Union Smith Cafe

★★★☆☆

About Union Smith Cafe

Categories
  • Bars & Pubs
  • Restaurants
  • Traditional American Restaurants
Details
  • Brunch
  • Family-Friendly Dining
  • Group Dining
  • Outdoor Dining

Food

Food
More choices in Brooklyn:
Resultset_next

Jack's

10955 US Highway 278 E Holly Pond, AL

Resultset_next

Nanna's Country Kitchen

70311 Main St Blountsville, AL

3.3077 26
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Union Smith Cafe was?
Write a Review
.

Well I have to disagree with the negative comments posted here or the Union has done a complete 180 with gusto. \r
\r
We dined here on a Sunday afternoon and the food was truly delicous, well presented and with just the right touch of

3
★★★★★

Well I have to disagree with the negative comments posted here or the Union has done a complete 180 with gusto. \r
\r
We dined here on a Sunday afternoon and the food was truly delicous, well presented and with just the right touch of

.

This is the second time I've been there and I will not go back for a third. Both times it took forever for the food to come out! Waitstaff seems stressed and super busy, but with what I'm not sure. Both times there were loads of empty tables. You're lucky if you get a curt response to a question or request. Funny thing after being so inattentive, check came without being asked and was picked up only seconds after we paid. Hmmm....don't let the door hit you on the way out? Food was ok.
--Annoyed that I threw away money at a place that treated me like this. Never again.

0
★☆☆☆☆

This is the second time I've been there and I will not go back for a third. Both times it took forever for the food to come out! Waitstaff seems stressed and super busy, but with what I'm not sure. Both times there were loads of empty tables. You're lucky if you get a curt response to a question or request. Funny thing after being so inattentive, check came without being asked and was picked up only seconds after we paid. Hmmm....don't let the door hit you on the way out? Food was ok.
--Annoyed that I threw away money at a place that treated me like this. Never again.

Pros: Ok food, good (live) music,

Cons: inattentive wait staff (bordering on rude),

.

the staff at union smith are so incredibly rude and dismissive it is ridiculous. this is including the so called "management" and hostess. they should realize that there is nothing particularly special about their restaurant or their food and that there are COUNTLESS other restaurants in the neighborhood where patrons would want to spend their money. also, awful delivery service. sorry for the rant but its very upsetting when restaurants in such a wonderful, down to earth neighborhood can employ such pretentious, ignorant people.

0
★☆☆☆☆

the staff at union smith are so incredibly rude and dismissive it is ridiculous. this is including the so called "management" and hostess. they should realize that there is nothing particularly special about their restaurant or their food and that there are COUNTLESS other restaurants in the neighborhood where patrons would want to spend their money. also, awful delivery service. sorry for the rant but its very upsetting when restaurants in such a wonderful, down to earth neighborhood can employ such pretentious, ignorant people.

.

This place is a true gem. I've been with friends from out of town numerous times. Everyone raves about their dishes. Amazing french onion soup to start. (actually it arrived luke warm, when we asked them to heat it up, they were apologetic and gave everyone new soups and comped them) But even warm, and eventually hot, it was great french onion soup. Between my friend's and I, we've tried over 10 different dishes and each one has be wonderful, so you should be fine with whatever you order. Enjoy!

2
★★★★★

This place is a true gem. I've been with friends from out of town numerous times. Everyone raves about their dishes. Amazing french onion soup to start. (actually it arrived luke warm, when we asked them to heat it up, they were apologetic and gave everyone new soups and comped them) But even warm, and eventually hot, it was great french onion soup. Between my friend's and I, we've tried over 10 different dishes and each one has be wonderful, so you should be fine with whatever you order. Enjoy!

Pros: Location, the Croque Monsieur, the Bloody Marys

Cons: Price, service, musick

.

I'd like to clear up the issue of service problems at this restaurant. The reason the staff tends to be so inept, is that any reasonable waiter would bolt on the first day. The average length of an employees tenure is about a week or two, or for smarter individuals, minutes. Union Smith Cafe illegally pays no hourly wage or shift pay to its staff. Anyone with experience realizes this fact and walks out, you can imagine that this results in a pretty unskilled staff. New employees are routinely warned by their coworkers to keep an eye on the tips. Management collects all tips for distribution to staff. Any questioning of how this is done, ie. the finale amount and who gets what, is met with defensive talk, screaming, or termination. The lesson here is to not ask questions, and eat elsewhere.
If you would like to investigate health violations of Union Smith Cafe, go to NYC.gov and search for SONNY'S this is the former name of this establishment and is what all inspections are listed under, very convenient.
Its obvious from this post that I worked at this restaurant. I was desperate for the money at the time and put up with the ridiculousness for entirely to long. This is meant as a warning to all in the business to work elsewhere. If you don't care about how the staff is treated, then be my guest eat at his restaurant, the food isn't too terrible. Thank You

0
★☆☆☆☆

I'd like to clear up the issue of service problems at this restaurant. The reason the staff tends to be so inept, is that any reasonable waiter would bolt on the first day. The average length of an employees tenure is about a week or two, or for smarter individuals, minutes. Union Smith Cafe illegally pays no hourly wage or shift pay to its staff. Anyone with experience realizes this fact and walks out, you can imagine that this results in a pretty unskilled staff. New employees are routinely warned by their coworkers to keep an eye on the tips. Management collects all tips for distribution to staff. Any questioning of how this is done, ie. the finale amount and who gets what, is met with defensive talk, screaming, or termination. The lesson here is to not ask questions, and eat elsewhere.
If you would like to investigate health violations of Union Smith Cafe, go to NYC.gov and search for SONNY'S this is the former name of this establishment and is what all inspections are listed under, very convenient.
Its obvious from this post that I worked at this restaurant. I was desperate for the money at the time and put up with the ridiculousness for entirely to long. This is meant as a warning to all in the business to work elsewhere. If you don't care about how the staff is treated, then be my guest eat at his restaurant, the food isn't too terrible. Thank You

Cons: shaddy

.

What was once a dependable neighborhood spot has turned into just a sore spot.

For a recent brunch, I took two out of town guests there and was praising it non-stop the whole way there. I would be eating those words...along with cold eggs and burned pancakes...later.

I can't even detail how bad Union Smith Cafe was.
The ugly hipster waitress with so much acne that I thought I would not be able to eat my food was a great start. I am always aghast at awful servers giving me attitude when they you call them out on being slow or screwing up the order. This, after we had to wave her over since she was standing behind the bar drying coffee mugs instead of, oh, waiting on the other 6 tables.

When you make a living on tips, why would you go out of your way to be so rude? Well, Zitface didn't get a nickel from me and I'll never step foot in this hole again.

AVOID AND SUPPORT OTHER SMITH STREET ESTABLISHMENTS WHERE THEY ACTUALL WANT YOUR BUSINESS!!

0
★☆☆☆☆

What was once a dependable neighborhood spot has turned into just a sore spot.

For a recent brunch, I took two out of town guests there and was praising it non-stop the whole way there. I would be eating those words...along with cold eggs and burned pancakes...later.

I can't even detail how bad Union Smith Cafe was.
The ugly hipster waitress with so much acne that I thought I would not be able to eat my food was a great start. I am always aghast at awful servers giving me attitude when they you call them out on being slow or screwing up the order. This, after we had to wave her over since she was standing behind the bar drying coffee mugs instead of, oh, waiting on the other 6 tables.

When you make a living on tips, why would you go out of your way to be so rude? Well, Zitface didn't get a nickel from me and I'll never step foot in this hole again.

AVOID AND SUPPORT OTHER SMITH STREET ESTABLISHMENTS WHERE THEY ACTUALL WANT YOUR BUSINESS!!

Pros: Location

Cons: Terrible service, burned food, attitude

.

The waiter had no personality and did not welcome our party. Only two of the four menus had the insert describing the prix-fixe. No discussion or recommendations relative to the menu. Seemed in a rush to take our orders -- he was definitely overworked.
Appetizer green salad was very sparse for $9. We waited for a long time for the salads to be brought to the table and then for the plates to be bused. They took the forks and we had to ask for replacements after the main course was brought to the table. Long wait for the main couse also.
I would not return to eat. Perhaps a drink or to see the excellent jazz/funk band.

0
★☆☆☆☆

The waiter had no personality and did not welcome our party. Only two of the four menus had the insert describing the prix-fixe. No discussion or recommendations relative to the menu. Seemed in a rush to take our orders -- he was definitely overworked.
Appetizer green salad was very sparse for $9. We waited for a long time for the salads to be brought to the table and then for the plates to be bused. They took the forks and we had to ask for replacements after the main course was brought to the table. Long wait for the main couse also.
I would not return to eat. Perhaps a drink or to see the excellent jazz/funk band.

Pros: Cajun catfish very good. Live band GREAT!

Cons: Overworked, sparse staff.

.

I want to love this place. The location--right near the F train--makes it the perfect meeting up spot. And the pretty space, plus lovely outdoor patio, makes it seem on paper an absolute winner. HOWEVER, the food is typically disappointing. The menu is varied, and I believe they try, but it's just not that good. So come here for vibe; just don't expect too much food wise.

3
★★★☆☆

I want to love this place. The location--right near the F train--makes it the perfect meeting up spot. And the pretty space, plus lovely outdoor patio, makes it seem on paper an absolute winner. HOWEVER, the food is typically disappointing. The menu is varied, and I believe they try, but it's just not that good. So come here for vibe; just don't expect too much food wise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I went here for the first time the other night. I ordered a chicken sandwich with fresh mozzerella, olive tapanade, and pesto; my girlfriend ordered the pesto lobster roll (a steal at $16). I enjoyed my sandwich very much, but the fries tasted like the oil needed to be changed. The lobster toll was heavy on the mayo and light on the lobster, which is expected at this price -- but it would have been nice if the bread was smaller to provide a better balance. The flavoring of the lobster mix was unique. Her salad looked good, but she said it was bland. Overall, the food was decent, but nothing extraordinary. On the plus side, our waitress was very friendly and competent, the prices are good, and they have a nice patio with pleasant and not-too-loud live music. I'll go back if I am in the area and in want of a casual bite, but I wouldn't make a special trip.

1
★★★☆☆

I went here for the first time the other night. I ordered a chicken sandwich with fresh mozzerella, olive tapanade, and pesto; my girlfriend ordered the pesto lobster roll (a steal at $16). I enjoyed my sandwich very much, but the fries tasted like the oil needed to be changed. The lobster toll was heavy on the mayo and light on the lobster, which is expected at this price -- but it would have been nice if the bread was smaller to provide a better balance. The flavoring of the lobster mix was unique. Her salad looked good, but she said it was bland. Overall, the food was decent, but nothing extraordinary. On the plus side, our waitress was very friendly and competent, the prices are good, and they have a nice patio with pleasant and not-too-loud live music. I'll go back if I am in the area and in want of a casual bite, but I wouldn't make a special trip.

Pros: outdoor patio, good prices, friendly service

Cons: food is average

.

This is my first time writing a review. We used to go to Union Smith Cafe all the time because it was a great place to bring our children and they served good food. The service was friendly and fast. However, that has changed over the last few months. The service has become incredibly slow (truly ridiculous) and the food is basically subpar. We gave it chance after chance to redeem itself but each time we go it just keeps getting worse. This neighborhood is filled with wonderful restaurants to get a delicious meal. Union Smith Cafe, unfortunately, is no longer that kind of place.

0
★☆☆☆☆

This is my first time writing a review. We used to go to Union Smith Cafe all the time because it was a great place to bring our children and they served good food. The service was friendly and fast. However, that has changed over the last few months. The service has become incredibly slow (truly ridiculous) and the food is basically subpar. We gave it chance after chance to redeem itself but each time we go it just keeps getting worse. This neighborhood is filled with wonderful restaurants to get a delicious meal. Union Smith Cafe, unfortunately, is no longer that kind of place.

.

I also used to work here, however I have a much higher opinion of USC than my colleague. I loved this restaurant. The majority of the staff were very well presented, articulate, polite, and knew the menu. The food was excellent, as were the drinks. With all the choice of restaurants on Smith Street, I continually returned, with children-in-tow, to Union Smith Cafe. I knew the kitchen was clean. I particularly loved the pecan crusted trout, lobster roll, beet and apple salad, among other dishes. As far as brunch was concerned, I was always working, but I had the same guests return time and time again for the eggs benedict, the burgers with a choice of cheese, and fries or salad, the French Onion Soup or the Mac and Cheese (both of which I have not tasted better elsewhere). The portions are generous, and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. I urge you to give this restaurant a try. I guarantee you will find something on the menu to tickle your fancy.

2
★★★★★

I also used to work here, however I have a much higher opinion of USC than my colleague. I loved this restaurant. The majority of the staff were very well presented, articulate, polite, and knew the menu. The food was excellent, as were the drinks. With all the choice of restaurants on Smith Street, I continually returned, with children-in-tow, to Union Smith Cafe. I knew the kitchen was clean. I particularly loved the pecan crusted trout, lobster roll, beet and apple salad, among other dishes. As far as brunch was concerned, I was always working, but I had the same guests return time and time again for the eggs benedict, the burgers with a choice of cheese, and fries or salad, the French Onion Soup or the Mac and Cheese (both of which I have not tasted better elsewhere). The portions are generous, and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. I urge you to give this restaurant a try. I guarantee you will find something on the menu to tickle your fancy.

Pros: Food, ambience, family friendly

Cons: parking

.

I used to work here, and to tell you the truth..i would never take my family here.
First..the food is so boring and overpriced. The Service is slow and incompetent.
(My former Co-workers). The prep kitchen area is filthy. We pretty much failed
every health inspection we've ever had, somehow paying off or lying enough to not
get shut down every time. To top it off, the owners are shady and sometimes skim tips
from the waitstaff.
Do yourself a favor, don't come here... find yourself a nice French Bistro on Smith and
eat in the comfort knowing your food probably wasn't prepared a dank kitchen
basement.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I used to work here, and to tell you the truth..i would never take my family here.
First..the food is so boring and overpriced. The Service is slow and incompetent.
(My former Co-workers). The prep kitchen area is filthy. We pretty much failed
every health inspection we've ever had, somehow paying off or lying enough to not
get shut down every time. To top it off, the owners are shady and sometimes skim tips
from the waitstaff.
Do yourself a favor, don't come here... find yourself a nice French Bistro on Smith and
eat in the comfort knowing your food probably wasn't prepared a dank kitchen
basement.

.

Wackadoo! This place is the cats meow! When I eat here I like to close my eyes and think about the tasty tasty products that I am chewing. The burgers are so tasty I craved one when I was on vacation in North Dakota (the burger capital of the world). AND BRUNCH,BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH.

Its awesome I do dances on Sunday morn's when it's brunch time! Oh la ta di da! Oh la ti das! Come to Simths if you know how to!

2
★★★★★

Wackadoo! This place is the cats meow! When I eat here I like to close my eyes and think about the tasty tasty products that I am chewing. The burgers are so tasty I craved one when I was on vacation in North Dakota (the burger capital of the world). AND BRUNCH,BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH.

Its awesome I do dances on Sunday morn's when it's brunch time! Oh la ta di da! Oh la ti das! Come to Simths if you know how to!

.

The brunch at Union smith cafe. is perfect. I was craving eggs and bacon and found the greatest place for that. Especially on a great spring sunday! The service was amazing and the food was excellent I def. recommend this place for either dinner or brunch. The mimosa was made perfectly. We were served in a good amount of time not too quick and not too slow. It is def. worth going to brooklyn for.

2
★★★★★

The brunch at Union smith cafe. is perfect. I was craving eggs and bacon and found the greatest place for that. Especially on a great spring sunday! The service was amazing and the food was excellent I def. recommend this place for either dinner or brunch. The mimosa was made perfectly. We were served in a good amount of time not too quick and not too slow. It is def. worth going to brooklyn for.

.

Last Sunday I?a vegetarian of 12 years?brunched with two meat-eating friends. When I ordered my Asparagus and Poached Eggs, I asked for the dish?s bacon to be served on the side, on a separate plate for my friends. After a long wait?typical and not unacceptable on a Sunday?my food was brought with bacon mixed in and an additional side of bacon. We explained the mistake to the supporting waiter. Two minutes later, this selfsame dish was brought back alongside a smaller plate of bacon smeared with bits of egg and potato. It was clear that one of the waitstaff had simply reached his fingers into my breakfast and taken out the visible bits of bacon. Because I was by this time starving, I considered eating the dish as it was. But upon closer inspection, I realized that there were several large pieces of bacon still lurking beneath the eggs. I called the waiter and sent back the food?something I haven?t done in years?asking explicitly to have the food remade. After five minutes passed, a seemingly new (and tepid) plate was brought out. A cursory look over its contents, however, revealed it was the same plate of food with the same exact large bits of bacon beneath the eggs. The five-minute wait had been a bit of theater on the cafe?s part and tantamount to a lie. Furious, I considered leaving, but my friends were but halfway through their brunch. Thus, again I asked for the food to be remade. After another 10 or 12 minutes, the food came out, hot, fresh, and delicious. It had been over an hour between the time I ordered the food and when I tasted the first bite. My friends were sure my brunch would be comped. When the bill came, not only were the Asparagus and Poached Eggs not comped (the whole affair merely brushed over with a ?Sorry?), but we were also charged for the original erroneous side of bacon. We had them take the latter off the bill, and left very little for a gratuity. Though the food is quite good, neither I nor anyone I know personally will ever return.

0
★☆☆☆☆

Last Sunday I?a vegetarian of 12 years?brunched with two meat-eating friends. When I ordered my Asparagus and Poached Eggs, I asked for the dish?s bacon to be served on the side, on a separate plate for my friends. After a long wait?typical and not unacceptable on a Sunday?my food was brought with bacon mixed in and an additional side of bacon. We explained the mistake to the supporting waiter. Two minutes later, this selfsame dish was brought back alongside a smaller plate of bacon smeared with bits of egg and potato. It was clear that one of the waitstaff had simply reached his fingers into my breakfast and taken out the visible bits of bacon. Because I was by this time starving, I considered eating the dish as it was. But upon closer inspection, I realized that there were several large pieces of bacon still lurking beneath the eggs. I called the waiter and sent back the food?something I haven?t done in years?asking explicitly to have the food remade. After five minutes passed, a seemingly new (and tepid) plate was brought out. A cursory look over its contents, however, revealed it was the same plate of food with the same exact large bits of bacon beneath the eggs. The five-minute wait had been a bit of theater on the cafe?s part and tantamount to a lie. Furious, I considered leaving, but my friends were but halfway through their brunch. Thus, again I asked for the food to be remade. After another 10 or 12 minutes, the food came out, hot, fresh, and delicious. It had been over an hour between the time I ordered the food and when I tasted the first bite. My friends were sure my brunch would be comped. When the bill came, not only were the Asparagus and Poached Eggs not comped (the whole affair merely brushed over with a ?Sorry?), but we were also charged for the original erroneous side of bacon. We had them take the latter off the bill, and left very little for a gratuity. Though the food is quite good, neither I nor anyone I know personally will ever return.

.

Ive eaten here twice now. I always order the french onion soup- it is the best I have ever had anywhere. Its a huge bowl that could actually be your meal, and I still manage to eat it all and have a few bites of whatever else Im eating. I always remember my soup as being the best thing, but every entree I have eaten has been a bore. Its never something to brag home about, or you would say to a friend what a great meal you had. Both times I felt like I could cook it at home, and that made me feel ripped off seeing that each entree was at least 18 bucks. On both outings to the Smith St Cafe, our service has been ridiculous. They are snobby and inconsiderate. We waited with an empty table- after we ate our meal- for over 45 mins to get the check! Eventually we just stopped another waitress to get the check. The whole time our original server was at the bar talking with the tender- or outside smoking ciggarette after ciggarette. When we waved him down- he just looked the other way. I couldnt believe how rude he was. The second time we came it was obvious our waitress was completely overwhelmed with the amount of tables she had on her hands. But at the same time it was obvious that most of the other servers were sitting around talking while our waitress was having a hard time keeping up. After I asked her what the deal was, she said that they were understaffed so she was taking care of the outside tables too. I felt bad for her because she obviously was a good waitress trying her best to keep up- but why were all the other servers just goofing off with eachother and not lending her a hand? Seems like they are inconsiderate to the costumers and each other.

1
★★★☆☆

Ive eaten here twice now. I always order the french onion soup- it is the best I have ever had anywhere. Its a huge bowl that could actually be your meal, and I still manage to eat it all and have a few bites of whatever else Im eating. I always remember my soup as being the best thing, but every entree I have eaten has been a bore. Its never something to brag home about, or you would say to a friend what a great meal you had. Both times I felt like I could cook it at home, and that made me feel ripped off seeing that each entree was at least 18 bucks. On both outings to the Smith St Cafe, our service has been ridiculous. They are snobby and inconsiderate. We waited with an empty table- after we ate our meal- for over 45 mins to get the check! Eventually we just stopped another waitress to get the check. The whole time our original server was at the bar talking with the tender- or outside smoking ciggarette after ciggarette. When we waved him down- he just looked the other way. I couldnt believe how rude he was. The second time we came it was obvious our waitress was completely overwhelmed with the amount of tables she had on her hands. But at the same time it was obvious that most of the other servers were sitting around talking while our waitress was having a hard time keeping up. After I asked her what the deal was, she said that they were understaffed so she was taking care of the outside tables too. I felt bad for her because she obviously was a good waitress trying her best to keep up- but why were all the other servers just goofing off with eachother and not lending her a hand? Seems like they are inconsiderate to the costumers and each other.

Pros: The best french onion soup

Cons: horrible service, Totally overpriced food.

.

My girlfriends and I went out for a few drinks one Monday night and it was truly wonderful. We had awesome Pomegranate mojitos and our waitress was cute and sweet. She never failed to notice when we needed another round. However, after she left for the evening I heard the table next to us complain about a "vacant waitress" . What do people expect, a poor college kid do do a song and dance number? Yuppie, middle aged clientele are a serious drawback, but food is delicious and drinks are fabulous.

2
★★★★☆

My girlfriends and I went out for a few drinks one Monday night and it was truly wonderful. We had awesome Pomegranate mojitos and our waitress was cute and sweet. She never failed to notice when we needed another round. However, after she left for the evening I heard the table next to us complain about a "vacant waitress" . What do people expect, a poor college kid do do a song and dance number? Yuppie, middle aged clientele are a serious drawback, but food is delicious and drinks are fabulous.

Pros: quality customer service

Cons: yuppie clientele

.

We love going here for brunch. I've had a different meal everytime we've gone and I have not been disappointed once. The only thing I have an issue with is the long wait for a table, but that just means that they're doing a lot of business. Definitely have a couple of bloody marys!

2
★★★★☆

We love going here for brunch. I've had a different meal everytime we've gone and I have not been disappointed once. The only thing I have an issue with is the long wait for a table, but that just means that they're doing a lot of business. Definitely have a couple of bloody marys!

.

the food was great, but while reading the other reviews and hearing that the waitstaff was horrible I have to agree. While we were there, we could tell that our waitress was working very hard but everytime she was doing something the manager or cook would come out and make her do something else. I truely felt bad for all of the waitstaff there, being a former waitress myself. Working under such horrible management must make it even harder to wait.

my brioche french toast was amazing, but everything else was not.

1
★★☆☆☆

the food was great, but while reading the other reviews and hearing that the waitstaff was horrible I have to agree. While we were there, we could tell that our waitress was working very hard but everytime she was doing something the manager or cook would come out and make her do something else. I truely felt bad for all of the waitstaff there, being a former waitress myself. Working under such horrible management must make it even harder to wait.

my brioche french toast was amazing, but everything else was not.

.

The food here is absolutely DELICIOUS. And reasonably priced. And I've eatern A LOT of higher priced Manhattan restaurants, and I have to say the food here is better than half of those. The only thing I hated was the apple "soup" dessert. It was disgusting. It was literally apples in water. And our waiter was inattentive, forgot our bread, unfriendly, and worst of all when I said the dessert wasn't good he looked confused and then said OK. That's it. He never apologized or took it off the bill, even though I had only 2 bites. I always tip 20% or more, and I only gave him 10%. The french hostess and the bartender were awesome, but that waiter was horrendous.

2
★★★★★

The food here is absolutely DELICIOUS. And reasonably priced. And I've eatern A LOT of higher priced Manhattan restaurants, and I have to say the food here is better than half of those. The only thing I hated was the apple "soup" dessert. It was disgusting. It was literally apples in water. And our waiter was inattentive, forgot our bread, unfriendly, and worst of all when I said the dessert wasn't good he looked confused and then said OK. That's it. He never apologized or took it off the bill, even though I had only 2 bites. I always tip 20% or more, and I only gave him 10%. The french hostess and the bartender were awesome, but that waiter was horrendous.

.

This place is a true gem. I've been with friends from out of town numerous times. Everyone raves about their dishes. Amazing french onion soup to start. (actually it arrived luke warm, when we asked them to heat it up, they were apologetic and gave everyone new soups and comped them) But even warm, and eventually hot, it was great french onion soup. Between my friend's and I, we've tried over 10 different dishes and each one has be wonderful, so you should be fine with whatever you order. Enjoy!

2
★★★★★

This place is a true gem. I've been with friends from out of town numerous times. Everyone raves about their dishes. Amazing french onion soup to start. (actually it arrived luke warm, when we asked them to heat it up, they were apologetic and gave everyone new soups and comped them) But even warm, and eventually hot, it was great french onion soup. Between my friend's and I, we've tried over 10 different dishes and each one has be wonderful, so you should be fine with whatever you order. Enjoy!

Pros: It is kid friendly

Cons: It is kid friendly

.

Everything I have tried here has been great, and I've been here at least a dozen times. The staff is usually very friendly too. The vibe is relaxed but the food arrives in a timely manner. The decor is very nice, but not too trendy or modern. The prices are extremely reasonable, especially for Smith Street. It is convenient too - only 1 block from the Carroll Street stop on the F train. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone!

2
★★★★★

Everything I have tried here has been great, and I've been here at least a dozen times. The staff is usually very friendly too. The vibe is relaxed but the food arrives in a timely manner. The decor is very nice, but not too trendy or modern. The prices are extremely reasonable, especially for Smith Street. It is convenient too - only 1 block from the Carroll Street stop on the F train. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone!

Pros: Great food, good prices

.

Went there for the first time yesterday. EVERYTHING was just delicious. Had a grouper special in a tomato broth with saffron mashed potatoes, it was awesome. My friends had the pork chop and jumbo shrimp entrees and they were fabulous too. Our wait person was helpful and friendly. A most pleasant dining experience, except for the screaming 2 year old a few tables away.

2
★★★★★

Went there for the first time yesterday. EVERYTHING was just delicious. Had a grouper special in a tomato broth with saffron mashed potatoes, it was awesome. My friends had the pork chop and jumbo shrimp entrees and they were fabulous too. Our wait person was helpful and friendly. A most pleasant dining experience, except for the screaming 2 year old a few tables away.

Pros: Food was fresh and light.

.

Great atmosphere and delicious food. We are a huge fan of their brunch - specifically the blt with a fried egg and avocado and their asparagus omelette with truffle oil. They often have a live guitar duo ala Django Reinhardt on Sundays. Dinner is delicious, too.
Great pasta. Overall, just a nice, relaxed place with affordable, tasty food.

2
★★★★★

Great atmosphere and delicious food. We are a huge fan of their brunch - specifically the blt with a fried egg and avocado and their asparagus omelette with truffle oil. They often have a live guitar duo ala Django Reinhardt on Sundays. Dinner is delicious, too.
Great pasta. Overall, just a nice, relaxed place with affordable, tasty food.

Pros: atmosphere, food, price

.

I want so much to like this place. The food is delicious, the staff is getting better. The last 2 times I went there the wait person told me they were under new management. I hope that works. One time the waitress left in the middle of our dinner. No one gave us the check. We just left the money on the table. One Saturday brunch. I ordered bacon and eggs. I had to put more money in the meter and the food had not arrived. Over one hour I waited. I had to pay for 2 bloody mary's. Toni and I go there when we don't feel like walking. The beet salad is great.
michele

1
★★★☆☆

I want so much to like this place. The food is delicious, the staff is getting better. The last 2 times I went there the wait person told me they were under new management. I hope that works. One time the waitress left in the middle of our dinner. No one gave us the check. We just left the money on the table. One Saturday brunch. I ordered bacon and eggs. I had to put more money in the meter and the food had not arrived. Over one hour I waited. I had to pay for 2 bloody mary's. Toni and I go there when we don't feel like walking. The beet salad is great.
michele

Pros: food, chef

Cons: staff

.

Went here with people from out of town, there was a great variety of food, great service, and a pretty setting... will definitely go back.

2
★★★★★

Went here with people from out of town, there was a great variety of food, great service, and a pretty setting... will definitely go back.

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Union Smith Cafe, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review