Combined Energy Services

★★★☆☆
  • 216 E Broadway

    Monticello, NY 12701

    Map & Directions
  • 845-794-1210

Wholesalers

Wholesalers
More choices in Monticello:
Resultset_next

Southern Lp Gas Inc

718 N Hyatt St Monticello, AR

Resultset_next

Southern Lp Gas Inc

718 N Hyatt St Monticello, AR

3.0625 16
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Combined Energy Services was?
Write a Review
.

This company should have -10 Stars
I just called Combined energy for the 10th time as they never return calls , We built a new house and asked combined energy to come out and let us know where the best place would be to place the tank so we could pay a plumber to run the new gas lines
They came out and told us to put the tank at the back of the house .
Fast forward to winter , The driver cannot make deliveries because of the position of the tank , We are told we need to relocate all the gas pipes and move the tank to a new location .at our own additional cost

No one at CES takes responsibility for the mistake , No Apology,
Just go get gas somewhere else ,

The customer service is the worst I have ever experienced
Jamie is extra nasty there , She screamed down the phone that today is Friday and I would not ruin her weekend and hung up the phone . Maybe she is the owner that can get away with speaking to customers like this .
I called back to make a complaint to a manager and was she just ignored me .

I asked to speak to an owner or someone that could help

She told me The owner in never there and go get service somewhere else .

The worst service ever

I don't think the hard working people of Monticello and surrounding areas who pay these people wages should be treated with such disrespect

Maybe the owner should take a look at some of these reviews , And see how his staff are treating the people who have kept him in business over the years

Extremely annoyed Customer

1
★☆☆☆☆

This company should have -10 Stars
I just called Combined energy for the 10th time as they never return calls , We built a new house and asked combined energy to come out and let us know where the best place would be to place the tank so we could pay a plumber to run the new gas lines
They came out and told us to put the tank at the back of the house .
Fast forward to winter , The driver cannot make deliveries because of the position of the tank , We are told we need to relocate all the gas pipes and move the tank to a new location .at our own additional cost

No one at CES takes responsibility for the mistake , No Apology,
Just go get gas somewhere else ,

The customer service is the worst I have ever experienced
Jamie is extra nasty there , She screamed down the phone that today is Friday and I would not ruin her weekend and hung up the phone . Maybe she is the owner that can get away with speaking to customers like this .
I called back to make a complaint to a manager and was she just ignored me .

I asked to speak to an owner or someone that could help

She told me The owner in never there and go get service somewhere else .

The worst service ever

I don't think the hard working people of Monticello and surrounding areas who pay these people wages should be treated with such disrespect

Maybe the owner should take a look at some of these reviews , And see how his staff are treating the people who have kept him in business over the years

Extremely annoyed Customer

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

15 years ago we began using CES to deliver our cooking propane and had absolutely no issues with them until last year. For some reason, our 14 years on of on time payments are not good enough for them anymore, and they call us incessantly to extract payment. I mark every number they call from so I don't have to deal with them in odd moments - and they always manage to call from a different number! The phone calls are so friggin' annoying! Also, this last winter was punishingly cold and expensive for us, so it took us a little longer than usual, and more smaller payments at a time to pay our bills - BUT WE PAID THEM. So, I get this form letter in the mail yesterday saying that now we have to pre-pay for both of our accounts. 300 for home cooking propane - which would be three months or more of prepay, since we only use about 90 bucks a month of cooking propane a month - and 500 for our shop.
I think this is extortion. With the utter sloppy payment procedures and record keeping of this GOD AWFUL company, I cannot trust them with any prepayment. Somebody tell me that this is not legal. I think I have to talk to a lawyer.
THE BOTTOM LINE IS AND I AM SORRY I AM YELLING that CES is the worst run fuel company, has the most annoying and unhelpful customer service, doesn't know basic accounting or record keeping, and they think they can extort money from 15 year customers who previously had zero payment issues. Like I said, we are not the only ones around that had trouble paying heating bills last winter here in the northeast, but the way they are acting you'd think they were surprised that people were too broke to throw them 700 bucks all at once. THESE PEOPLE ARE CRIMINALS AND WORSE, THEY ARE ANNOYING.

1
★☆☆☆☆

15 years ago we began using CES to deliver our cooking propane and had absolutely no issues with them until last year. For some reason, our 14 years on of on time payments are not good enough for them anymore, and they call us incessantly to extract payment. I mark every number they call from so I don't have to deal with them in odd moments - and they always manage to call from a different number! The phone calls are so friggin' annoying! Also, this last winter was punishingly cold and expensive for us, so it took us a little longer than usual, and more smaller payments at a time to pay our bills - BUT WE PAID THEM. So, I get this form letter in the mail yesterday saying that now we have to pre-pay for both of our accounts. 300 for home cooking propane - which would be three months or more of prepay, since we only use about 90 bucks a month of cooking propane a month - and 500 for our shop.
I think this is extortion. With the utter sloppy payment procedures and record keeping of this GOD AWFUL company, I cannot trust them with any prepayment. Somebody tell me that this is not legal. I think I have to talk to a lawyer.
THE BOTTOM LINE IS AND I AM SORRY I AM YELLING that CES is the worst run fuel company, has the most annoying and unhelpful customer service, doesn't know basic accounting or record keeping, and they think they can extort money from 15 year customers who previously had zero payment issues. Like I said, we are not the only ones around that had trouble paying heating bills last winter here in the northeast, but the way they are acting you'd think they were surprised that people were too broke to throw them 700 bucks all at once. THESE PEOPLE ARE CRIMINALS AND WORSE, THEY ARE ANNOYING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

This year my experience with CES has been less than satisfactory.
I came back from vacation to discover the gas tank empty. I called CES and requested delivery. I was told that it'd be done end of week, Thu at earliest. A friend brought me his BBQ tank.
No one told me I had to be present at delivery, but I suspected a leak, and was anxious to have a pressure test. So on Wed PM I drove from the city especially to be there when the truck arrives.
Turned out the delivery had already been made, the tank was not connected and the pressure test had not been done.
I called CES again and was told that the technician would come Thu (or Fri, I am not sure) PM. No one said anything about extra charges.
Thu or Fri AM I was about to go out shopping when the guy arrived I almost missed him. He was very polite and helpful and did his job excellently. When I asked him how come he arrived at 9am, instead of PM, he could only shrug how would he know?
A few days ago I received a bill for $99.90. I called CES and spoke to Jessica.
She claimed they didnt commit to a specific date of delivery. In fact I had been told it would be Thursday or Friday.
Then she said, They didnt connect the tank because it was disconnected.
I said it was connected to a different tank provided by a friend, as I mentioned above.
Later on, she brought up the point again, and I said, Well, I guess from your point of view it was disconnected.
Aha, she said; so you were LYING the first time.
Clearly, after that a polite dialogue was out of the question.
I insist that the additional visit of the technician was caused by lack of communication between the departments at CES and through no fault of mine. I e-mailed the company on Wed and havent heard since. I stopped by their offices on Thu and asked to see the manager. After the girl at the counter looked up my account, I was told he was out for lunch and would call me later. NO SUCH LUCK.
In our life we deal with utilities all the time, misunderstandings and conflicts are inevitable, but to be called a liar and then ignored for days - this is not a company I want to be a client of.
David Gurevich

1
★☆☆☆☆

This year my experience with CES has been less than satisfactory.
I came back from vacation to discover the gas tank empty. I called CES and requested delivery. I was told that it'd be done end of week, Thu at earliest. A friend brought me his BBQ tank.
No one told me I had to be present at delivery, but I suspected a leak, and was anxious to have a pressure test. So on Wed PM I drove from the city especially to be there when the truck arrives.
Turned out the delivery had already been made, the tank was not connected and the pressure test had not been done.
I called CES again and was told that the technician would come Thu (or Fri, I am not sure) PM. No one said anything about extra charges.
Thu or Fri AM I was about to go out shopping when the guy arrived I almost missed him. He was very polite and helpful and did his job excellently. When I asked him how come he arrived at 9am, instead of PM, he could only shrug how would he know?
A few days ago I received a bill for $99.90. I called CES and spoke to Jessica.
She claimed they didnt commit to a specific date of delivery. In fact I had been told it would be Thursday or Friday.
Then she said, They didnt connect the tank because it was disconnected.
I said it was connected to a different tank provided by a friend, as I mentioned above.
Later on, she brought up the point again, and I said, Well, I guess from your point of view it was disconnected.
Aha, she said; so you were LYING the first time.
Clearly, after that a polite dialogue was out of the question.
I insist that the additional visit of the technician was caused by lack of communication between the departments at CES and through no fault of mine. I e-mailed the company on Wed and havent heard since. I stopped by their offices on Thu and asked to see the manager. After the girl at the counter looked up my account, I was told he was out for lunch and would call me later. NO SUCH LUCK.
In our life we deal with utilities all the time, misunderstandings and conflicts are inevitable, but to be called a liar and then ignored for days - this is not a company I want to be a client of.
David Gurevich

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

My husband and I have been Combined Energy clients for over ten years. Service has always been great but for the past three years, there has been a major miscommunication with regards to billing and automatic payments. This morning we woke up to find our propane tank completely empty. No heat in the kitchen, no hot water, no stove, no dryer. I called and spoke to Lisa and was ready to cancel our account. Lisa is one of the most professional and friendly associates Ive spoken to. She knew I was exasperated and freely let me vent. Within one hour she solved the problem for us. I cannot thank you enough for having someone like Lisa on your staff. She is the reason we will be staying with Combined Energy.
After speaking with Lisa, she arranged a propane delivery by noon. At exactly twelve noon I saw the Combined Energy truck riding up our driveway. Ron was the deliveryman and once again I have to thank you for having someone like Ron on your crew. He filled our tank, checked the pressure and made sure every pilot light was back on. That is just amazing service.
To Lisa and Ron, thank you so much for making a rotten situation turn into such a positive outcome.
All the best,
David and Jeff

4
★★★★☆

My husband and I have been Combined Energy clients for over ten years. Service has always been great but for the past three years, there has been a major miscommunication with regards to billing and automatic payments. This morning we woke up to find our propane tank completely empty. No heat in the kitchen, no hot water, no stove, no dryer. I called and spoke to Lisa and was ready to cancel our account. Lisa is one of the most professional and friendly associates Ive spoken to. She knew I was exasperated and freely let me vent. Within one hour she solved the problem for us. I cannot thank you enough for having someone like Lisa on your staff. She is the reason we will be staying with Combined Energy.
After speaking with Lisa, she arranged a propane delivery by noon. At exactly twelve noon I saw the Combined Energy truck riding up our driveway. Ron was the deliveryman and once again I have to thank you for having someone like Ron on your crew. He filled our tank, checked the pressure and made sure every pilot light was back on. That is just amazing service.
To Lisa and Ron, thank you so much for making a rotten situation turn into such a positive outcome.
All the best,
David and Jeff

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Poor business in dealing with customers when you give no written agreement or verbal communication that you are allowed to add on to a deposit after it has been paid. I was asked for an additional $200, 4 months after giving a $325 deposit

3
★★★★★

Poor business in dealing with customers when you give no written agreement or verbal communication that you are allowed to add on to a deposit after it has been paid. I was asked for an additional $200, 4 months after giving a $325 deposit

.

If I could I would give it NO stars!! They have the WORST customer service EVER!! As a customer service rep myself one of the first things they teach you is "THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT"...regardless good customer service brings in customers and word of mouth is one that multiplies a business quickly! We had no choice but to use them as that is who contracted the tanks in the development where we were building. From the very beginning we ALWAYS paid our bills and relished our time between April and October when we did not have that hefty propane bill. We would watch our tank and fill accordingly. Unfortunately I lost my job and the economic crunch that was upon us HIT us hard!! We used to be able to order our propane and pay the bill after delivery. Then ALL OF A SUDDEN a billing mistake ON THEIR part became our problem. I had called to get a final bill for May so I knew everything was paid...I sent out a check never to think about it until the cold weather came upon us once again. About a month later I get a bill from them for a little over $100. Seeing as we were on a VERY tight budget it was money I did not have. When I called they said it was a mistake and another customers check was applied to our account . So I told them I just didn't have the money to pay it and quite frankly they should really just eat the difference. I was then told that I SHOULD HAVE NOTICED the mistake and called immediately to pay the difference. After countless calls, supervisors and even a letter to the owner I was the one PUNISHED!! They coded my account so that I ALWAYS had to pay UPFRONT before they delivered. I believe they called it "MONEY IN OFFICE". I was livid and I couldn't switch companies because they had the contract so they knew they had us over a barrel. One time I pleaded with them because we were close to running out and I had my infant grandson living with us and pay day was a week away...I was told...."Well if you paid your bills on time you wouldn't be in this mess!!" PAID MY BILLS ON TIME??? I ALWAYS paid my bills until their mistake. NO ONE tried to help or had any sympathy so on one of the COLDEST nights in January we ran out and I had to go crying to my boss and ask for a loan until payday just so my infant grandson wouldn't freeze. Then they charged me a fee for a half fill...a fee for coming on an "EMERGENCY" delivery....and a fee to relight the pilot. WHAT a RIP OFF!! Oh and Mike Taylor you sir are a scoundrel. To air someone's dirty laundry on here...DISGUSTING!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

If I could I would give it NO stars!! They have the WORST customer service EVER!! As a customer service rep myself one of the first things they teach you is "THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT"...regardless good customer service brings in customers and word of mouth is one that multiplies a business quickly! We had no choice but to use them as that is who contracted the tanks in the development where we were building. From the very beginning we ALWAYS paid our bills and relished our time between April and October when we did not have that hefty propane bill. We would watch our tank and fill accordingly. Unfortunately I lost my job and the economic crunch that was upon us HIT us hard!! We used to be able to order our propane and pay the bill after delivery. Then ALL OF A SUDDEN a billing mistake ON THEIR part became our problem. I had called to get a final bill for May so I knew everything was paid...I sent out a check never to think about it until the cold weather came upon us once again. About a month later I get a bill from them for a little over $100. Seeing as we were on a VERY tight budget it was money I did not have. When I called they said it was a mistake and another customers check was applied to our account . So I told them I just didn't have the money to pay it and quite frankly they should really just eat the difference. I was then told that I SHOULD HAVE NOTICED the mistake and called immediately to pay the difference. After countless calls, supervisors and even a letter to the owner I was the one PUNISHED!! They coded my account so that I ALWAYS had to pay UPFRONT before they delivered. I believe they called it "MONEY IN OFFICE". I was livid and I couldn't switch companies because they had the contract so they knew they had us over a barrel. One time I pleaded with them because we were close to running out and I had my infant grandson living with us and pay day was a week away...I was told...."Well if you paid your bills on time you wouldn't be in this mess!!" PAID MY BILLS ON TIME??? I ALWAYS paid my bills until their mistake. NO ONE tried to help or had any sympathy so on one of the COLDEST nights in January we ran out and I had to go crying to my boss and ask for a loan until payday just so my infant grandson wouldn't freeze. Then they charged me a fee for a half fill...a fee for coming on an "EMERGENCY" delivery....and a fee to relight the pilot. WHAT a RIP OFF!! Oh and Mike Taylor you sir are a scoundrel. To air someone's dirty laundry on here...DISGUSTING!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Train your customer service staff and delivery drivers on customer service and basic math and learn to take responsibility for your employee's mistakes instead of blaming the customer. Poor business practices

3
★★★★★

Train your customer service staff and delivery drivers on customer service and basic math and learn to take responsibility for your employee's mistakes instead of blaming the customer. Poor business practices

.

Awful delivery and customer service. I was overcharged 30 cents a gallon, and when I called up that same day, I was told it would take 10 days for a refund. A month after my delivery I call and they tell me they sent the check out that day. Over a week after they've supposedly sent my check out, it still isn't here, but their records of my payment are alterred to say I paid the correct amount. When I speak to any customer service rep on their phone line, they are always rude when I ask about my refund. AVOID AT ALL COSTS, there are plenty of worthwhile oil delivery companies out there. DON'T GET ROBBED.

UPDATE 1-18-13

I'm even more disgusted by the service with CES. I finally received my check today, from my delivery on 12-3-12 for a surprising slap in the face of $15. Just some background: I paid for 150 gallons at $4.19 a gallon (628.50 excluding the taxes) on delivery with a check at a $30 prompt payment discount, totaling $605.75. I should have been charged 150 gallons at $3.89 a gallon (583.50 excluding the taxes) with my prompt payment discount of $30, since I paid on delivery, for a grand total of $558.75. Simple subtraction would show that $605.75 - $558.75 would equal $47. We spoke with two representatives who could not understand this simple math and condescended to us for implying that they could have made an error. I will never do business with this company again, they are some slick thieves and they play dumb when you catch them in a lie. As for the well-versed on-line review response guy, if you have anyone down at your office with customer service training and common sense with math, they have my number if they'd like to fix this grievous error and reclaim some dignity for the way your business handled this situation. Check under "Nick S." if your financial records are that spotty. The two dim-witted reps (one with 7 years in your business) that we spoke to should remember us.
PS: I bet your satisfied customer reviews are good. They are from your "satisfied" customers. There are reviews here remarkably similar to mine regarding your suboptimal customer service representatives and how they blame the customer without hearing them out. Your underlying arrogance is a big indicator of how you conduct business. And me call the police over some petty con artist fuel company for $32 skimmed off a refund? I'm not going to waste their time or mine. Poor Service. You should be ashamed of yourselves, and business practices such as this will hurt your business. One can only hope sooner rather than later.

UPDATE: 1-23-13

You're absolutely right, well versed online review response guy--something isn't jiving. It's your claims and guarantees. None of them are true, and your word is worth nothing. No one from this company fixed my problem and they kept my $32. Not very smart to lose a possible long-term customer to pocket a measly $32. Enjoy it Combined Energy Services.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Awful delivery and customer service. I was overcharged 30 cents a gallon, and when I called up that same day, I was told it would take 10 days for a refund. A month after my delivery I call and they tell me they sent the check out that day. Over a week after they've supposedly sent my check out, it still isn't here, but their records of my payment are alterred to say I paid the correct amount. When I speak to any customer service rep on their phone line, they are always rude when I ask about my refund. AVOID AT ALL COSTS, there are plenty of worthwhile oil delivery companies out there. DON'T GET ROBBED.

UPDATE 1-18-13

I'm even more disgusted by the service with CES. I finally received my check today, from my delivery on 12-3-12 for a surprising slap in the face of $15. Just some background: I paid for 150 gallons at $4.19 a gallon (628.50 excluding the taxes) on delivery with a check at a $30 prompt payment discount, totaling $605.75. I should have been charged 150 gallons at $3.89 a gallon (583.50 excluding the taxes) with my prompt payment discount of $30, since I paid on delivery, for a grand total of $558.75. Simple subtraction would show that $605.75 - $558.75 would equal $47. We spoke with two representatives who could not understand this simple math and condescended to us for implying that they could have made an error. I will never do business with this company again, they are some slick thieves and they play dumb when you catch them in a lie. As for the well-versed on-line review response guy, if you have anyone down at your office with customer service training and common sense with math, they have my number if they'd like to fix this grievous error and reclaim some dignity for the way your business handled this situation. Check under "Nick S." if your financial records are that spotty. The two dim-witted reps (one with 7 years in your business) that we spoke to should remember us.
PS: I bet your satisfied customer reviews are good. They are from your "satisfied" customers. There are reviews here remarkably similar to mine regarding your suboptimal customer service representatives and how they blame the customer without hearing them out. Your underlying arrogance is a big indicator of how you conduct business. And me call the police over some petty con artist fuel company for $32 skimmed off a refund? I'm not going to waste their time or mine. Poor Service. You should be ashamed of yourselves, and business practices such as this will hurt your business. One can only hope sooner rather than later.

UPDATE: 1-23-13

You're absolutely right, well versed online review response guy--something isn't jiving. It's your claims and guarantees. None of them are true, and your word is worth nothing. No one from this company fixed my problem and they kept my $32. Not very smart to lose a possible long-term customer to pocket a measly $32. Enjoy it Combined Energy Services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

"Dan F" ?? we apologize for any confusion, we don??t know your situation and I even inquired to every CSR on staff to see if this rang a bell, but no one had any recollection of a situation similar. But if you would like to call, we would be happy to assist you. As far as being 'overcharged', prices are posted every day, given to every CSR and we haven??t had any time periods in the last year where prices could have jumped ??30 cents? within a day. Could it be you were thinking that you should have received our $0.20 per gallon discount we offer if you PAY COD, auto bank draft, credit card or credit approved within 10 days? Did you pay fast enough? This is common for thousands of our customers and it??s even extended to our BUDGET customers that TODAY are saving over $0.65 per gallon over the posted price of retail fuel since they were able to cap their cost last summer with 12 low, even payments. Once again - we apologize for any inconvenience. We're all confused how we could have delivered you fuel, then you wanted a refund the same day...refund for what? And I can guarantee that there was no altering of our records and I'm sure that if you had proof of your payment, which I'm sure you have - how could we alter records? And if we did, why didn't you call the police to report us for stealing? You still should honestly. We don't over charge Dan, we save thousands of customers a fortune each year with smart buying ahead of the season with dependable auto deliveries. If you would like to call - we'd be happy to dig into your situation specifically, but something is telling us that it's not jiving. Take a look at our homepage - left side and click on the box for "what CES customers are saying" to see what our satisfied customers are saying in real time. We try our hardest to take care of all customers - but 99% of the time when we pull the pieces of the story apart and publish what actually happened, it's about perception. Records aren't altered to steal your money, we don't overcharge anyone by 30 cents per gallon and don't hide refund money. Please call us "Dan F" and we'd be more than happy to review your details and even put the results on here, along with all our notes if you'd let us. that's our guarantee that we have nothing to hide. Thanks!
.

Dear Rich K:

Sorry for your aggravation and we looked into your specific incident which didn't take long since every CSR in our office knows you all too well in your short time with our company as a "will-call" for fuel oil customer, meaning you watch your gauge and call as you need it. The problem is - we don't have a private truck waiting outside your house to deliver your 150 gal order the next day, especially when it gets cold - we tell everyone that we need at least 5 working days notice for deliveries since we have routes to we have to stay on or nothing gets done.

The staff also relayed that you would call an order in and by that evening, you would call immediately saying you paid and should have gotten it by now - within 24 hours. Sorry, it's just impossible. Then you would leave messages on our company facebook page demanding a delivery - that's not a place we take orders Richard.

In addition - public records at the Sullivan County NY government center show that you have a JUDGMENT against you by Anderman Oil for $3052 from 12/27/11 - less than a year ago, so yes, you had to prepay for every delivery knowing all too well the credit risk. This is public record in the government center.

We somehow manage to take care of over 14,000 customers continually, added almost 1,900 in 2012 alone, many of which have been customers for decades. I would ask reviewers to click on "what our customers are saying" on the homepage of our website to hear what hundreds of satisfied customers are saying.

Managing your household budget in today's trying economic times is not easy for anyone we well know, but you need to give a fuel supplier ample time to schedule efficient deliveries. We offer automatic deliveries along with budget payment plans that help consumers smooth out winter's bills. We somehow manage to make THOUSANDS of customers happy with our deliveries and service, but when you run your tank down to vapors, have to prepay your account due to what we see in the public records of a judgment by another local supplier for $3000 - no, we can't make you happy I'm afraid.

We wish you good luck Richard K and hope you can find better service from a company with more liberal credit terms that fit your needs. We can't make everyone happy, especially those that want to use the internet as a bully-pulpit, but we somehow have managed to keep endless customers for over 40 years.

Best wishes for the future, Mike Taylor, owner

5
★★★★★

Dear Rich K:

Sorry for your aggravation and we looked into your specific incident which didn't take long since every CSR in our office knows you all too well in your short time with our company as a "will-call" for fuel oil customer, meaning you watch your gauge and call as you need it. The problem is - we don't have a private truck waiting outside your house to deliver your 150 gal order the next day, especially when it gets cold - we tell everyone that we need at least 5 working days notice for deliveries since we have routes to we have to stay on or nothing gets done.

The staff also relayed that you would call an order in and by that evening, you would call immediately saying you paid and should have gotten it by now - within 24 hours. Sorry, it's just impossible. Then you would leave messages on our company facebook page demanding a delivery - that's not a place we take orders Richard.

In addition - public records at the Sullivan County NY government center show that you have a JUDGMENT against you by Anderman Oil for $3052 from 12/27/11 - less than a year ago, so yes, you had to prepay for every delivery knowing all too well the credit risk. This is public record in the government center.

We somehow manage to take care of over 14,000 customers continually, added almost 1,900 in 2012 alone, many of which have been customers for decades. I would ask reviewers to click on "what our customers are saying" on the homepage of our website to hear what hundreds of satisfied customers are saying.

Managing your household budget in today's trying economic times is not easy for anyone we well know, but you need to give a fuel supplier ample time to schedule efficient deliveries. We offer automatic deliveries along with budget payment plans that help consumers smooth out winter's bills. We somehow manage to make THOUSANDS of customers happy with our deliveries and service, but when you run your tank down to vapors, have to prepay your account due to what we see in the public records of a judgment by another local supplier for $3000 - no, we can't make you happy I'm afraid.

We wish you good luck Richard K and hope you can find better service from a company with more liberal credit terms that fit your needs. We can't make everyone happy, especially those that want to use the internet as a bully-pulpit, but we somehow have managed to keep endless customers for over 40 years.

Best wishes for the future, Mike Taylor, owner

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Worst customer service experience EVER in Sullivan County. First, just after paying for propane, they almost took away my tank. Never aplogized. Then, a few days later, they call me to confirm that a delivery of oil was being made the next day. I thanked them. But no one ever showed up and no one called. So when I called that evening, they said, "We never promise a delivery date" and "we can't tell you when we will be in your neighborhood again." So they take your money quickly, call to schedule a delivery, then fail to make the delivery and don't even call to explain or apologize for what was clearly their mistake. When I criticized them on their Facebook page, they deleted me instead of taking the opportunity to make things right. Company in business almost 40 years has had plenty of time to get its office operations straight but no excuse for blaming the customer when they screw up.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Worst customer service experience EVER in Sullivan County. First, just after paying for propane, they almost took away my tank. Never aplogized. Then, a few days later, they call me to confirm that a delivery of oil was being made the next day. I thanked them. But no one ever showed up and no one called. So when I called that evening, they said, "We never promise a delivery date" and "we can't tell you when we will be in your neighborhood again." So they take your money quickly, call to schedule a delivery, then fail to make the delivery and don't even call to explain or apologize for what was clearly their mistake. When I criticized them on their Facebook page, they deleted me instead of taking the opportunity to make things right. Company in business almost 40 years has had plenty of time to get its office operations straight but no excuse for blaming the customer when they screw up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

Every month I had to call to get my bill -- for some unknown reason they couldn't mail it or email it to me. It was getting incredibly annoying. The final kicker was when we moved and called 7 days ahead of time to get final reading on the tank for the closing, we were told that they couldn't do it because we lived in a different county. Interesting that they had no problem delivering propane but certainly couldn't deliver service. When we asked to speak to the manager or owner we were told we weren't allowed to speak to them. As far as the closing, they insisted that the new owner open an account with them (even though he lives in the wrong county!), they would top the tank and then credit us the difference. It will be interesting to see if I get a check considering I can't get a bill.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Every month I had to call to get my bill -- for some unknown reason they couldn't mail it or email it to me. It was getting incredibly annoying. The final kicker was when we moved and called 7 days ahead of time to get final reading on the tank for the closing, we were told that they couldn't do it because we lived in a different county. Interesting that they had no problem delivering propane but certainly couldn't deliver service. When we asked to speak to the manager or owner we were told we weren't allowed to speak to them. As far as the closing, they insisted that the new owner open an account with them (even though he lives in the wrong county!), they would top the tank and then credit us the difference. It will be interesting to see if I get a check considering I can't get a bill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

My wife called CES on a Friday eve when our propane co let us run out for the 5th time. We pay our bills on-time and couldn't take it. They showed up Sat morning with 2 new tanks, safety checked our system and found the furnace vent had a hole which could have leaked carbon monoxide into the house. The old supplier fixed our furnace at least 3 times over the years and never said a word. Fair prices, on a payment plan each month all year, never let us run out since day one. I like buying from a local company and glad we found these guys!

5
★★★★★

My wife called CES on a Friday eve when our propane co let us run out for the 5th time. We pay our bills on-time and couldn't take it. They showed up Sat morning with 2 new tanks, safety checked our system and found the furnace vent had a hole which could have leaked carbon monoxide into the house. The old supplier fixed our furnace at least 3 times over the years and never said a word. Fair prices, on a payment plan each month all year, never let us run out since day one. I like buying from a local company and glad we found these guys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Dear Mark H:

I was forwarded your comments and we looked into things extensively regarding your complaint within our company. I apologize for any inconvenience. We service thousands of customers for over 40 years and truly don't try to rip people off.

After some searching, if we have it right - we dropped off a leased buried 320 gal propane tank for your swimming pool heater on a Saturday which yes, we had a summer fill rate for $1.95. We did this on a Sat since you said that you needed it immediately since your excavator was only available then and we did this on overtime at no additional charge. After the tank was installed - I'm being told YOU requested NOT to fill it. Unfortunately, we have to fill buried tanks or they will 'float' out of the ground with a heavy rain. Having a tank float is costly to rebury and dangerous if the gas line is damaged or severed. Just can't happen for safety reasons.

The $5 rate is for cooking only, but I see on your account you were charged $3.64 per gal, so not sure where the other rate comes from. This is for the small tank on the house which is based on your annual volume which for cooking is normally less than 75 gals per year for most consumers. No bait and switch - we run specials for POOL HEATING in the summer, which you didn't want to fill the larger tank if I have this all right.

We apologize for any inconvenience, but when a propane tank is buried - we've never had a customer NOT want it filled since with ground water saturation they understand that it can float out. As I understand it, we then offered to pick up the tank at no cost and give a refund, which was done. No charge to deliver that tank on a weekend and then no charge to drive back to remove it after you said you don't want it filled. Sounds pretty reasonable overall from here.

Once again, if there was a misunderstanding, I do apologize.

We have over 1800 propane tanks in the ground leased to customers for $1 per year. In most cases, we can't take a chance of ever leaving them empty, especially when just buried. Not trying to rip anyone off - we deliver propane tanks expecting to fill them. You sure would have been angrier if the tank had floated and leaked in your back yard or caused a fire during heavy rain I would guess.

If we can help in any way, please feel free to contact us any time at 800-874-1975.

Thank you, Mike Taylor, owner

5
★★★★★

Dear Mark H:

I was forwarded your comments and we looked into things extensively regarding your complaint within our company. I apologize for any inconvenience. We service thousands of customers for over 40 years and truly don't try to rip people off.

After some searching, if we have it right - we dropped off a leased buried 320 gal propane tank for your swimming pool heater on a Saturday which yes, we had a summer fill rate for $1.95. We did this on a Sat since you said that you needed it immediately since your excavator was only available then and we did this on overtime at no additional charge. After the tank was installed - I'm being told YOU requested NOT to fill it. Unfortunately, we have to fill buried tanks or they will 'float' out of the ground with a heavy rain. Having a tank float is costly to rebury and dangerous if the gas line is damaged or severed. Just can't happen for safety reasons.

The $5 rate is for cooking only, but I see on your account you were charged $3.64 per gal, so not sure where the other rate comes from. This is for the small tank on the house which is based on your annual volume which for cooking is normally less than 75 gals per year for most consumers. No bait and switch - we run specials for POOL HEATING in the summer, which you didn't want to fill the larger tank if I have this all right.

We apologize for any inconvenience, but when a propane tank is buried - we've never had a customer NOT want it filled since with ground water saturation they understand that it can float out. As I understand it, we then offered to pick up the tank at no cost and give a refund, which was done. No charge to deliver that tank on a weekend and then no charge to drive back to remove it after you said you don't want it filled. Sounds pretty reasonable overall from here.

Once again, if there was a misunderstanding, I do apologize.

We have over 1800 propane tanks in the ground leased to customers for $1 per year. In most cases, we can't take a chance of ever leaving them empty, especially when just buried. Not trying to rip anyone off - we deliver propane tanks expecting to fill them. You sure would have been angrier if the tank had floated and leaked in your back yard or caused a fire during heavy rain I would guess.

If we can help in any way, please feel free to contact us any time at 800-874-1975.

Thank you, Mike Taylor, owner

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I switched to CES as my fuel oil supplier over 5 years ago when my old supplier let me run out for the third time. I called them on a Saturday and a delivery truck was at my house in less than an hour. When my burner wouldn't start from being out, they sent a technician immediately and got our heat back on. They've been delivering automatically ever since and supply the propane gas for our cooking stove as well. I've talked my mom and other family members into changing to CES as well and I've never heard a complaint. Nice people, better than fair pricing and good service. Good to deal with a locally owned company that actually cares!

5
★★★★★

I switched to CES as my fuel oil supplier over 5 years ago when my old supplier let me run out for the third time. I called them on a Saturday and a delivery truck was at my house in less than an hour. When my burner wouldn't start from being out, they sent a technician immediately and got our heat back on. They've been delivering automatically ever since and supply the propane gas for our cooking stove as well. I've talked my mom and other family members into changing to CES as well and I've never heard a complaint. Nice people, better than fair pricing and good service. Good to deal with a locally owned company that actually cares!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I've known CES for close to 30 years. Good pricing and office ladies are very nice. I get heap assistance every year and on a fixed budget as a senor they are very helpful. Dispatcher Tom always takes good care of me as well.

5
★★★★★

I've known CES for close to 30 years. Good pricing and office ladies are very nice. I get heap assistance every year and on a fixed budget as a senor they are very helpful. Dispatcher Tom always takes good care of me as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Probably the WORST experience I have ever had. Dishonest, liars, didn't honor a deal - and very poor customer service. They screwed up delivery by putting propane in the wrong tank on my property, then scrambled to make up excuses about why I had to pay for it. Not only that, they tried to rip me off after they quoted me $1.95 per gallon for propane, but then sent me a bill for over $5.00 per gallon. What a nightmare dealing with them. I DO NOT RECOMMENDED CES

s

1
★☆☆☆☆

Probably the WORST experience I have ever had. Dishonest, liars, didn't honor a deal - and very poor customer service. They screwed up delivery by putting propane in the wrong tank on my property, then scrambled to make up excuses about why I had to pay for it. Not only that, they tried to rip me off after they quoted me $1.95 per gallon for propane, but then sent me a bill for over $5.00 per gallon. What a nightmare dealing with them. I DO NOT RECOMMENDED CES

s

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Message from Combined Energy Services

Dependable service since 1968 -- to see what our customers are really saying about CES - click on "what our customers are saying" on the left side of the home page. Hundreds of references from decades of servicing thousands of satisfied customers. You can always find a vocal person that gets internet muscles when their expectations aren't the same as what was reasonably delivered in challenging economic times - but thousands of customers can't be wrong. (CES added over 1900 new customers in 2012 - so we must be doing something right!). Hope you visit our website or check out our updates on Facebook.

More about Combined Energy Services

Propane gas & fuel oil deliveries, budget payment plans to smooth winter bills, staff of well trained service technicians that are available 24 / 7 for heating system problems and new installations of gas & oil burning equipment. Servicing customers of all size from the home cooking stove on your weekend cottage to huge warehouse distribution centers that received tractor trailer deliveries - CES offers creative, affordable & reliable solutions to your energy needs.

Articles and Advice

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Combined Energy Services, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review