Dockside Steak and Pasta

★★★★☆
  • 343 S 1st St

    Saint Helens, OR 97051

    Map & Directions
  • 503-366-0877

About Dockside Steak and Pasta

Details
3.5833 12
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Dockside Steak and Pasta was?
Write a Review
.

fair steak and great noodles

3
★★★★★

fair steak and great noodles

.

A little over 3 years ago, we tried this restaurant. The food was ok, but the service was terrible. Once they gave you your food......they basically ignored you until you drew thier attention to the fact that you were finished and would like the bill.
Tonight (4/18/2012) we deicded to give it another try. I was SURE that we must have caught them on an "off night" before. I was wrong.
We were seated pretty quickly. Then 4 other tables were seated AFTER us. 3 of the 4 tables were served water, had thier drink order filled, and 2 of the tables ordered thier dinner. Meanwhile.....my wife and I hadn't even been acknowledged, in any way. Not even a glance or an "I'll be right with you" nod. 2 servers walked past us 5 times, helping the other tables. We counted the trips, in disbelief of such poor service.
We were seated in the MIDDLE of the restaurant, with other diners not more than 4 feet away in any direction, yet it seemed that we were invisible.
We left without notice. We actually passed a server that was seating yet another table, again, with no acknowledgement of our existence.
2 times we've tried this restaurant...........one time with poor service, and the second time with NO service.
We won't be foolish enough to try again, and will do our best to inform our friends of our experience.

Jammie Lile

1
★☆☆☆☆

A little over 3 years ago, we tried this restaurant. The food was ok, but the service was terrible. Once they gave you your food......they basically ignored you until you drew thier attention to the fact that you were finished and would like the bill.
Tonight (4/18/2012) we deicded to give it another try. I was SURE that we must have caught them on an "off night" before. I was wrong.
We were seated pretty quickly. Then 4 other tables were seated AFTER us. 3 of the 4 tables were served water, had thier drink order filled, and 2 of the tables ordered thier dinner. Meanwhile.....my wife and I hadn't even been acknowledged, in any way. Not even a glance or an "I'll be right with you" nod. 2 servers walked past us 5 times, helping the other tables. We counted the trips, in disbelief of such poor service.
We were seated in the MIDDLE of the restaurant, with other diners not more than 4 feet away in any direction, yet it seemed that we were invisible.
We left without notice. We actually passed a server that was seating yet another table, again, with no acknowledgement of our existence.
2 times we've tried this restaurant...........one time with poor service, and the second time with NO service.
We won't be foolish enough to try again, and will do our best to inform our friends of our experience.

Jammie Lile

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

A little over 3 years ago, we tried this restaurant. The food was ok, but the service was terrible. Once they gave you your food......they basically ignored you until you drew thier attention to the fact that you were finished and would

3
★★★★★

A little over 3 years ago, we tried this restaurant. The food was ok, but the service was terrible. Once they gave you your food......they basically ignored you until you drew thier attention to the fact that you were finished and would

.

We recently visited Dockside for the first time. They had a number of large parties drop in without reservations, so the wait was a bit long. Completely worth the wait! I was blown away by the quality of the food and the staff were all fast and helpful. Food arrived very quickly. Our drinks never ran dry and the manager was out helping the waiters and was very interested in our experience being a good one. I would highly recommend it to friends and will be going back soon.

4
★★★★☆

We recently visited Dockside for the first time. They had a number of large parties drop in without reservations, so the wait was a bit long. Completely worth the wait! I was blown away by the quality of the food and the staff were all fast and helpful. Food arrived very quickly. Our drinks never ran dry and the manager was out helping the waiters and was very interested in our experience being a good one. I would highly recommend it to friends and will be going back soon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I went there last night with my boyfriend and his son. That will be the last time we go. Food was okay. Never got a server to come by and refill our drinks (soda & ice tea). The wait staff was to busy talking to girls at the table next to us.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I went there last night with my boyfriend and his son. That will be the last time we go. Food was okay. Never got a server to come by and refill our drinks (soda & ice tea). The wait staff was to busy talking to girls at the table next to us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

We have eaten here for several years and the food and especially the service have become progressively worse. This used to be quite a good place to eat but now the staff has become terribly arrogant and rude. I will not personally eat nor will I reccomend this restaurant again. Food 3 out of 5, service 1 out of 5.

2
★★☆☆☆

We have eaten here for several years and the food and especially the service have become progressively worse. This used to be quite a good place to eat but now the staff has become terribly arrogant and rude. I will not personally eat nor will I reccomend this restaurant again. Food 3 out of 5, service 1 out of 5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My son and I just moved to this beautiful town from Portland. We went after his first day at school, to celebrate. It was such a perfect place for a festive dinner, and boy, what a steak he had! Perfectly done to order, and my cobb salad with chicken breast slices was superb... We will be going back whenever we want a special treat. I loved the casual yet up-scale (for us) atmosphere. The menu also has a nice selection, even a few for the vegetarians. Getting crayons to draw on the white paper table-cloth is fun too!
Love it!

4
★★★★☆

My son and I just moved to this beautiful town from Portland. We went after his first day at school, to celebrate. It was such a perfect place for a festive dinner, and boy, what a steak he had! Perfectly done to order, and my cobb salad with chicken breast slices was superb... We will be going back whenever we want a special treat. I loved the casual yet up-scale (for us) atmosphere. The menu also has a nice selection, even a few for the vegetarians. Getting crayons to draw on the white paper table-cloth is fun too!
Love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Dockside Restaurant is truly a blessing to residents of Columbia County and their guests (except for some Italians from Chicago!). My family moved to St. Helens from the Monterey Bay area of California. We have eaten at Dockside several times and have never had a bad meal! Good food, big portions and very reasonable prices (especially compared to some establishments in CA) -- Dockside is a wonderful place and we highly recommend them. As the place advertises, steak and pasta (and excellent seafood, too). Took our in-laws from CA to eat here recently, and they loved it! Great atmosphere and excellent service make Dockside the class of St. Helens Oregon.

4
★★★★☆

Dockside Restaurant is truly a blessing to residents of Columbia County and their guests (except for some Italians from Chicago!). My family moved to St. Helens from the Monterey Bay area of California. We have eaten at Dockside several times and have never had a bad meal! Good food, big portions and very reasonable prices (especially compared to some establishments in CA) -- Dockside is a wonderful place and we highly recommend them. As the place advertises, steak and pasta (and excellent seafood, too). Took our in-laws from CA to eat here recently, and they loved it! Great atmosphere and excellent service make Dockside the class of St. Helens Oregon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

For one thing there are no Italian Restaurants in Columbia County. The closest you'll find are two down Lombard in N. Portland. Columbia County in general hasn't got a good restaurant anywhere.Dockside has an interesting atmosphere, it could be a good restaurant if they would just realize they can't cook !! They need to drop the Italian food until they get a good Italian cook. I am Italian from Chicago and no one other then the NY people can compare to this type of cuisine, flavor and recipes. They charge too much to top it off. The problem is that none of St.Helens has any place worthy of praise for its food. It's as if these people have no idea what seasoning and good taste is all about........blah food. If you lived here all your life you probably have no concept of what good food taste like unless you travel alot. Go to Portland, OR or Longview, WA if you want to eat and remember what you ate without regrets.

1
★☆☆☆☆

For one thing there are no Italian Restaurants in Columbia County. The closest you'll find are two down Lombard in N. Portland. Columbia County in general hasn't got a good restaurant anywhere.Dockside has an interesting atmosphere, it could be a good restaurant if they would just realize they can't cook !! They need to drop the Italian food until they get a good Italian cook. I am Italian from Chicago and no one other then the NY people can compare to this type of cuisine, flavor and recipes. They charge too much to top it off. The problem is that none of St.Helens has any place worthy of praise for its food. It's as if these people have no idea what seasoning and good taste is all about........blah food. If you lived here all your life you probably have no concept of what good food taste like unless you travel alot. Go to Portland, OR or Longview, WA if you want to eat and remember what you ate without regrets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I live in St. Helens and go to the Dockside fairly often. Great food and drinks, and big portions. We usually bring some home. Very good!

2
★★★★★

I live in St. Helens and go to the Dockside fairly often. Great food and drinks, and big portions. We usually bring some home. Very good!

.

Dockside may not look like a big main stream place but the food and service competes with some of the good restaurants. They are for the most part Italian food but have alot of other opions in with steak and fried foods. They don't seem to have a problem with subsitutions and mix and match. During my hour drive I was thinking "this better be worth it" because you can get good Italian food anywhere else closer. Although that is true if you want to get out of town and try some where different, try this Dockside place, its not bad.

2
★★★★★

Dockside may not look like a big main stream place but the food and service competes with some of the good restaurants. They are for the most part Italian food but have alot of other opions in with steak and fried foods. They don't seem to have a problem with subsitutions and mix and match. During my hour drive I was thinking "this better be worth it" because you can get good Italian food anywhere else closer. Although that is true if you want to get out of town and try some where different, try this Dockside place, its not bad.

Pros: long drive from Portalnd

Cons: long drive from Portalnd

.

For the best Italian food in St. Helens, go to the Dockside. Very relaxing atmosphere with dim lights and candles. Gorgeous view of the river and friendly staff make this a very enjoyable dining experience. Another plus is you get to leave your mark on the paper they cover the table with. It gets replaced once you leave, so decorate it up!

PROS: Casual and comfortable atmosphere, friendly staff
CONS:

4
★★★★☆

For the best Italian food in St. Helens, go to the Dockside. Very relaxing atmosphere with dim lights and candles. Gorgeous view of the river and friendly staff make this a very enjoyable dining experience. Another plus is you get to leave your mark on the paper they cover the table with. It gets replaced once you leave, so decorate it up!

PROS: Casual and comfortable atmosphere, friendly staff
CONS:

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Dockside Steak and Pasta, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review