Seatco Of Arlington

★★★☆☆
  • 5610 Scoville St

    Baileys Crossroads, VA 22041

    Cross street: Scoville Street In Baileys Crossroads, VA. One Block East Of Route 7 And Carlin Springs Road

    Map & Directions
  • 703-931-4800

3.0 2
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Seatco Of Arlington was?
Write a Review
.

I'm restoring an old motorcycle and wanted to replace my rotting vinyl seat. I explained that I wanted the seat recovering to preserve the original button placement and natural creases where the seat curved. I also wanted them to put in gel-foam insert to make long rides more comfortable. Lastly, I wanted them to print "Maxim X" on the back, just as the original.

I was told it wouldn't be a problem and was given an estimate that was the same or lower than anything I had gotten anywhere else (after a lengthy search). Three weeks later, my seat was better than new. It looks gorgeous! The "Maxim X" was hand-embroidered. The gel-foam insert is so comfortable and the vinyl used feels like glove-leather.

I cannot emphasize enough how friendly the Seatco experts are. Their prices aren't cheapest but they're not exorbitant either. Either way, with Seatco, you get *more* than you pay for.

I've recommended Seatco to all my vintage motorycle-riding friends and will continue to do so. I could not be a more satisfied customer.

5
★★★★★

I'm restoring an old motorcycle and wanted to replace my rotting vinyl seat. I explained that I wanted the seat recovering to preserve the original button placement and natural creases where the seat curved. I also wanted them to put in gel-foam insert to make long rides more comfortable. Lastly, I wanted them to print "Maxim X" on the back, just as the original.

I was told it wouldn't be a problem and was given an estimate that was the same or lower than anything I had gotten anywhere else (after a lengthy search). Three weeks later, my seat was better than new. It looks gorgeous! The "Maxim X" was hand-embroidered. The gel-foam insert is so comfortable and the vinyl used feels like glove-leather.

I cannot emphasize enough how friendly the Seatco experts are. Their prices aren't cheapest but they're not exorbitant either. Either way, with Seatco, you get *more* than you pay for.

I've recommended Seatco to all my vintage motorycle-riding friends and will continue to do so. I could not be a more satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

They do good work, BUT negotiate the price up front. They did some work for me? The owner told me that he thought it would take 4 hours and his hourly rate was $85. I waited while they did the work. The work took 3 hours, but they charged me for 4 hours anyway. My car was in his shop for a total of 3.5 hours, but I watched the tech take several breaks to chat on his cell phone and also stopped to eat lunch. When I questioned it the owner started a screaming match with me. Complaining about his overhead, etc.

He stated that he told me four hours, so that was what I owed. I asked him if it took 6 hours, would he charge for four, and he said "no I would then charge you for six". So what is the difference?

I sent him a letter the next day:

Neal,

Why did you ignore your own policy yesterday? You have a sign on your wall that clearly states your hourly rate of $85.00 an hour. I agreed to pay that hourly rate. The job took 3 hours and yet you charged me for 4 hours. If your employee ran into issues installing my parts and the job took 6, I would have paid for 6 hours because I agreed to an hourly rate not knowing how long the job would take.

I am in the service business as well (and have been for almost 17 years). If I tell a client I think it will take 4 hours to complete a job and it takes 3, I bill them for 3. If I tell a client it will be $400.00 to fix their computer network, I charge them $400 regardless of how long it takes. That is how you perform ethical business with good customer service.

You kept referring to dealerships and how they have fixed pricing for a job. I don't pay for their employees to eat lunch, chat on their cell phone, or have extended conversations with others (which is exactly what happened yesterday). I pay for a job to be completed.

This should have been a Firm Fixed Price, or True Time and Materials. If your employee would have worked on the job non-stop, it would have been 3 hours (excluding that time that I paid for him to take a lunch break and to make personal calls on his cell phone). The car was pulled in at 10:00 am and was done at 1:30. If you take out 30 mins for the lunch break and phone calls, that is 3 hours. Why should I have to pay for his lunch and personal use phone time? As his employer, you were not willing to pay for that and I do not feel it is fair practice to have those charges and then some passed on to me.

I am currently drafting a letter that will be sent to the Better Business Bureau, the Attorney Generals Office, and the Office of Consumer Affairs of VA regarding the way you conduct business. If you would like to refund me $85.00 plus the sales tax for the additional hour of so-called labor that I was charged, we can both avoid any further headaches

1
★☆☆☆☆

They do good work, BUT negotiate the price up front. They did some work for me? The owner told me that he thought it would take 4 hours and his hourly rate was $85. I waited while they did the work. The work took 3 hours, but they charged me for 4 hours anyway. My car was in his shop for a total of 3.5 hours, but I watched the tech take several breaks to chat on his cell phone and also stopped to eat lunch. When I questioned it the owner started a screaming match with me. Complaining about his overhead, etc.

He stated that he told me four hours, so that was what I owed. I asked him if it took 6 hours, would he charge for four, and he said "no I would then charge you for six". So what is the difference?

I sent him a letter the next day:

Neal,

Why did you ignore your own policy yesterday? You have a sign on your wall that clearly states your hourly rate of $85.00 an hour. I agreed to pay that hourly rate. The job took 3 hours and yet you charged me for 4 hours. If your employee ran into issues installing my parts and the job took 6, I would have paid for 6 hours because I agreed to an hourly rate not knowing how long the job would take.

I am in the service business as well (and have been for almost 17 years). If I tell a client I think it will take 4 hours to complete a job and it takes 3, I bill them for 3. If I tell a client it will be $400.00 to fix their computer network, I charge them $400 regardless of how long it takes. That is how you perform ethical business with good customer service.

You kept referring to dealerships and how they have fixed pricing for a job. I don't pay for their employees to eat lunch, chat on their cell phone, or have extended conversations with others (which is exactly what happened yesterday). I pay for a job to be completed.

This should have been a Firm Fixed Price, or True Time and Materials. If your employee would have worked on the job non-stop, it would have been 3 hours (excluding that time that I paid for him to take a lunch break and to make personal calls on his cell phone). The car was pulled in at 10:00 am and was done at 1:30. If you take out 30 mins for the lunch break and phone calls, that is 3 hours. Why should I have to pay for his lunch and personal use phone time? As his employer, you were not willing to pay for that and I do not feel it is fair practice to have those charges and then some passed on to me.

I am currently drafting a letter that will be sent to the Better Business Bureau, the Attorney Generals Office, and the Office of Consumer Affairs of VA regarding the way you conduct business. If you would like to refund me $85.00 plus the sales tax for the additional hour of so-called labor that I was charged, we can both avoid any further headaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

What he did not tell you He was given the price up front. We had two men working on the job so we had more than 4 hours invested in the job. When he questioned the bill we gave him the choice to pay any amount that he thought was fair, any amount from 0 to the full quoted price, he chose what amount to pay. We wanted him to be happy with all parts of the job including the price, He chose what to pay and changed his mind after the fact. And I do not scream at my customers I talk to them with the same respect and attitude with witch they talk to me. I am sorry he is unhappy with any part of our services, it is his choice he is unhappy about.

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Seatco Of Arlington, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review