Jack's Auto Repair

★★★★☆
  • 3229 Old Goldie Rd

    Oak Harbor, WA 98277

    Map & Directions
  • 360-240-0149

About Jack's Auto Repair

Automotive

Automotive
More choices in Oak Harbor:
Resultset_next

Linder's Speedy Equipment

2928 Fangboner Rd Fremont, CA

Resultset_next

Jon's Golf Car & Machine Shop

11060 W Portage River South Rd Oak Harbor, OH

4.2 15
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Jack's Auto Repair was?
Write a Review
.

As a Reservist who is most recently serving at the Navy Base near Jack's Auto in Oak Harbor, Washington state, I have on two occasions had urgent auto needs for my pickup. Jack's Auto on both occasions went "above and beyond" in outstanding repair service and value for me. Specifically, they not only did outstanding work by replacing my alternator quickly before it "died," they also were considerate toward my "starving student"--type budget and did not offer or perform unnecessary maintenance. Further, they alerted me to potential truck issues to "keep an eye on." I very much respect Jack's Auto for looking out for what is truly in the customer's (my!) interest. This consideration toward the customer (me!) was also present when my squeaking brakes proved NOT to need replacement--and they did not try to get me to replace them, since they still had some 10,000 miles of usefulness remaining. The same is true on correcting the engine timing: Instead of insisting on, say, many hundreds of dollars (or some $1000's) to do an unnecessary valve job for "pinging and knocking," they made simple--and economical--adjustments to the timing that removed the problem totally. After these and other adjustments/repairs, they test-drove the truck to make sure everything worked correctly.
Many special "Thanks!" to Jack and Patty Christian, Josh, Jason and all the other staff and technicians at Jack's Auto Repair in Oak Harbor, WA. I will continue to gladly recommend you all and continue proudly as your customer. jpat333

5
★★★★★

As a Reservist who is most recently serving at the Navy Base near Jack's Auto in Oak Harbor, Washington state, I have on two occasions had urgent auto needs for my pickup. Jack's Auto on both occasions went "above and beyond" in outstanding repair service and value for me. Specifically, they not only did outstanding work by replacing my alternator quickly before it "died," they also were considerate toward my "starving student"--type budget and did not offer or perform unnecessary maintenance. Further, they alerted me to potential truck issues to "keep an eye on." I very much respect Jack's Auto for looking out for what is truly in the customer's (my!) interest. This consideration toward the customer (me!) was also present when my squeaking brakes proved NOT to need replacement--and they did not try to get me to replace them, since they still had some 10,000 miles of usefulness remaining. The same is true on correcting the engine timing: Instead of insisting on, say, many hundreds of dollars (or some $1000's) to do an unnecessary valve job for "pinging and knocking," they made simple--and economical--adjustments to the timing that removed the problem totally. After these and other adjustments/repairs, they test-drove the truck to make sure everything worked correctly.
Many special "Thanks!" to Jack and Patty Christian, Josh, Jason and all the other staff and technicians at Jack's Auto Repair in Oak Harbor, WA. I will continue to gladly recommend you all and continue proudly as your customer. jpat333

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I had my car towed here about a year ago. They refused to give me an hourly rate, and charged me over $400 bucks for 4 spark plugs! They also said my car would be ready in a day, it took 3 days. A local told me afterward that everyone in town knows to stay clear of them, they pretty much depend on military that don't know better. I was also told that Integrity automotive in Oak Harbor is a more honest, reliable shop but I can't confirm that since I've never been there.

1
★☆☆☆☆

I had my car towed here about a year ago. They refused to give me an hourly rate, and charged me over $400 bucks for 4 spark plugs! They also said my car would be ready in a day, it took 3 days. A local told me afterward that everyone in town knows to stay clear of them, they pretty much depend on military that don't know better. I was also told that Integrity automotive in Oak Harbor is a more honest, reliable shop but I can't confirm that since I've never been there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Jack really helped me with my car. There were small miscellaneous problems and they fixed everything for very reasonable price.

5
★★★★★

Jack really helped me with my car. There were small miscellaneous problems and they fixed everything for very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks! We appreciate your business.
.

Jack really helped me with my car. There were small miscellaneous problems and they fixed everything for very reasonable price.

3
★★★★★

Jack really helped me with my car. There were small miscellaneous problems and they fixed everything for very reasonable price.

.

these guys are always busy but seem to keep me and my fleet on the road, at an affordable and competitive cost I might add! Top notch knowledge and service, you wont be dissapointed. Not everyone is perfect and everyone has a bad day, but these guys will do whatever is necessary to take care of your needs quickly. You will feel at home here and with a family rooted in this community for 70yrs and running, youll see the difference!

5
★★★★★

these guys are always busy but seem to keep me and my fleet on the road, at an affordable and competitive cost I might add! Top notch knowledge and service, you wont be dissapointed. Not everyone is perfect and everyone has a bad day, but these guys will do whatever is necessary to take care of your needs quickly. You will feel at home here and with a family rooted in this community for 70yrs and running, youll see the difference!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks for your support! It's great to be part of this community and we appreciate the support you and everyone has given us over these many years!
.

I recently came to visit my family in Oak Harbor for the fourth of july weekend. My Dodge pick up was overheating badly. I quickly called my sister to see if she could recommend a mechanic in the area, and she said I only have one i can offer, Jack's Auto Repair. They squeezed me in on Friday. I could not believe how friendly the staff was and how quickly they fixed my sick dodge. Lucky for me it was only a stuck thermostat. I was in and out by lunch time. Thanks for every thing Jack and crew . You saved me money with your honesty and most importantly my weekend.

5
★★★★★

I recently came to visit my family in Oak Harbor for the fourth of july weekend. My Dodge pick up was overheating badly. I quickly called my sister to see if she could recommend a mechanic in the area, and she said I only have one i can offer, Jack's Auto Repair. They squeezed me in on Friday. I could not believe how friendly the staff was and how quickly they fixed my sick dodge. Lucky for me it was only a stuck thermostat. I was in and out by lunch time. Thanks for every thing Jack and crew . You saved me money with your honesty and most importantly my weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Stop in anytime you're in town!
.

I recently came to visit my family in Oak Harbor for the fourth of july weekend. My Dodge pick up was overheating badly. I quickly called my sister to see if she could recommend a mechanic in the area, and she said I only have one i can

3
★★★★★

I recently came to visit my family in Oak Harbor for the fourth of july weekend. My Dodge pick up was overheating badly. I quickly called my sister to see if she could recommend a mechanic in the area, and she said I only have one i can

.

I needed rear brakes so I made an appointment at Jack's Auto Repair (my first time there) out by the base. Instead of putting on new brakes they were able to just turn the rotor and re-use the calipers. Saved me $100 on parts and $60 on labor! It was great because it was before pay day! Very nice.

5
★★★★★

I needed rear brakes so I made an appointment at Jack's Auto Repair (my first time there) out by the base. Instead of putting on new brakes they were able to just turn the rotor and re-use the calipers. Saved me $100 on parts and $60 on labor! It was great because it was before pay day! Very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

Thanks! We try to save our customers money while still giving quality service.
.

I needed rear brakes so I made an appointment at Jack's Auto Repair (my first time there) out by the base. Instead of putting on new brakes they were able to just turn the rotor and re-use the calipers. Saved me $100 on parts and $60 on

3
★★★★★

I needed rear brakes so I made an appointment at Jack's Auto Repair (my first time there) out by the base. Instead of putting on new brakes they were able to just turn the rotor and re-use the calipers. Saved me $100 on parts and $60 on

.

Jack's Auto Repair is awesome! I recently went to Jack's after another repair shop told me my transmission needed over $1000 of work. Turns out the other shop lied. Jack's Auto fixed the problem for less than $200! The staff was courteous and honest, I will never go anywhere else and neither should you!

5
★★★★★

Jack's Auto Repair is awesome! I recently went to Jack's after another repair shop told me my transmission needed over $1000 of work. Turns out the other shop lied. Jack's Auto fixed the problem for less than $200! The staff was courteous and honest, I will never go anywhere else and neither should you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Business Response:

We appreciate your wonderful words!
.

Jack's Auto Repair is awesome! I recently went to Jack's after another repair shop told me my transmission needed over $1000 of work. Turns out the other shop lied. Jack's Auto fixed the problem for less than $200! The staff was courteous

3
★★★★★

Jack's Auto Repair is awesome! I recently went to Jack's after another repair shop told me my transmission needed over $1000 of work. Turns out the other shop lied. Jack's Auto fixed the problem for less than $200! The staff was courteous

.

I had my explorer towed there because it wouldn't start. i am new to Oak Harbor but because my boyfriend had his brakes done there before, we both decided to take it to them. FYI - i paid them $80 to diagnose the car, on top of labor. they said it was my starter and spark plugs. the engine flooded and wires needed to be changed. they also suggested a tune up and an oil change. When i got the estimate of $810, i was a bit shocked!!! So i asked a few people for second opinion and they ALL thought i was being ripped off!! well after a few debates back & forth, i decided to go for it ONLY because my car is dead and it wasn't like i could drive it to another shop. i'd have to pay towing again. Well they worked on it and I got the car today. saw the breakdown, 363 for parts & 353 for Labor ($80 was included) plus tax.. total came out to $786 and change. Before i left the shop, i remembered saying, "as long as my car is running, i'm good". they assured me it was. So my boyfriend started the car, was fine& made it home. Exactly 4 hours later, i needed to go to Safeway. i go and start the car & guess what??? yup, same problem again, the car WILL NOT start!!!!! WTF!!!!! so basically for almost $800, my so called "fixed" car was only able to make it from there shop to my house which is just a few miles away. the worst part is, they charged me for the diagnosis, a WRONG one at that!!!! Already right there is a red flag and shows you what kind of a shop this is. so now i'm wondering if it was the starter & spark plug to begin with cause now it's not working again. I'm ANGRY that i paid so MUCH money only to have my car DEAD again. They weren't ONLY wrong on their diagnosis, i feel like i've been RIPPED OFF & LIED to. Now thinking about the smile on their faces as we left their shop makes me so ANGRY!!!!

Oh they better pay for towing this time. I am not going to pay for my car to be towed to their shop again after they "SUPPOSEDLY" fixed the problem. They will hear it from me in the morning. Once this nightmare is over, I WILL NEVER EVER go back to them again! Even my boyfriend, as a repeat customer is furious & will never trust them or refer their shop to anyone EVER again!!!!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

I had my explorer towed there because it wouldn't start. i am new to Oak Harbor but because my boyfriend had his brakes done there before, we both decided to take it to them. FYI - i paid them $80 to diagnose the car, on top of labor. they said it was my starter and spark plugs. the engine flooded and wires needed to be changed. they also suggested a tune up and an oil change. When i got the estimate of $810, i was a bit shocked!!! So i asked a few people for second opinion and they ALL thought i was being ripped off!! well after a few debates back & forth, i decided to go for it ONLY because my car is dead and it wasn't like i could drive it to another shop. i'd have to pay towing again. Well they worked on it and I got the car today. saw the breakdown, 363 for parts & 353 for Labor ($80 was included) plus tax.. total came out to $786 and change. Before i left the shop, i remembered saying, "as long as my car is running, i'm good". they assured me it was. So my boyfriend started the car, was fine& made it home. Exactly 4 hours later, i needed to go to Safeway. i go and start the car & guess what??? yup, same problem again, the car WILL NOT start!!!!! WTF!!!!! so basically for almost $800, my so called "fixed" car was only able to make it from there shop to my house which is just a few miles away. the worst part is, they charged me for the diagnosis, a WRONG one at that!!!! Already right there is a red flag and shows you what kind of a shop this is. so now i'm wondering if it was the starter & spark plug to begin with cause now it's not working again. I'm ANGRY that i paid so MUCH money only to have my car DEAD again. They weren't ONLY wrong on their diagnosis, i feel like i've been RIPPED OFF & LIED to. Now thinking about the smile on their faces as we left their shop makes me so ANGRY!!!!

Oh they better pay for towing this time. I am not going to pay for my car to be towed to their shop again after they "SUPPOSEDLY" fixed the problem. They will hear it from me in the morning. Once this nightmare is over, I WILL NEVER EVER go back to them again! Even my boyfriend, as a repeat customer is furious & will never trust them or refer their shop to anyone EVER again!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Your car needed a new starter, had bad plugs and was putting fuel into the engine oil. We installed a new starter, did a tune-up and oil change. The car ran fine when you left the shop. You DROVE the car in the next morning, we clean the throttle and did 2 hours of diagnosis for FREE. Your car now runs fine, we called you to confirm that it was running fine and you said YES. You have no reason to be mad nor to write such an inflamatory review. You need to retract this statement.
.

Don't let Jack's Auto Repair's low hourly rate fool you. They quoted me 2 hours more than every other repair shop for the same work (including the dealership). The only reason I had my auto repaired here is because a couple people we know said Jack's treated them well and charged a fair market price. I asked the guy that gave me the quote if they marked up the parts or were they at cost, he said they were at cost. However, when I called the company that provided the parts and service they were significantly less than what I was quoted, so I thought my bill will be less than what was quoted. Boy I was wrong, my bill came in $100 higher than my quote.. When I asked the owner about the discrepancy between what they paid for the parts and service and what I was charged, he rudely said of course they are going to mark up parts and service to cover the cost of the warranty and I am not going to argue with you about it.

I wished I had just taken my vehicle to the dealer who does not charge a mark up on their parts in addition to their hourly rate and gives a 12 month/12K mile warranty.

I FEEL I WAS RIPPED OFF AND I WILL NEVER TAKE MY CAR THERE AGAIN.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Don't let Jack's Auto Repair's low hourly rate fool you. They quoted me 2 hours more than every other repair shop for the same work (including the dealership). The only reason I had my auto repaired here is because a couple people we know said Jack's treated them well and charged a fair market price. I asked the guy that gave me the quote if they marked up the parts or were they at cost, he said they were at cost. However, when I called the company that provided the parts and service they were significantly less than what I was quoted, so I thought my bill will be less than what was quoted. Boy I was wrong, my bill came in $100 higher than my quote.. When I asked the owner about the discrepancy between what they paid for the parts and service and what I was charged, he rudely said of course they are going to mark up parts and service to cover the cost of the warranty and I am not going to argue with you about it.

I wished I had just taken my vehicle to the dealer who does not charge a mark up on their parts in addition to their hourly rate and gives a 12 month/12K mile warranty.

I FEEL I WAS RIPPED OFF AND I WILL NEVER TAKE MY CAR THERE AGAIN.

Pros: pleasant mechanic

Cons: marks up everything

.

I have only been here once and it was years ago. I never went back, as the prices were very high compared to other local places that are just as good. While I know people who love Jack's, I didn't think it was a very good value.

3
★★★☆☆

I have only been here once and it was years ago. I never went back, as the prices were very high compared to other local places that are just as good. While I know people who love Jack's, I didn't think it was a very good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

I'm sorry but you must be confusing us with another shop. We have absolutely no record you having work done here. If you'd like to bring in your invoice we'd be happy to discuss this with you.
.

I used to take my cars here all the time. The price was always a bit higher than what was quoted and seemed like I would just get it out of the shop and something else would go wrong with it. I had the head gaskets done on my car and it did not leak oil when I took it in but when I got it back it did...hmmm...anyway staff is pleasant and repairs done it a timely manner.

3
★★★☆☆

I used to take my cars here all the time. The price was always a bit higher than what was quoted and seemed like I would just get it out of the shop and something else would go wrong with it. I had the head gaskets done on my car and it did not leak oil when I took it in but when I got it back it did...hmmm...anyway staff is pleasant and repairs done it a timely manner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

You have an older car and older cars often need repairs. The leak from the head gasket was not related to the work we performed. At a certain age car parts need repair/replacements.
 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Jack's Auto Repair, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review