Abt, Deborah, Dvm - East Suburban Animal Hospital

★★★☆☆

About Abt, Deborah, Dvm - East Suburban Animal Hospital

Details
Hours
Mon 7:00-20:30, Tue 7:00-20:30, Wed 7:00-20:30, Thu 7:00-20:30, Fri 7:00-19:30, Sat 9:00-15:30, Sun closed

Professional Services

Professional Services
More choices in Export:
Resultset_next

Allergan Sales

201 Penn Center Blvd Pittsburgh, PA

Resultset_next

Shop 'n Save

12120 State Route 30 Irwin, IA

2.8889 9
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Abt, Deborah, Dvm - East Suburban Animal Hospital was?
Write a Review
.

We were client of 15 years at this place. Have spent thousands of dollars here which we happily do for our pets. Have had many bumps on the way. We have pets that are on meds and we have to pick them up sometimes weekly. Each time, it is a 30-40 min wait as they have to have the vet "approve" the med. The vet knows the med is ongoing, but we waited each time. . After a year of doing so, when I asked if we can speed up the process, (as my time matters as well)I was met with attitude. I offered several options with which I was met with even more. I asked to have my records moved to another vet, and the woman kept coming back to me saying she was sorry she could not make me happy in a very frantic, angry, strange way. How does a business go from a 15 year client to "i cannot make you happy?" At the end of the conversation, I asked to pay for the one medication that was ready, and she kept interjecting comments that were rude and not customer friendly. I had my records moved to another vet. Who, had the same meds, cheaper, and available without a 45 min wait. Got them in 5 min.:) BTW: this is the vet that last year, told me my cat had two months to live. That was July. Here is is. Did I really need those meds that I have been standing in line for? Plus the place has an unclean smell to it.

1
★☆☆☆☆

We were client of 15 years at this place. Have spent thousands of dollars here which we happily do for our pets. Have had many bumps on the way. We have pets that are on meds and we have to pick them up sometimes weekly. Each time, it is a 30-40 min wait as they have to have the vet "approve" the med. The vet knows the med is ongoing, but we waited each time. . After a year of doing so, when I asked if we can speed up the process, (as my time matters as well)I was met with attitude. I offered several options with which I was met with even more. I asked to have my records moved to another vet, and the woman kept coming back to me saying she was sorry she could not make me happy in a very frantic, angry, strange way. How does a business go from a 15 year client to "i cannot make you happy?" At the end of the conversation, I asked to pay for the one medication that was ready, and she kept interjecting comments that were rude and not customer friendly. I had my records moved to another vet. Who, had the same meds, cheaper, and available without a 45 min wait. Got them in 5 min.:) BTW: this is the vet that last year, told me my cat had two months to live. That was July. Here is is. Did I really need those meds that I have been standing in line for? Plus the place has an unclean smell to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I will NEVER step foot in this establishment again. I will forewarn you that this will be a long review.

I recently moved here from Orlando, Florida. While being there, I owned and operated a small bully breed rescue that was focused mainly on sick, injured, or death row dogs. One if the illnesses we encountered multiple times was Canine Parvovirus, a horrible and disgusting virus.
All of the treaments were done at my home, with the permission and supplies provided by our vet.

At one point, we had puppy that was on her last breath as we carried her into our vets office. We were immediately put into a sterile room where a Parvo SNAP test was done. It confirmed our worst nightmare was true. Our vet recommended that we hospitalize her but even then he said that she probably wouldnt make it. All I could think about was that we hadn't lost one yet and she wasnt going to be the first!

Against our Vets' recommendation, we got our supplies and took her home to start treatment. Every hour she got Sub-cue fluids, medications upon medications, and I was constantly disinfecting her isolation area. She is still alive today because of determination and because I absolutely refuse to let a dog die as long as I am around.

Now that you are aware of some back story, this is why I am writing this review....

Today, we got two more pups in from the same litter. Last night, we confirmed Parvo with one pup but we are still unsure of her sister.

My wife, who has gone to East Suburban Animal Hospital in the past, recommended that we take them there for tests and to get what supplies are needed to treat them.

When I originally spoke to them on the phone, they didn't seem to know much about what I was talking about when it came to Parvo treatment (Aren't they supposed to be the vet??). My mother is the one who took them to the vet to be seen, where they treated her like a leper. Everyone scurried to the back like a bunch of roaches with a flashlight on them once Parvo was mentioned.

Not only did they refuse treatment of the pup with Parvo, but they wouldnt even test the other pup for it, which takes about 5 minutes once the test is room temperature.

At this point, I was livid. Not only was my mother treated with utter disrespect at an extreme level, but they absolutely refused to do anything for the puppies.

My wife called Grace Animal Hospital and told them about our situation, the woman on the phone was in shock about the actions of East Suburban Animal Hospital just like the rest of us. She told us to get the puppies there IMMEDIATELY to be seen. After driving an hour to ESAH, the puppies were taken to Grace Animal Hospital where they are being seen right now.

I understand that you need appointments for visits, but I have NEVER been turned away from ANY vet in any state that I have lived in when it was a life or death situation. These "Veterinarians", "Vet Techs", and "Receptionists" if you could even call them that, are extremely cold, unprofessional, and ignorant. I can honestly say that I will NEVER return to this establishment for any reason and I wish all the luck in the world to the animals that are taken there. If they treat people like that, imagine how your animals are being treated if they are left to stay there.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I will NEVER step foot in this establishment again. I will forewarn you that this will be a long review.

I recently moved here from Orlando, Florida. While being there, I owned and operated a small bully breed rescue that was focused mainly on sick, injured, or death row dogs. One if the illnesses we encountered multiple times was Canine Parvovirus, a horrible and disgusting virus.
All of the treaments were done at my home, with the permission and supplies provided by our vet.

At one point, we had puppy that was on her last breath as we carried her into our vets office. We were immediately put into a sterile room where a Parvo SNAP test was done. It confirmed our worst nightmare was true. Our vet recommended that we hospitalize her but even then he said that she probably wouldnt make it. All I could think about was that we hadn't lost one yet and she wasnt going to be the first!

Against our Vets' recommendation, we got our supplies and took her home to start treatment. Every hour she got Sub-cue fluids, medications upon medications, and I was constantly disinfecting her isolation area. She is still alive today because of determination and because I absolutely refuse to let a dog die as long as I am around.

Now that you are aware of some back story, this is why I am writing this review....

Today, we got two more pups in from the same litter. Last night, we confirmed Parvo with one pup but we are still unsure of her sister.

My wife, who has gone to East Suburban Animal Hospital in the past, recommended that we take them there for tests and to get what supplies are needed to treat them.

When I originally spoke to them on the phone, they didn't seem to know much about what I was talking about when it came to Parvo treatment (Aren't they supposed to be the vet??). My mother is the one who took them to the vet to be seen, where they treated her like a leper. Everyone scurried to the back like a bunch of roaches with a flashlight on them once Parvo was mentioned.

Not only did they refuse treatment of the pup with Parvo, but they wouldnt even test the other pup for it, which takes about 5 minutes once the test is room temperature.

At this point, I was livid. Not only was my mother treated with utter disrespect at an extreme level, but they absolutely refused to do anything for the puppies.

My wife called Grace Animal Hospital and told them about our situation, the woman on the phone was in shock about the actions of East Suburban Animal Hospital just like the rest of us. She told us to get the puppies there IMMEDIATELY to be seen. After driving an hour to ESAH, the puppies were taken to Grace Animal Hospital where they are being seen right now.

I understand that you need appointments for visits, but I have NEVER been turned away from ANY vet in any state that I have lived in when it was a life or death situation. These "Veterinarians", "Vet Techs", and "Receptionists" if you could even call them that, are extremely cold, unprofessional, and ignorant. I can honestly say that I will NEVER return to this establishment for any reason and I wish all the luck in the world to the animals that are taken there. If they treat people like that, imagine how your animals are being treated if they are left to stay there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

I am the office manager of this business, and this is not at all an accurate portrayal of what actually happened. This person called, did not ask for an appointment, they wanted us to give them medications to treat their pets which we had never seen before. We explained that we cannot legally dispense medications without first examining and diagnosing an illness. One of our Technicians explained that treatments vary depending on the severity of the illness, and the Doctor would explain a treatment plan after examination. The mother showed up without ever telling us she was on her way or to schedule an appointment. When she arrived the puppies were in the car, she demanded medications again, and wanted to purchase a parvo test. We again explained, that we would have to examine the puppies before dispensing meds or treatments. We offered an appointment time or reccomended she go to an emergency hospital if she felt they needed to be seen right away. The lady scheduled an appointment and left, we called to offer an earlier appointment after someone called and cancelled their appointment. The lady said she would have to call us back, then her daughter called and was extremly abusive to our staff. I, then called the lady and she said she did not need the appointment time. These people have accused us of not offering treatment to their sick pets, when actually, they in fact refused treatment and only wanted medications. We have a high standard of care here, and will not provide medications illegally to patients who we have never examined. We are happy that their puppies did receive care elsewhere and hope that they are recovering. It is unfortunate that they were disappointed with our customer service, but I believe that all involved with this situation tried their best to educate them on the proper care and treatment needed.
.

I have been searching for the right vet for my four Siberian Huskies for quite awhile. I recently took one of my dogs there for an evaluation of lameness in one of his legs. It was determined that he had an ACL problem which required surgery, which wasn't a big surprise since he had the same problem on the other leg a year ago. At that appointment, after the surgery and at the follow up appointment, I found the staff to be very friendly, professional and highly competent. They really went above and beyond treating my dog like he was special. My dog responded better to this surgery than he did to the prior one, performed by a specialist. This surgery was less than half the cost of his first surgery. I could not be more impressed. This is the veterinary facility I have been looking for. The paperwork they provided explaining the diagnosis and offering opinions on a variety of treatments was invaluable. It's a bit farther than I had hoped to go, but well worth it. Their prices are very reasonable. Tho lone criticism is that thye are one of very few vets who do not take credit cards. It is a small inconvenience, which is far outweighed the overwhelming positive aspects of this practice.

5
★★★★★

I have been searching for the right vet for my four Siberian Huskies for quite awhile. I recently took one of my dogs there for an evaluation of lameness in one of his legs. It was determined that he had an ACL problem which required surgery, which wasn't a big surprise since he had the same problem on the other leg a year ago. At that appointment, after the surgery and at the follow up appointment, I found the staff to be very friendly, professional and highly competent. They really went above and beyond treating my dog like he was special. My dog responded better to this surgery than he did to the prior one, performed by a specialist. This surgery was less than half the cost of his first surgery. I could not be more impressed. This is the veterinary facility I have been looking for. The paperwork they provided explaining the diagnosis and offering opinions on a variety of treatments was invaluable. It's a bit farther than I had hoped to go, but well worth it. Their prices are very reasonable. Tho lone criticism is that thye are one of very few vets who do not take credit cards. It is a small inconvenience, which is far outweighed the overwhelming positive aspects of this practice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

As a client of this hospital for nearly 15 years I have seen both poor care and exceptional care. Dr. Caslow is a very caring and talented vet. I have had dogs that required surgery that no one else in our area will do. I do have issues with the length of time is takes to go in for routine care, as they are chronically running late.
There are clearly different levels of quality to the care depending on which vet you see. I have tried other vet offices and always return to this practice in the end. The wealth of knowledge and experience that Dr. Caslow brings makes all the other issues a non-factor. When he retires, I will truly have a problem finding a replacement.

4
★★★★☆

As a client of this hospital for nearly 15 years I have seen both poor care and exceptional care. Dr. Caslow is a very caring and talented vet. I have had dogs that required surgery that no one else in our area will do. I do have issues with the length of time is takes to go in for routine care, as they are chronically running late.
There are clearly different levels of quality to the care depending on which vet you see. I have tried other vet offices and always return to this practice in the end. The wealth of knowledge and experience that Dr. Caslow brings makes all the other issues a non-factor. When he retires, I will truly have a problem finding a replacement.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I presented a 10 month old golden retriever to ESAH with abnormal gate, ataxia and nystagmus. I was told to wait my turn as they have sched. patients!!! Finally 30 minutes later my puppy was evaluated and the conclusion was HIP X-RAYS!(???) Don't wates your time with them as a VET. or any other form of emergency care! Valuable time was wasted and they were totally negligent in their findings. I don't not recommend this VET as a caring animal hospital!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I presented a 10 month old golden retriever to ESAH with abnormal gate, ataxia and nystagmus. I was told to wait my turn as they have sched. patients!!! Finally 30 minutes later my puppy was evaluated and the conclusion was HIP X-RAYS!(???) Don't wates your time with them as a VET. or any other form of emergency care! Valuable time was wasted and they were totally negligent in their findings. I don't not recommend this VET as a caring animal hospital!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I read the earlier review and i can't help but wander how much of that was just hard feelings with an ailing pet. I recently took my pet there who was presumed to have a terminal illness. This illness even at first glance to the Doctors there seemed terminal. All the while they kept me comfortable and were very kind. Upon further investigation the illness was found to be treatable. Maybe from being on one side of the fence and then the other i could see how nice, and thoughtful they really are. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone with a pet that they love and cherish. Thank you to all the staff at East Suburban Animal Hospital for really taking the time to make me feel good, even before i got the good news.

5
★★★★★

I read the earlier review and i can't help but wander how much of that was just hard feelings with an ailing pet. I recently took my pet there who was presumed to have a terminal illness. This illness even at first glance to the Doctors there seemed terminal. All the while they kept me comfortable and were very kind. Upon further investigation the illness was found to be treatable. Maybe from being on one side of the fence and then the other i could see how nice, and thoughtful they really are. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone with a pet that they love and cherish. Thank you to all the staff at East Suburban Animal Hospital for really taking the time to make me feel good, even before i got the good news.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

My 2 dogs were patients at this veterinary hospital for 6 years.

My dog who is sick with IBD was denied a medication refill because we WERE A FEW DAYS BEYOND THE YEAR anniversary of her last apt. I made an apt immediately when they told me this and they still let her get sick by withholding a med she needs. They refused to refill this script which is sent by mail until we actually saw the doctor.

I am always in there buying meds and prescription food and just didn't realize we were beyond a deadline.

I made the suggestion that in the future they send reminders instead of abruptly shutting off a pet's meds.

I changed vets due to this which is difficult to do with a sick pet on so many medications.

This was a terrible experience and very shocking to be treated like that after all the years we went there.

1
★☆☆☆☆

My 2 dogs were patients at this veterinary hospital for 6 years.

My dog who is sick with IBD was denied a medication refill because we WERE A FEW DAYS BEYOND THE YEAR anniversary of her last apt. I made an apt immediately when they told me this and they still let her get sick by withholding a med she needs. They refused to refill this script which is sent by mail until we actually saw the doctor.

I am always in there buying meds and prescription food and just didn't realize we were beyond a deadline.

I made the suggestion that in the future they send reminders instead of abruptly shutting off a pet's meds.

I changed vets due to this which is difficult to do with a sick pet on so many medications.

This was a terrible experience and very shocking to be treated like that after all the years we went there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

To my knowledge, there could not possibly be a more caring, educated staff of vets and assistants anywhere! Excellant care, timely appts., and friendly staff! AAA+++ all the way around.
Great hours, reasonable costs.

5
★★★★★

To my knowledge, there could not possibly be a more caring, educated staff of vets and assistants anywhere! Excellant care, timely appts., and friendly staff! AAA+++ all the way around.
Great hours, reasonable costs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Our pet received good care at this facility. The staff wasn't very personable, and didn't seem very interested in the feelings of our family during a stressful time. This facility does have longer hours, and emergency hours while other facilities do not. The treatment was good enough that we'd use them again, but there are other facilities in the area with more caring staff.

3
★★★☆☆

Our pet received good care at this facility. The staff wasn't very personable, and didn't seem very interested in the feelings of our family during a stressful time. This facility does have longer hours, and emergency hours while other facilities do not. The treatment was good enough that we'd use them again, but there are other facilities in the area with more caring staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Abt, Deborah, Dvm - East Suburban Animal Hospital, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review