Holiday House Pet Resort & Training Center

★★★☆☆
  • 380 N Shady Retreat Rd

    Doylestown, PA 18901

    Map & Directions
  • 215-345-6960

About Holiday House Pet Resort & Training Center

Categories
  • Pet Boarders and Sitters
  • Kennels
  • Dog Trainers
  • Pet Sitting
  • Pet Grooming
Hours
M-F 8am-6pm, Sa 8am-4pm, Su 10am-4pm

Pets & Animals

Pets & Animals
More choices in Doylestown:
Resultset_next

Unleashed By Petco

1210 Bethlehem Pike B-6 North Wales, PA

3.2667 15
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Holiday House Pet Resort & Training Center was?
Write a Review
.

When I first called, there was a young man that answered and answered ALL of my questions. I am older and as you can imagine like to talk and have a lot of questions. I know I can be a pain sometimes, but he took his time and reassured me that Chase would be OK!

Since my husband died last year my puppy Chase is all I have and I wanted to make sure he would be safe. I took all the precautions and took atour as well before leaving him. The campus is beautiful and the people are great! They have a vet hospital there too!

When I got back from Ireland to pick Chase up, he was so happy... tail wagging and all. He had play time with the other dogs, walks, storybook reading times, and bedtime tuck-ins! We have since been going back a few days for their Daycare as well and we are very happy!!!

5
★★★★★

When I first called, there was a young man that answered and answered ALL of my questions. I am older and as you can imagine like to talk and have a lot of questions. I know I can be a pain sometimes, but he took his time and reassured me that Chase would be OK!

Since my husband died last year my puppy Chase is all I have and I wanted to make sure he would be safe. I took all the precautions and took atour as well before leaving him. The campus is beautiful and the people are great! They have a vet hospital there too!

When I got back from Ireland to pick Chase up, he was so happy... tail wagging and all. He had play time with the other dogs, walks, storybook reading times, and bedtime tuck-ins! We have since been going back a few days for their Daycare as well and we are very happy!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I think the location of this business is beautiful, however; I would not recommend this agency. I took my dogs to be boarded and filled out the information requested for my dogs' stay. On the admission forms they asked for the owner to list a credit card in case of an ER. I reluctantly put down my number after they assured me I would be called BEFORE using this card. I went from their facility straight to the airport and then was aboard a flight for 6 hours. Apparrently, there was some mix up btw my vet and their office. To make a long story short, they charged my credit card without my permission. I found this out when I couldn't check into my hotel or rent a car with my credit card. I called and asked them if they could reverse the charges of my credit card and use my debit card. They said no. They were completely unwilling to work with me. It was not like they were not going to get paid, I still needed to pick my dogs up. Needless to say my vacation was RUINED, I was supposed to fly into another city, but I couldn't bc my credit card was maxed therefore I couldn't rent a car and they didn't accept credit cards!

They were absolutely horrible with communicating with one another and with me. They were unecessarily greedy and DID NOT treat their paying customer well. I WILL NOT go back and I will not refer or recommend this place! I think people can find a better kennel!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I think the location of this business is beautiful, however; I would not recommend this agency. I took my dogs to be boarded and filled out the information requested for my dogs' stay. On the admission forms they asked for the owner to list a credit card in case of an ER. I reluctantly put down my number after they assured me I would be called BEFORE using this card. I went from their facility straight to the airport and then was aboard a flight for 6 hours. Apparrently, there was some mix up btw my vet and their office. To make a long story short, they charged my credit card without my permission. I found this out when I couldn't check into my hotel or rent a car with my credit card. I called and asked them if they could reverse the charges of my credit card and use my debit card. They said no. They were completely unwilling to work with me. It was not like they were not going to get paid, I still needed to pick my dogs up. Needless to say my vacation was RUINED, I was supposed to fly into another city, but I couldn't bc my credit card was maxed therefore I couldn't rent a car and they didn't accept credit cards!

They were absolutely horrible with communicating with one another and with me. They were unecessarily greedy and DID NOT treat their paying customer well. I WILL NOT go back and I will not refer or recommend this place! I think people can find a better kennel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have been a Holiday House customer for a few years now. I recently picked up my dog from her 3 day stay. She always acts a little distant after being in the kennel, so I didn't think too much of it until I found 2 scabbed over marks on her leg, and a larger round one on her neck. No one mentioned anything when I picked her up so I called. I was told there was nothing in her file, but that they would check and call back. They never called back............
I waited 2 days to give them the benefit of the doubt. No call, so I called back. I was then told that they had 64 dogs checking out that day, so they'd have to get back to me the next day. Clearly they board more dogs than they can handle and don't take enough time to notice a dog being returned with mysterious scabbed over wounds.
I will not be giving Holiday House my business and will not be referring them to any of my dog-owner friends. If you want your dog to be more than just a number I would recommend finding another place to board.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have been a Holiday House customer for a few years now. I recently picked up my dog from her 3 day stay. She always acts a little distant after being in the kennel, so I didn't think too much of it until I found 2 scabbed over marks on her leg, and a larger round one on her neck. No one mentioned anything when I picked her up so I called. I was told there was nothing in her file, but that they would check and call back. They never called back............
I waited 2 days to give them the benefit of the doubt. No call, so I called back. I was then told that they had 64 dogs checking out that day, so they'd have to get back to me the next day. Clearly they board more dogs than they can handle and don't take enough time to notice a dog being returned with mysterious scabbed over wounds.
I will not be giving Holiday House my business and will not be referring them to any of my dog-owner friends. If you want your dog to be more than just a number I would recommend finding another place to board.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Dear Jessica, We are so sorry you had a negative expereince. Our manager had called and confirmed that you had an appointment to have your dog seen by a veterinarian, and then called and found out that the scabs were identified as insect bites. Clearly this was our mistake in thinking the problem was resolved, and we would love to earn your business back. We love the pets we care for and their health and welfare is our ultimate concern. We would appreciate hearing from you to resolve this concern. Sincerely, Laura Weis, DVM owner
.

I boarded my cat there for about a month while i was in the middle of a move, so she would have safe consistent housing. I regularly visited and she was fairly well cared for, although her litter box was not cleaned as often as it should have been, i was not alerted when she needed litter and her nails were never cut, but aside from that she seemed fine and to enjoy they toys and caretakers.

When i went to pick her up her face was covered in blood, fur was missing, there was a large open wound and so much swelling it actually tore my cats lip. I had not be there for several days to check on her due to my work schedule and i was not notified of what happened. my cat was never taken to the onsite vet, and it was never documented what happened. she must have screamed in agonizing pain for hours and according to the manager, the my cat only liked her rear end scratched so they never saw her face. This is animal abuse.

When i finally found out what happened, apparently a cord that had already been bit was taped up, and they left my cat unsupervised to play for hours. Now, it was a nice thing they were trying to do but giving my cat extra play time and space, but it resulted in ELECTROCUTION.

She will never be the same, her behavior has changed drastically, she lost a fair amount of weight from not being able to eat, is in huge amounts of pain still, and will have scarring and other permanent damage.

All because the care staff never too her to the onsite vet, when they had my credit card number. And now after promising to pay my vet bills, i haven't been spoken to, seen anything paid, or had any part of my stay refunded for the UNSAFE Facility, ABUSE, or NEGLECT, they put my two year old cat through who now has to spend the rest of her life crippled.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I boarded my cat there for about a month while i was in the middle of a move, so she would have safe consistent housing. I regularly visited and she was fairly well cared for, although her litter box was not cleaned as often as it should have been, i was not alerted when she needed litter and her nails were never cut, but aside from that she seemed fine and to enjoy they toys and caretakers.

When i went to pick her up her face was covered in blood, fur was missing, there was a large open wound and so much swelling it actually tore my cats lip. I had not be there for several days to check on her due to my work schedule and i was not notified of what happened. my cat was never taken to the onsite vet, and it was never documented what happened. she must have screamed in agonizing pain for hours and according to the manager, the my cat only liked her rear end scratched so they never saw her face. This is animal abuse.

When i finally found out what happened, apparently a cord that had already been bit was taped up, and they left my cat unsupervised to play for hours. Now, it was a nice thing they were trying to do but giving my cat extra play time and space, but it resulted in ELECTROCUTION.

She will never be the same, her behavior has changed drastically, she lost a fair amount of weight from not being able to eat, is in huge amounts of pain still, and will have scarring and other permanent damage.

All because the care staff never too her to the onsite vet, when they had my credit card number. And now after promising to pay my vet bills, i haven't been spoken to, seen anything paid, or had any part of my stay refunded for the UNSAFE Facility, ABUSE, or NEGLECT, they put my two year old cat through who now has to spend the rest of her life crippled.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Hello Camille, Please call us as this situation was resloved and the review was removed from other sites. This review is medically and factually completely inaccurate and other sites have taken it off after we filed a complaint. Ms. Camille A's cat suffered from a pre-existing condition called feline eosinophilic granuloma complex. This immune-mediated disease flares up periodically and can cause, among other problems, ulcers in the mouth and on the sides of the mouth. Holiday House has in place a health warranty program called the Pet Protection Plan which covers unexpected medical problems that occasionally arise during a pet's stay. Despite repeated requests for medical bills for reimbursement, Ms A. never sent us any information, nor supplied us with the name of the vet hospital her pet went to. Although the Pet Protection Plan does not cover pre-existing medical conditions, in an attempt to help Ms. A. who was a college student, Holiday House reimbursed Ms. A. for the full amount possible under the Pet Protection Plan. Ms. A's kitty was in good health and eating and happy upon departure from Holiday House.
.

My kid, Jake the Bulldog, has been going to Holiday House for both their Day Care and Kennel facilities for past four years. At times he'll spend two weeks there at a shot due to our travel plans. Right now, he is signed up for three stays over the next several months. As most people know Bulldogs are very high maintenance, and being he is my "only" child incredibly needy as well! I am thrilled to have found a Pet Resort that is so attentive to his needs and willing to take what ever extra steps are needed to make his stay and my vacation trouble free. At no time am I ever pressured to request extra services:but, always have the flexibililty to add an extra a la carte service at last minute. The staff is professional & friendly and never makes me feel silly for my tel check ins or last minute requests. I know he is happy & well taken care of when upon each visit he dives over my lap to get out of the car to get to their front door! One highly satisfied client!!!

5
★★★★★

My kid, Jake the Bulldog, has been going to Holiday House for both their Day Care and Kennel facilities for past four years. At times he'll spend two weeks there at a shot due to our travel plans. Right now, he is signed up for three stays over the next several months. As most people know Bulldogs are very high maintenance, and being he is my "only" child incredibly needy as well! I am thrilled to have found a Pet Resort that is so attentive to his needs and willing to take what ever extra steps are needed to make his stay and my vacation trouble free. At no time am I ever pressured to request extra services:but, always have the flexibililty to add an extra a la carte service at last minute. The staff is professional & friendly and never makes me feel silly for my tel check ins or last minute requests. I know he is happy & well taken care of when upon each visit he dives over my lap to get out of the car to get to their front door! One highly satisfied client!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I have been using Holiday House to board my pets for over 10 years. The staff is so wonderful, very kind, and extremely patient.

I just got another puppy who is 2 months old and i was a little nervous about leaving her. I forgot my toys for her, but they gave her some to play with. I knew she would have fun and i wouldn't have to worry about her.

I most definitely reccomend using Holiday House if you want your dog or cat to be in a good hands. They really go the extra mile with taking care of our babies!

2
★★★★★

I have been using Holiday House to board my pets for over 10 years. The staff is so wonderful, very kind, and extremely patient.

I just got another puppy who is 2 months old and i was a little nervous about leaving her. I forgot my toys for her, but they gave her some to play with. I knew she would have fun and i wouldn't have to worry about her.

I most definitely reccomend using Holiday House if you want your dog or cat to be in a good hands. They really go the extra mile with taking care of our babies!

Pros: clean facility, caring staff,

.

As a previous kennel supervisor of this facility, I can vouch for Holiday House that when you sign up for something, it is guaranteed to be done. Feeding and medications are all done in a timely manner and very close attention is paid to dosages and instructions when giving medications. Pet's have nice spacious rooms with cozy beds for their overnight stays and even their own outdoor runs to stretch their legs during the day. Nature walks, playtimes, pool time and even tuck-ins are all completed as per the instructions you leave when you drop your pet off. Many if not all of Holiday House's staff have their own pets and understand the type of care and commitment they would want given to their pets when they are away. Holiday House is an excellent place to leave your furry babies when you are away and gives you peace of mind knowing they are in great hands.

2
★★★★★

As a previous kennel supervisor of this facility, I can vouch for Holiday House that when you sign up for something, it is guaranteed to be done. Feeding and medications are all done in a timely manner and very close attention is paid to dosages and instructions when giving medications. Pet's have nice spacious rooms with cozy beds for their overnight stays and even their own outdoor runs to stretch their legs during the day. Nature walks, playtimes, pool time and even tuck-ins are all completed as per the instructions you leave when you drop your pet off. Many if not all of Holiday House's staff have their own pets and understand the type of care and commitment they would want given to their pets when they are away. Holiday House is an excellent place to leave your furry babies when you are away and gives you peace of mind knowing they are in great hands.

Pros: diligent and caring staff, spacious facility,great amenities

.

The young man who checked me in was polite and well mannered. He mentioned he had been working there since he was 14. He knew the other pets that came in after mine by first name. I was also given a on the spot tour when I asked which is something I found other facilities won't do. Many newer facilities do not have the indoor outdoor rooms like this one does. That is important for my young dog. I had a good experience and it seems my dog did too.

2
★★★★☆

The young man who checked me in was polite and well mannered. He mentioned he had been working there since he was 14. He knew the other pets that came in after mine by first name. I was also given a on the spot tour when I asked which is something I found other facilities won't do. Many newer facilities do not have the indoor outdoor rooms like this one does. That is important for my young dog. I had a good experience and it seems my dog did too.

Pros: Vet owned and operated, huge outside runs

Cons: Limited Sunday Hours

.

I have been using HHPR faithfully for 20 years now but this current staff is UNBELIEVEABLE! My 6 year old rottweiler has a few anxiety issues. Unfortunately at 120 pounds, this could be a problem. We have been coming here since a puppy and HAVE always been treated as family. He is placed next to "room mates" that fit his personality to a T. HHPR staff accomodate our needs 100%. It makes my vacation enjoyable because I know my dog is taken care of. I have even started using the hospital facilities on site. Again WONDERFUL!

2
★★★★★

I have been using HHPR faithfully for 20 years now but this current staff is UNBELIEVEABLE! My 6 year old rottweiler has a few anxiety issues. Unfortunately at 120 pounds, this could be a problem. We have been coming here since a puppy and HAVE always been treated as family. He is placed next to "room mates" that fit his personality to a T. HHPR staff accomodate our needs 100%. It makes my vacation enjoyable because I know my dog is taken care of. I have even started using the hospital facilities on site. Again WONDERFUL!

Pros: Handles each individual personality!

Cons: N/A

.

We called to make an appointment to board our dog and to ask some questions, the woman at the front desk was very rude and uncaring in any of our questions.It is the first time the dog is being boarded and we are nervous.She could care less about any of our concerns,

we decided to take out 9 month old puppy elsewhere, when we go on vacation I do not want to worry about our dog.

If she is that rude to me I would hate to think how my puppy would be treated,there loss

0
★☆☆☆☆

We called to make an appointment to board our dog and to ask some questions, the woman at the front desk was very rude and uncaring in any of our questions.It is the first time the dog is being boarded and we are nervous.She could care less about any of our concerns,

we decided to take out 9 month old puppy elsewhere, when we go on vacation I do not want to worry about our dog.

If she is that rude to me I would hate to think how my puppy would be treated,there loss

.

This was the second (and final) time we boarded our dog at the Holiday House. The day of pick-up it was pouring rain and as I walked up the steps I looked over and seen our dog laying all curled up in one of the outdoor kennels just getting drenched from the rain. I also noticed several other dogs just sitting in the rain. The front desk clerk was rude and unprofessional when I told her what I had seen...no help or concern for the welfare of our family pet. Once I brought her home I noticed a long two inch gash on her stomach that looked infected. We were lucky enough to get her into our Vet as it was infected and needed immediate attention. When we called the Holiday House and told them about the situaton they said that it didn't happen at their facility, and therefore, were not responsible for any Vet bills. In fact, she said it probably happened as the dog was getting into our car, unbelievable! I would not recommend this kennel to any dog or cat owner. I wouldn't even give it one star. STAY AWAY!!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

This was the second (and final) time we boarded our dog at the Holiday House. The day of pick-up it was pouring rain and as I walked up the steps I looked over and seen our dog laying all curled up in one of the outdoor kennels just getting drenched from the rain. I also noticed several other dogs just sitting in the rain. The front desk clerk was rude and unprofessional when I told her what I had seen...no help or concern for the welfare of our family pet. Once I brought her home I noticed a long two inch gash on her stomach that looked infected. We were lucky enough to get her into our Vet as it was infected and needed immediate attention. When we called the Holiday House and told them about the situaton they said that it didn't happen at their facility, and therefore, were not responsible for any Vet bills. In fact, she said it probably happened as the dog was getting into our car, unbelievable! I would not recommend this kennel to any dog or cat owner. I wouldn't even give it one star. STAY AWAY!!!

Pros: None

Cons: unprofessional staff, dirty facility

.

From the time we walked into the Holiday House the staff was rude, especially the front desk clerk. She literally threw our paperwork at us and never asked any questions about our dog and his daily routine or if there were any special instructions. When I told her about his daily medication she cut me off by saying "just put it on the paper". I was appauled by her attitude. At this point I didn't want to leave our dog, but we were leaving for the airport and therefore, unable to find another kennel. I reluctently left my baby in these people's hands and as a staff member pulled him back through the door I had to leave, as tears began pouring down my face. Needless to say I didn't quite enjoy my vacation as I should have, spending a lot of time worrying about my dog. We called three times, twice I left a message and no one returned my calls. The third time a staff member hung up on my husband. When we returned my dog was a mess, dirty, smelly and contaminated with flees, which he didn't have a week earlier. His mats were so bad that I had to take him to a groomer who worked on him for four hours. The worst part was they returned his medicine bottle and it was full. For ten days my dog went without his heart medicine!!!! If they didn't give him his medicine I am sure he didn't enjoy the play times and perks I purchased for him. I have never in my fifty years of kenneling my dogs seen such a horrible facility. Please think twice before sending your pet to this kennel.

0
★☆☆☆☆

From the time we walked into the Holiday House the staff was rude, especially the front desk clerk. She literally threw our paperwork at us and never asked any questions about our dog and his daily routine or if there were any special instructions. When I told her about his daily medication she cut me off by saying "just put it on the paper". I was appauled by her attitude. At this point I didn't want to leave our dog, but we were leaving for the airport and therefore, unable to find another kennel. I reluctently left my baby in these people's hands and as a staff member pulled him back through the door I had to leave, as tears began pouring down my face. Needless to say I didn't quite enjoy my vacation as I should have, spending a lot of time worrying about my dog. We called three times, twice I left a message and no one returned my calls. The third time a staff member hung up on my husband. When we returned my dog was a mess, dirty, smelly and contaminated with flees, which he didn't have a week earlier. His mats were so bad that I had to take him to a groomer who worked on him for four hours. The worst part was they returned his medicine bottle and it was full. For ten days my dog went without his heart medicine!!!! If they didn't give him his medicine I am sure he didn't enjoy the play times and perks I purchased for him. I have never in my fifty years of kenneling my dogs seen such a horrible facility. Please think twice before sending your pet to this kennel.

Pros: None

Cons: Dirty Facility, Rude Staff, Inadequate Animal Care

.

I love the Holiday House Pet Resort. They are very reasonably priced and have tons of cute activities for the puppies to do. It's just like a daycare for children! The staff are obviously animal lovers and give a lot of attention to the animals. They even board cats upstairs and do medical boarding! Grooming is also an option! And each animal is required to check-in and get a physical and show proof of vaccination. The resort is on a very large, beautiful piece of property and is in good shape. It's huge inside. Another good thing is that it is RIGHT next to a veterinary clinic, so if a medical emergency arises your beloved pet can be rushed there in 2 seconds. That let's your heart set at ease a little better, am I right? Very nice place!

4
★★★★☆

I love the Holiday House Pet Resort. They are very reasonably priced and have tons of cute activities for the puppies to do. It's just like a daycare for children! The staff are obviously animal lovers and give a lot of attention to the animals. They even board cats upstairs and do medical boarding! Grooming is also an option! And each animal is required to check-in and get a physical and show proof of vaccination. The resort is on a very large, beautiful piece of property and is in good shape. It's huge inside. Another good thing is that it is RIGHT next to a veterinary clinic, so if a medical emergency arises your beloved pet can be rushed there in 2 seconds. That let's your heart set at ease a little better, am I right? Very nice place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The staff are wonderful with the pets, providing very hands-on pampering and play time. The facilities are very clean and lots of play area. It was a great value too. Make sure to try their add-ons such as "water play" for your dog.

2
★★★★★

The staff are wonderful with the pets, providing very hands-on pampering and play time. The facilities are very clean and lots of play area. It was a great value too. Make sure to try their add-ons such as "water play" for your dog.

Pros: Convenient and easy to get to. Clean and friendly.

.

I avoid kenneling my dog whenever possible, due to his fear of strangers and sometimes unpredictable behavior. At any other kennel, I've had to almost drag Jake in and return to find him clambering to get out.
The staff at Holiday House were so calm and welcoming with him, he walked right away from me when I checked him in - I was speechless. The special activities they offered there (for the dog) were unlike any I've been offered before, and it was great that I knew my dog would get caring individual attention.
In the rush of packing, I'd forgotten his bed and favorite toy, and they gave him a bed to use and some nice toys to play with. I was more than satisfied with their services, and will take him there whenever I need a place for him to stay.

2
★★★★★

I avoid kenneling my dog whenever possible, due to his fear of strangers and sometimes unpredictable behavior. At any other kennel, I've had to almost drag Jake in and return to find him clambering to get out.
The staff at Holiday House were so calm and welcoming with him, he walked right away from me when I checked him in - I was speechless. The special activities they offered there (for the dog) were unlike any I've been offered before, and it was great that I knew my dog would get caring individual attention.
In the rush of packing, I'd forgotten his bed and favorite toy, and they gave him a bed to use and some nice toys to play with. I was more than satisfied with their services, and will take him there whenever I need a place for him to stay.

Pros: kind staff, excellent value

Message from Holiday House Pet Resort & Training Center

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Holiday House Pet Resort & Training Center, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review