Thai Bloom!

★★★★☆
  • 3800 SW Cedar Hills Blvd 302B

    Beaverton, OR 97005

    Map & Directions
  • 503-644-8010

About Thai Bloom!

Categories
Details
Hours
Sun 12pm-9pm, Mon-Thu 11am-9pm, Fri 11am-10pm, Sat 12pm-10pm
4.4706 17
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Thai Bloom! was?
Write a Review
.

The former chef's from Typhoon! have opened up at the former Thai Derm location, it is called Thai Bloom! It's the hidden Gem on the West side. Check it out and check-in on Yelp for a free handmade coconut ice cream when you come, you

3
★★★★★

The former chef's from Typhoon! have opened up at the former Thai Derm location, it is called Thai Bloom! It's the hidden Gem on the West side. Check it out and check-in on Yelp for a free handmade coconut ice cream when you come, you

.

I Just started my job with with the City of Beaverton. I did not know of many Thai spots near by but heard about Thai Derm from a co-worker. Being a huge Thai food lover I went in to the restaurant with my hopes at a moderate level. Wow,

3
★★★★★

I Just started my job with with the City of Beaverton. I did not know of many Thai spots near by but heard about Thai Derm from a co-worker. Being a huge Thai food lover I went in to the restaurant with my hopes at a moderate level. Wow,

.

One of the better Thai food places around Hillsboro/Beaverton area.
These are the items that we tried:
Tom Yum soup (extra spicy): this was real good.
Chicken Satay was good.
Dungeness Crab Fried Rice was good too... I experimented with the item, Sizzling Seafood, and it was surprisingly good (wasn't like Mexican Sizzling Fajita style), but good in it's own way.
The Salt & Pepper Calamari (typically can't-go-wrong-item) wasn't great.

2
★★★★☆

One of the better Thai food places around Hillsboro/Beaverton area.
These are the items that we tried:
Tom Yum soup (extra spicy): this was real good.
Chicken Satay was good.
Dungeness Crab Fried Rice was good too... I experimented with the item, Sizzling Seafood, and it was surprisingly good (wasn't like Mexican Sizzling Fajita style), but good in it's own way.
The Salt & Pepper Calamari (typically can't-go-wrong-item) wasn't great.

Pros: Good Thai food

.

Great food, great specials. We love getting the chicken satay, coconut shrimp, and a variety of the entrees. This restaurant has a great atmosphere and seating style. Staff is friendly and accommodating.

2
★★★★★

Great food, great specials. We love getting the chicken satay, coconut shrimp, and a variety of the entrees. This restaurant has a great atmosphere and seating style. Staff is friendly and accommodating.

Pros: Excellent fresh tasting Thai Food

Cons: We moved and its no longer close to home.

.

I've been going to Thai Derm since they opened.
(They used to be Siam) and have a great relationship with the owners so I can't comment on the service because they are super nice to me.

Thai Derm is a really fun place to bring a group of people to experience their traditional-style dining room (make sure nobody wears a skirt! the low-slung tables are a bit difficult to navigate- just throw your leg over and free-fall into your place) or a funky and unusual place for a date (one of which wore a skirt- no need to say more).

Without exception everyone I've introduced to the place has commented "That's good Pad Thai". I also like their stir-fried dishes (Cashew Crunch) and curries. green Curry Fried Rice is a real standout. They have an ever-changing 'specials' menu which never fails to feature dishes I've -never- seen elsewhere.

Here's the deal- Portland is crowded with Thai places- throw a rock and you'll hit one. Thai Derm (even with their unfortunate name that evokes dermatitis) is better than average- and stands out in it's-

1. Dining room- very elegant and unique.
2. Great Pad Thai and unique specials
3. Endless refills of Thai Iced Coffee and Tea (normally about $3 a pop elsewhere)

2
★★★★☆

I've been going to Thai Derm since they opened.
(They used to be Siam) and have a great relationship with the owners so I can't comment on the service because they are super nice to me.

Thai Derm is a really fun place to bring a group of people to experience their traditional-style dining room (make sure nobody wears a skirt! the low-slung tables are a bit difficult to navigate- just throw your leg over and free-fall into your place) or a funky and unusual place for a date (one of which wore a skirt- no need to say more).

Without exception everyone I've introduced to the place has commented "That's good Pad Thai". I also like their stir-fried dishes (Cashew Crunch) and curries. green Curry Fried Rice is a real standout. They have an ever-changing 'specials' menu which never fails to feature dishes I've -never- seen elsewhere.

Here's the deal- Portland is crowded with Thai places- throw a rock and you'll hit one. Thai Derm (even with their unfortunate name that evokes dermatitis) is better than average- and stands out in it's-

1. Dining room- very elegant and unique.
2. Great Pad Thai and unique specials
3. Endless refills of Thai Iced Coffee and Tea (normally about $3 a pop elsewhere)

Pros: A+ dining room, great Pad Thai, free refils on Iced Coffee

.

Boy, this place is hard to rate. Personally, I will never return. Yet I cannot wholly condemn the place, as their noodles are choice. As other reviewers have noted, strive at all costs to avoid the "angry lady". She has ignored requests for help, added a larger tip after we have left the restaurant (someone did anyway - just love seeing that bank statement), and generally made us feel unwelcome. The service was so bad, the last time we ate there, that I simply decided never to return. Why should I? when better noodles can be had at Typhoon and better curry at Rama Thai? And better service pretty much ANYWHERE?

Sigh. It's a shame, as Thai Derm has a nice atmosphere and good food.

1
★★☆☆☆

Boy, this place is hard to rate. Personally, I will never return. Yet I cannot wholly condemn the place, as their noodles are choice. As other reviewers have noted, strive at all costs to avoid the "angry lady". She has ignored requests for help, added a larger tip after we have left the restaurant (someone did anyway - just love seeing that bank statement), and generally made us feel unwelcome. The service was so bad, the last time we ate there, that I simply decided never to return. Why should I? when better noodles can be had at Typhoon and better curry at Rama Thai? And better service pretty much ANYWHERE?

Sigh. It's a shame, as Thai Derm has a nice atmosphere and good food.

.

My girlfriend (who is Cambodian), my roommate (who is Thai), and I (totally white), we love this place. We have tried many of the other Thai restaurants around town and we all agree this is one of the best. We have never had a problem with the service while eating at the restaurant. The fact that they deliver is also great! Actually, I am writing this review because we called for delivery during the recent snow storm and they still delivered to our apartment complex which is pretty treacherous to drive on.

I recommend the Thai Derm Special Beef and my girlfriend likes the Yum Nuar.

2
★★★★★

My girlfriend (who is Cambodian), my roommate (who is Thai), and I (totally white), we love this place. We have tried many of the other Thai restaurants around town and we all agree this is one of the best. We have never had a problem with the service while eating at the restaurant. The fact that they deliver is also great! Actually, I am writing this review because we called for delivery during the recent snow storm and they still delivered to our apartment complex which is pretty treacherous to drive on.

I recommend the Thai Derm Special Beef and my girlfriend likes the Yum Nuar.

.

I have had food in this restaurant a few times and I agree with a few other reviewers that the manager was a snob and talked to almost everyone rudely (it never happened to me but has happened to others when I was there a few times). We suffered from shoddy service a few times and had decided never to go there again. But then, a friend invited us to have dinner there. The good news is that that when I went this time, the manager was nowhere in sight. It was our friend's sister's bday and she was also dining with us. The staff helped us present the cake to her (cake was bought outside). Also, the friend has a three year old son who does not like Thai food. They allowed us to feed home cooked food in the restaurant which I thought was very nice on their part. We had prompt refills and even prompter service (let me reiterate that I have experienced extremely shoddy service here in the past). It looks like they have learnt their lesson and I am going to give them another chance! Food has always been awesome and they have a good vegetarian menu.

2
★★★★★

I have had food in this restaurant a few times and I agree with a few other reviewers that the manager was a snob and talked to almost everyone rudely (it never happened to me but has happened to others when I was there a few times). We suffered from shoddy service a few times and had decided never to go there again. But then, a friend invited us to have dinner there. The good news is that that when I went this time, the manager was nowhere in sight. It was our friend's sister's bday and she was also dining with us. The staff helped us present the cake to her (cake was bought outside). Also, the friend has a three year old son who does not like Thai food. They allowed us to feed home cooked food in the restaurant which I thought was very nice on their part. We had prompt refills and even prompter service (let me reiterate that I have experienced extremely shoddy service here in the past). It looks like they have learnt their lesson and I am going to give them another chance! Food has always been awesome and they have a good vegetarian menu.

Pros: Great Food, Traditional seatings, Not crowded, Nice parking lot, Better Manager now

Cons: none this time

.

Food is great, fantastic even, probably one of the best thai restaurants I have ever been too, however I too was the victim of poor service the last two times I went there. The lunch hour was the worst. The waitress ignored me after I asked for a refill of thai iced tea. Finally the check came, still no refill so I asked if I could have it to go. She said no refills to go, even though the first time I had gone, they had offered a refill to-go. Then I wanted my card stamped after the check came. I waited for her to come back to stamp the card but finally I gave up. Thaiderm, please give your waitstaff a lesson on service. I can only handle bad service so many times, even if the food is great. Food is recommended just be wary of the waitstaff. Dinner service has been better.

2
★★★★☆

Food is great, fantastic even, probably one of the best thai restaurants I have ever been too, however I too was the victim of poor service the last two times I went there. The lunch hour was the worst. The waitress ignored me after I asked for a refill of thai iced tea. Finally the check came, still no refill so I asked if I could have it to go. She said no refills to go, even though the first time I had gone, they had offered a refill to-go. Then I wanted my card stamped after the check came. I waited for her to come back to stamp the card but finally I gave up. Thaiderm, please give your waitstaff a lesson on service. I can only handle bad service so many times, even if the food is great. Food is recommended just be wary of the waitstaff. Dinner service has been better.

.

the food is excellent but it is a tough decision for us to eat here because the new manager's (the angry women that the other writer wrote about) terrible attitude and service. she was very irritated with us because we had a two for one coupon that we wanted to use. we didn't notice that it said that it said we had to purchased 2 drink (my husband didn't want a drink). she said "no can't use it". i asked her if she could just charge us for another tea. she rolled her eyes and stomped off!!! she came back with the revised bill (less the $10 coupon) and threw it on our table and walked away. (she didn't even clear our table of the dirty dishes) we paid and left. we haven't been back since (this happened about 4 months ago) not sure if she was the manager at this time, but i know it is the same lady. we now go to typhoon, thai elephant or orchid. we still like the food better at derm, but just don't want to deal with the bad help.
if you do go here, try not to get "the angry lady"

1
★★★☆☆

the food is excellent but it is a tough decision for us to eat here because the new manager's (the angry women that the other writer wrote about) terrible attitude and service. she was very irritated with us because we had a two for one coupon that we wanted to use. we didn't notice that it said that it said we had to purchased 2 drink (my husband didn't want a drink). she said "no can't use it". i asked her if she could just charge us for another tea. she rolled her eyes and stomped off!!! she came back with the revised bill (less the $10 coupon) and threw it on our table and walked away. (she didn't even clear our table of the dirty dishes) we paid and left. we haven't been back since (this happened about 4 months ago) not sure if she was the manager at this time, but i know it is the same lady. we now go to typhoon, thai elephant or orchid. we still like the food better at derm, but just don't want to deal with the bad help.
if you do go here, try not to get "the angry lady"

Pros: excellent food, however the portions keep getting smaller

Cons: the angry manager's service and attitude

.

I had the best service last night! I went out to dinner with my sister and we were blown away by the experience at Thai Derm. To be honest, we're just not used to such genuine kindness. Our server was very helpful when answering our questions about the menu. We ordered a dish requesting no peanuts. The dish came out with a different server and it had peanuts on it. My sister noticed right away but before I even noticed our server ran over exclaiming she had written no peanuts. I'm used to a lot of places giving an excuse or apologizing but not really taking action. For example, other places might take the peanuts off the top for us to correct it. Before I could politely say oh it's ok (even though it wasn't), she picked up the dish and said that a new one would be made for us! I was shocked really. My favorite part about this place is their thai iced tea and the fact that it comes with free refills! unheard of! Actually earlier that day, my sister and I went to happy hour at geen papaya- terrible experience with their thai iced tea being $3.50! Thai Derm's price was better as well as the taste! Anyway, I highly recommend Thai Derm based on that experience. Oh! One more thing, the seating was very cool... sitting on cushions and your feet hang below- you have to check it out to see what I mean!

2
★★★★★

I had the best service last night! I went out to dinner with my sister and we were blown away by the experience at Thai Derm. To be honest, we're just not used to such genuine kindness. Our server was very helpful when answering our questions about the menu. We ordered a dish requesting no peanuts. The dish came out with a different server and it had peanuts on it. My sister noticed right away but before I even noticed our server ran over exclaiming she had written no peanuts. I'm used to a lot of places giving an excuse or apologizing but not really taking action. For example, other places might take the peanuts off the top for us to correct it. Before I could politely say oh it's ok (even though it wasn't), she picked up the dish and said that a new one would be made for us! I was shocked really. My favorite part about this place is their thai iced tea and the fact that it comes with free refills! unheard of! Actually earlier that day, my sister and I went to happy hour at geen papaya- terrible experience with their thai iced tea being $3.50! Thai Derm's price was better as well as the taste! Anyway, I highly recommend Thai Derm based on that experience. Oh! One more thing, the seating was very cool... sitting on cushions and your feet hang below- you have to check it out to see what I mean!

Pros: free refills on thai iced tea! Awesome service! easy parking!

Cons: none!

.

I have tried Pad Thai dishes at restaurants such as Thai Orchid, Thai Angel, and Mekela's in Eugene, but I was unable to find a tastier Pad Thai dish than the ones that they serve at Thai Derm. I've been eating at Thai Derm for a little over a year and I love the food. The Pad Thai dish is pretty addicting and you always want to come back for some more. The dish really brings your taste buds to life.

Along with the food, the atmosphere is awesome since it really gives the customers an authentic feel of a Thai restaurant. In one area of the restaurant, customers can sit in a traditional Thai dining room. It's great for 2 guests as well as a group.

The food is good, but I recently experienced a problem with the new lady manager. I decided to go there with 10 classmates one night. We were apparently taking some time to order and the lady became quickly frustrated with us. She bitched at us to hurry up and order, and she snatched the menus out of our hands. Personally, I was appalled by her behavior towards our group. After we were finished with our meals, we asked for individual bills. One of the waiters replied that she will get that taken care of. But the lady manager came back and said she couldn't give us individual bills. So our group went up to the cashier to compile our cash together and we took a long time since we didn't have the individual bills that we were promised to receive. The lady manager angrily said something to her friend in Thai about our group and yelled at us for taking too long. Since we were unable to leave a large tip, she yelled at us even more and told us that we should leave a big tip even if we were at McDonalds. Our group just walked out when she was talking because she was very rude. On the other hand, the previous man who managed the store was very kind and prompt with the service; unfortunately, he left and passed on the management to an angry lady.

If it wasn't for the current manager, I would've rated Thai Derm a 5.

1
★★★☆☆

I have tried Pad Thai dishes at restaurants such as Thai Orchid, Thai Angel, and Mekela's in Eugene, but I was unable to find a tastier Pad Thai dish than the ones that they serve at Thai Derm. I've been eating at Thai Derm for a little over a year and I love the food. The Pad Thai dish is pretty addicting and you always want to come back for some more. The dish really brings your taste buds to life.

Along with the food, the atmosphere is awesome since it really gives the customers an authentic feel of a Thai restaurant. In one area of the restaurant, customers can sit in a traditional Thai dining room. It's great for 2 guests as well as a group.

The food is good, but I recently experienced a problem with the new lady manager. I decided to go there with 10 classmates one night. We were apparently taking some time to order and the lady became quickly frustrated with us. She bitched at us to hurry up and order, and she snatched the menus out of our hands. Personally, I was appalled by her behavior towards our group. After we were finished with our meals, we asked for individual bills. One of the waiters replied that she will get that taken care of. But the lady manager came back and said she couldn't give us individual bills. So our group went up to the cashier to compile our cash together and we took a long time since we didn't have the individual bills that we were promised to receive. The lady manager angrily said something to her friend in Thai about our group and yelled at us for taking too long. Since we were unable to leave a large tip, she yelled at us even more and told us that we should leave a big tip even if we were at McDonalds. Our group just walked out when she was talking because she was very rude. On the other hand, the previous man who managed the store was very kind and prompt with the service; unfortunately, he left and passed on the management to an angry lady.

If it wasn't for the current manager, I would've rated Thai Derm a 5.

Pros: Pad Thai, spacious parking.

Cons: The manager.

.

Overall our dining experience was enjoyable. However, during the early dinner hour of 4:00, there were only two parties in the restaurant and they sat us right next to each other.... awkward. It was very clean and the service was prompt. Pad Thai was good... the terriyaki Chicken was Fantastic!!

Note: The seating in the main dinning area is unique, but for those with a strong back and good posture. If you are looking for a chair with a back to lean on, request to sit up front near the fish tank.

Enjoy!! P.s. we snuck into Standard TV and Appliance for free Otis Spunkenmeyer cookies afterward.... YUM :)

2
★★★★☆

Overall our dining experience was enjoyable. However, during the early dinner hour of 4:00, there were only two parties in the restaurant and they sat us right next to each other.... awkward. It was very clean and the service was prompt. Pad Thai was good... the terriyaki Chicken was Fantastic!!

Note: The seating in the main dinning area is unique, but for those with a strong back and good posture. If you are looking for a chair with a back to lean on, request to sit up front near the fish tank.

Enjoy!! P.s. we snuck into Standard TV and Appliance for free Otis Spunkenmeyer cookies afterward.... YUM :)

Pros: Terriyaki Chicken, unique table set up, clean and pleasant

Cons: If you have a bad back ask for the tables in the front with actual chairs... Make sure you count your change, they are not mathematicians!!!!!

.

As I'm Thai and a home made cook . I have something to say about Thaiderm...I have been the regular customer from the old owner until it took over. It even turned out better than before.Thaiderm is a fine...fine..., romantic and unique restaurant. The food is consistently interesting and tasty.The presentation of some dishes are so beautiful n' creative. It's one of the best for overall (price n' what you get) in Portland to me. Highly recommend !!

2
★★★★★

As I'm Thai and a home made cook . I have something to say about Thaiderm...I have been the regular customer from the old owner until it took over. It even turned out better than before.Thaiderm is a fine...fine..., romantic and unique restaurant. The food is consistently interesting and tasty.The presentation of some dishes are so beautiful n' creative. It's one of the best for overall (price n' what you get) in Portland to me. Highly recommend !!

.

Don't let the fact that this little gem is located in the suburbs. The staff is very helpful and knowleable of all the dishes they serve and they were even able to make wine suggestions. The tables are very different, like sitting on your own private little cube island. Very romantic, outstanding Thai food, great service, cute restaurant layout.
Again, outstanding flavors. Go check it out!

2
★★★★★

Don't let the fact that this little gem is located in the suburbs. The staff is very helpful and knowleable of all the dishes they serve and they were even able to make wine suggestions. The tables are very different, like sitting on your own private little cube island. Very romantic, outstanding Thai food, great service, cute restaurant layout.
Again, outstanding flavors. Go check it out!

Pros: flavors, romatic, different, service

Cons: none

.

A friend recommended this restaurant and it is hands down the best place to get Thai in Portland Metro. The pad thai is the best I've ever had and the masaman curry is phenomenal. The staff is very friendly, decorating and seating are unique. Of crouse , food are the best. We love every thing there. Big parking lot too. HGHLY RECOMMENDED!

2
★★★★★

A friend recommended this restaurant and it is hands down the best place to get Thai in Portland Metro. The pad thai is the best I've ever had and the masaman curry is phenomenal. The staff is very friendly, decorating and seating are unique. Of crouse , food are the best. We love every thing there. Big parking lot too. HGHLY RECOMMENDED!

.

I love this place. The decorations and furniture are fabulous- I always feel like I've left suburban America and entered Asia when I come here. And the food is AWESOME. I've never had a bad dish. I love Thai food and so I'm thrilled to have found one that consistently delivers. I've rarely seen it crowded at night; I can only guess that it's because it's in a strange location and not well-signed.

2
★★★★★

I love this place. The decorations and furniture are fabulous- I always feel like I've left suburban America and entered Asia when I come here. And the food is AWESOME. I've never had a bad dish. I love Thai food and so I'm thrilled to have found one that consistently delivers. I've rarely seen it crowded at night; I can only guess that it's because it's in a strange location and not well-signed.

Pros: Food, service, value, ambience

Cons: Building's exterior, location

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Thai Bloom!, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review