Medical City Las Colinas

★★★★☆
  • 6800 North Macarthur Boulevard

    Irving, TX 75039

    Map & Directions
  • 972-969-2000

About Medical City Las Colinas

Categories
  • Hospitals
Hours
M-Su 24hr
Special Offer
Check our ER wait times!

Health & Medical

Health & Medical
More choices in Irving:
Resultset_next

Hurlbut Stephen

Euless, TX

Resultset_next

North Texas children's Anesthesia

5001 LBJ Freeway Dallas, TX

3.5789 19
Hi! Sign in to let us know how Medical City Las Colinas was?
Write a Review
.

Had a surgery here and had to stay overnight. Based on previous reviews, I was terrified. But I'll have you know, this experience was MAGNIFICENT for me. VIP treatment from the Concierge to the private room. For starters the place is

3
★★★★★

Had a surgery here and had to stay overnight. Based on previous reviews, I was terrified. But I'll have you know, this experience was MAGNIFICENT for me. VIP treatment from the Concierge to the private room. For starters the place is

.

The billing practices if this hospital are unethical. I learned this 13 years ago, but why I didn't learn my lesson- I don't know- I delivered my son at this hospital in 2005, and they entered some coding incorrectly, which caused me to

3
★★★★★

The billing practices if this hospital are unethical. I learned this 13 years ago, but why I didn't learn my lesson- I don't know- I delivered my son at this hospital in 2005, and they entered some coding incorrectly, which caused me to

.

Hospital did not call us with preop information or instructions as we were told they would. We waited and waited the day before and never got a call, finally about 8pm the night before surgery we called ourselves and were told everyone had gone home for the evening but someone in the OR was able to tell us the surgery time had been moved up 2 hours. Had we not called on our own we would have been 2 hours late the next morning for surgery. We do have a nurse in the family who was able to tell us about stopping food and drink at midnight but nobody from the hospital ever contacted us about what to bring, where to come, or anything. The preop nurses were nice. After surgery though nobody let us know she had been moved up to a room, we sat and sat for over 2 hours as we were told to wait finally we find out by accident she has been up in a room, awake and already had a meal. Then a nurse gave her some pills with her bare hands, hope she washed them first..The food is beyond terrible - it is the worst type of insitiutional food, dry, greasy, bland, looks nasty, makes me think of what prison food must be like. The web site touts "executive chef" ?! I don't think so! However, the staff is very nice.

3
★★★☆☆

Hospital did not call us with preop information or instructions as we were told they would. We waited and waited the day before and never got a call, finally about 8pm the night before surgery we called ourselves and were told everyone had gone home for the evening but someone in the OR was able to tell us the surgery time had been moved up 2 hours. Had we not called on our own we would have been 2 hours late the next morning for surgery. We do have a nurse in the family who was able to tell us about stopping food and drink at midnight but nobody from the hospital ever contacted us about what to bring, where to come, or anything. The preop nurses were nice. After surgery though nobody let us know she had been moved up to a room, we sat and sat for over 2 hours as we were told to wait finally we find out by accident she has been up in a room, awake and already had a meal. Then a nurse gave her some pills with her bare hands, hope she washed them first..The food is beyond terrible - it is the worst type of insitiutional food, dry, greasy, bland, looks nasty, makes me think of what prison food must be like. The web site touts "executive chef" ?! I don't think so! However, the staff is very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

We implemented a texting system over a year and half ago that keeps the family updated on the progress of a loved one in and out of surgery. It seems rare that you were not properly informed of the progress. Secondly, I choose to eat on campus everyday and find the food far different than your discription.
.

I normally would not write a review for a hospital. However, I read all the negative reviews on this website before visiting the Las Colinas Medical Center Emergency Room last night and I was apprehensive to say the least. However, when I arrived I was immediately checked in and shown to a waiting room where a physicians assistant came and checked me out. The doctor came in soon after as well. I was in and out in about 45 minutes and had no problems whatsoever. It could not have been a better experience, considered the situation and that I had just been involved in a car accident. I would definitely visit the emergency room again if needed and would recommend it to anyone I know.

5
★★★★★

I normally would not write a review for a hospital. However, I read all the negative reviews on this website before visiting the Las Colinas Medical Center Emergency Room last night and I was apprehensive to say the least. However, when I arrived I was immediately checked in and shown to a waiting room where a physicians assistant came and checked me out. The doctor came in soon after as well. I was in and out in about 45 minutes and had no problems whatsoever. It could not have been a better experience, considered the situation and that I had just been involved in a car accident. I would definitely visit the emergency room again if needed and would recommend it to anyone I know.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

Business Response:

Thanks.... for your willingness to tell your story.
.

Will never use this facility again. The post op instructions and follow appointments were poorly explained and the day surgery department had the feeling of in and out.

The saddest thing about not using LCMC again is that I am a RN at LCMC

5
★★★★★

Will never use this facility again. The post op instructions and follow appointments were poorly explained and the day surgery department had the feeling of in and out.

The saddest thing about not using LCMC again is that I am a RN at LCMC

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

My mother has been to the ER several times. Excellent services. My Mother has been to Las Colinas Medcal Center several times. She had a heart valve replacement on March 13,2009. 2nd floor and ICU were excellent. All the Doctor's were great. C-Sant Team was excellent. Social Workers were great. Even the head of the hospital got involved concerning rehab selection. She is back again for other issues, and again; we are receiving excellent service A to Z. Family of Mae L Rodgers family.

5
★★★★★

My mother has been to the ER several times. Excellent services. My Mother has been to Las Colinas Medcal Center several times. She had a heart valve replacement on March 13,2009. 2nd floor and ICU were excellent. All the Doctor's were great. C-Sant Team was excellent. Social Workers were great. Even the head of the hospital got involved concerning rehab selection. She is back again for other issues, and again; we are receiving excellent service A to Z. Family of Mae L Rodgers family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I had a friend of mine get injured during a pick-up basketball game, we took him to the ER and he was admitted immediately I see a lot of reviews on here that describe an ER that was nothing like what I saw on my last visit. He was taken care of quickly and we were out of there before I knew it, overall my experience was very good, and all of the nurses seemed very patient care oriented, helpful and knowledgeable.

5
★★★★★

I had a friend of mine get injured during a pick-up basketball game, we took him to the ER and he was admitted immediately I see a lot of reviews on here that describe an ER that was nothing like what I saw on my last visit. He was taken care of quickly and we were out of there before I knew it, overall my experience was very good, and all of the nurses seemed very patient care oriented, helpful and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Excellent Staff and service. I have heard mixed reviews about the place but I am hear to tell you that I got excellent care during a recent ER visit. My injuries were not life threatening but I was impressed by how quick I was checked-in, evaluated and stitched up.

5
★★★★★

Excellent Staff and service. I have heard mixed reviews about the place but I am hear to tell you that I got excellent care during a recent ER visit. My injuries were not life threatening but I was impressed by how quick I was checked-in, evaluated and stitched up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Because I am on Medicare I believe the quality of care I recieved was LESS than it should have been! They always treat me like crap when I go to this ER, and I go there because its about 4 blocks from my gated community. If you can drive further I would always go somewhere else.

1
★☆☆☆☆

Because I am on Medicare I believe the quality of care I recieved was LESS than it should have been! They always treat me like crap when I go to this ER, and I go there because its about 4 blocks from my gated community. If you can drive further I would always go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

I had food poinsoning one night - throwing up, deeply in stomach pain, didn't know what else to do so called las colinas medical center. They wouldn't even let me finish explain my condition and kept "transfering" my calls a few times, and the last lady who answered was very rude to begin with, and she again, cut me off only to say "maan, we don't give you any information over the phone, sorry" I was beginning to say "so where should i go to??" of course she had hang up by then. I had bad customer services in past and usually don't even bother leaving bad reviews and things like that, but since this is medical related I thought it should be heard and recorded.

Thanks for reading.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I had food poinsoning one night - throwing up, deeply in stomach pain, didn't know what else to do so called las colinas medical center. They wouldn't even let me finish explain my condition and kept "transfering" my calls a few times, and the last lady who answered was very rude to begin with, and she again, cut me off only to say "maan, we don't give you any information over the phone, sorry" I was beginning to say "so where should i go to??" of course she had hang up by then. I had bad customer services in past and usually don't even bother leaving bad reviews and things like that, but since this is medical related I thought it should be heard and recorded.

Thanks for reading.

.

I was taken here on St Patricks day ( I do not drink). I was found in a dehydrated state and was very confused due to a variety of reasons including prescription meds and insomnia. These people were so kind. My "emergency" was certainly not life threatening, but it was serious. After the emergency room I spent the night for observation. From top to bottom these people were first class and have my many thanks. They were awesome!!!

5
★★★★★

I was taken here on St Patricks day ( I do not drink). I was found in a dehydrated state and was very confused due to a variety of reasons including prescription meds and insomnia. These people were so kind. My "emergency" was certainly not life threatening, but it was serious. After the emergency room I spent the night for observation. From top to bottom these people were first class and have my many thanks. They were awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

The ER sign indicates you will receive emergency services - but I was denied even the most basic care for no other reason than the date and time of my visit.

My stroke was 3 days after Christmas and the entire hopital including the ER was mostly unavailable. Even though I was only 48, my symptoms were sudden and classic textbook for a blood clot to the brain. Everyone knows you only have a few hours to get "help" if you hope to minimize brain damage from a heart attack or stroke right? My employer knew it and called paramedics - the paramedics knew it and took me to the nearest ER - then the ER staff totally dropped the ball. It was almost 5pm and there was noone available to give me the proper tests (a simple MRI) to determine if I was having a stroke, so by default I received no treatment at all. I did receive a CST scan but nothing was on it so.... that was it, no more tests because there was no one there to do them until the next morning. They wouldnt call someone in because by the time they did - it would be too late for my brain anyway?

It was a nightmare I will never forget or forgive. I was left with significant injury to my brain/body/life. Perhaps I would have experienced the same outcome had the Las Colinas Medical Center ER actually "treated" me, but I'll never know.

Do your homework people - just because the sign says ER does NOT mean they are fully equipped or staffed to provide what you need. It felt like I'd been told a terrible lie and I pay for it every day.

1
★☆☆☆☆

The ER sign indicates you will receive emergency services - but I was denied even the most basic care for no other reason than the date and time of my visit.

My stroke was 3 days after Christmas and the entire hopital including the ER was mostly unavailable. Even though I was only 48, my symptoms were sudden and classic textbook for a blood clot to the brain. Everyone knows you only have a few hours to get "help" if you hope to minimize brain damage from a heart attack or stroke right? My employer knew it and called paramedics - the paramedics knew it and took me to the nearest ER - then the ER staff totally dropped the ball. It was almost 5pm and there was noone available to give me the proper tests (a simple MRI) to determine if I was having a stroke, so by default I received no treatment at all. I did receive a CST scan but nothing was on it so.... that was it, no more tests because there was no one there to do them until the next morning. They wouldnt call someone in because by the time they did - it would be too late for my brain anyway?

It was a nightmare I will never forget or forgive. I was left with significant injury to my brain/body/life. Perhaps I would have experienced the same outcome had the Las Colinas Medical Center ER actually "treated" me, but I'll never know.

Do your homework people - just because the sign says ER does NOT mean they are fully equipped or staffed to provide what you need. It felt like I'd been told a terrible lie and I pay for it every day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

I don't think the people who had the accident expected for the woman in labor to not have a wheel chair. They were just saying that because they had been in an accident and had possible injuries to the neck, that it was upsetting that they didn't have enough chairs to accommodate both people who clearly needed them. I would have been bothered by that too.

And, the person whom you commented on...about not being able to spell simple words...
Maybe he speaks a different language. Maybe he is trying the best he can.

I'm sure this medical center is great. But, It's my opinion that these people have valid complaints, and your response to them is a little unfair and cold. And, you work in emergency...or a hospital you said? LOL. Well, that only makes me believe their comments even more.

4
★★★★☆

I don't think the people who had the accident expected for the woman in labor to not have a wheel chair. They were just saying that because they had been in an accident and had possible injuries to the neck, that it was upsetting that they didn't have enough chairs to accommodate both people who clearly needed them. I would have been bothered by that too.

And, the person whom you commented on...about not being able to spell simple words...
Maybe he speaks a different language. Maybe he is trying the best he can.

I'm sure this medical center is great. But, It's my opinion that these people have valid complaints, and your response to them is a little unfair and cold. And, you work in emergency...or a hospital you said? LOL. Well, that only makes me believe their comments even more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

Maybe the person doesn't speaka da eenglish... maybe not. So why write a review on something in english? maybe they're doing the best that they can. maybe they're a freaking idiot!As for the "stroke"... you're boss I'm sure being the competent medical professional they are did what was best. The paramedics are obligated to take you somewhere. They transport headaches and sunburns too. But then you got to the hospital and they said no- no we're not treating this one. Let me pause to ask that anyone who read your review stops and thinks why you? Why all of a sudden did the place that treats sick people say NO MORE! NOT THIS ONE! SKIP THIS ONE AND WE"LL HELP THE NEXT ONE! LOL. Reality is it didn't happen. Reality is you were determined by a DOCTOR to not have an emergency. I bet you were told to follow up with your regular doctor who if you even have one is probably sick of your mellow drama too. Regardless I bet you were told to follow up with a Dr and if they want to write an order for an MRI they could. I bet if they did do a CT scan it was to satisfy you. If you have insurance they wont pay because the doc and hospital can't list a diagnosis code that would deem a CT medically necessary because you weren't really in need of it. So the hospital eats that 2000. And if you were self pay they ate it when you hit the door I'm sure. Just to satisfy the customer. Not feeling good is scary. Hospitals are scary because it feels like you're not in control. A lot is fear of the unknown. Here is some light for you darkness. The er is there to determine if you have an emergency. If so treatment is given mainly to stabilize life and then transport to a room or appropriate facility. If not they try to ease what pain you may have (as long as you're not one of those people whose 9-5 is going hospital to hospital seeking pain meds) and then send you to a Dr. In no er in the world will you find the word clinic. That's not what they do. They are also not required to perform tests that aren't necessary. That keeps costs down. You're review didn't appear to be written by a brain damaged person. Let me be the first to congratulate you on such a speedy recovery.

4
★★★★☆

Maybe the person doesn't speaka da eenglish... maybe not. So why write a review on something in english? maybe they're doing the best that they can. maybe they're a freaking idiot!As for the "stroke"... you're boss I'm sure being the competent medical professional they are did what was best. The paramedics are obligated to take you somewhere. They transport headaches and sunburns too. But then you got to the hospital and they said no- no we're not treating this one. Let me pause to ask that anyone who read your review stops and thinks why you? Why all of a sudden did the place that treats sick people say NO MORE! NOT THIS ONE! SKIP THIS ONE AND WE"LL HELP THE NEXT ONE! LOL. Reality is it didn't happen. Reality is you were determined by a DOCTOR to not have an emergency. I bet you were told to follow up with your regular doctor who if you even have one is probably sick of your mellow drama too. Regardless I bet you were told to follow up with a Dr and if they want to write an order for an MRI they could. I bet if they did do a CT scan it was to satisfy you. If you have insurance they wont pay because the doc and hospital can't list a diagnosis code that would deem a CT medically necessary because you weren't really in need of it. So the hospital eats that 2000. And if you were self pay they ate it when you hit the door I'm sure. Just to satisfy the customer. Not feeling good is scary. Hospitals are scary because it feels like you're not in control. A lot is fear of the unknown. Here is some light for you darkness. The er is there to determine if you have an emergency. If so treatment is given mainly to stabilize life and then transport to a room or appropriate facility. If not they try to ease what pain you may have (as long as you're not one of those people whose 9-5 is going hospital to hospital seeking pain meds) and then send you to a Dr. In no er in the world will you find the word clinic. That's not what they do. They are also not required to perform tests that aren't necessary. That keeps costs down. You're review didn't appear to be written by a brain damaged person. Let me be the first to congratulate you on such a speedy recovery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

.

I have had to visit the las Colinas emergency room in the middle of the night a couple of times due to some gastro-intestinal problems. Although the proper attention has been given it has not been very prompt. I would rate the experience both times as satisfactory but not great.

3
★★★☆☆

I have had to visit the las Colinas emergency room in the middle of the night a couple of times due to some gastro-intestinal problems. Although the proper attention has been given it has not been very prompt. I would rate the experience both times as satisfactory but not great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

If you are in an accident in the Irving area - watch out!! Don't let them take you here!!!

This hospital is great if you are having a baby and I believe it is even nationally recognized for this. However.... This is NOT the emergency room you would want to go to.

Example: My wife was in an auto accident and was taken here. After waiting for quite a bit of time she was taken in for examination for complaints of severe back and neck pain. At no time was a collar placed on her to prevent spinal injury! When it was time for her to get her X-Rays a nurse came in and was going to take the wheel chair she was using and said that my wife could walk she needed the chair for a woman in labor.

In my opinion I would rather risk going further in an emergency than risk going to this hospital!!!

1
★☆☆☆☆

If you are in an accident in the Irving area - watch out!! Don't let them take you here!!!

This hospital is great if you are having a baby and I believe it is even nationally recognized for this. However.... This is NOT the emergency room you would want to go to.

Example: My wife was in an auto accident and was taken here. After waiting for quite a bit of time she was taken in for examination for complaints of severe back and neck pain. At no time was a collar placed on her to prevent spinal injury! When it was time for her to get her X-Rays a nurse came in and was going to take the wheel chair she was using and said that my wife could walk she needed the chair for a woman in labor.

In my opinion I would rather risk going further in an emergency than risk going to this hospital!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

I have been rushed to this ER twice for medical care, and I must say, the middle of the night crew is not a very happy one. I was in a car accident and was told to walk down to the X-ray area for my X-rays. My husband was livid and got a wheelchair for me, because I could barely move my neck. The customer service is completely lacking in these so-called "nurses". I'm not sure why they are nurses - they certainly don't leave you with a warm fuzzy feeling. I will try my best to stay away from this ER if at all possible - and I tell everyone else to do the same if it is late at night. They seriously need to change the way they handle patients.

PROS: None
CONS: Horrible medical care

1
★☆☆☆☆

I have been rushed to this ER twice for medical care, and I must say, the middle of the night crew is not a very happy one. I was in a car accident and was told to walk down to the X-ray area for my X-rays. My husband was livid and got a wheelchair for me, because I could barely move my neck. The customer service is completely lacking in these so-called "nurses". I'm not sure why they are nurses - they certainly don't leave you with a warm fuzzy feeling. I will try my best to stay away from this ER if at all possible - and I tell everyone else to do the same if it is late at night. They seriously need to change the way they handle patients.

PROS: None
CONS: Horrible medical care

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

When I had my son at Las Colinas Medical Center, it was a positive experience. There are separate rooms in separate wings for labor and delivery versus post partum. All rooms are private and spacious. Almost all of the nurses were friendly and very helpful. The nurses in the nursery took very good care of my son. They are very pro-breastfeeding, and have a lactation consultant that can help you if you have any problems. They also offer several classes before the baby arrives to help prepare you for childbirth, breastfeeding, and caring for a baby.

4
★★★★☆

When I had my son at Las Colinas Medical Center, it was a positive experience. There are separate rooms in separate wings for labor and delivery versus post partum. All rooms are private and spacious. Almost all of the nurses were friendly and very helpful. The nurses in the nursery took very good care of my son. They are very pro-breastfeeding, and have a lactation consultant that can help you if you have any problems. They also offer several classes before the baby arrives to help prepare you for childbirth, breastfeeding, and caring for a baby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

.

I delivered my baby at Las Colinas and it went pretty well. The nurse that i had while in labor was nice, she did anything to make me feel comfortable, all the machines worked properly and everything went smoothly. So the Labor part of the unit was really nice. The rooms are pretty and are made like a bedroom for a comfortable enviroment! I never went to the post-pardum unit becuase it was full so i was put in a clean delivery room for my post-pardum. So i can't say i wouldnt ever go back, because now they have built a bueatiful new addition including more post-pardum rooms!

3
★★★☆☆

I delivered my baby at Las Colinas and it went pretty well. The nurse that i had while in labor was nice, she did anything to make me feel comfortable, all the machines worked properly and everything went smoothly. So the Labor part of the unit was really nice. The rooms are pretty and are made like a bedroom for a comfortable enviroment! I never went to the post-pardum unit becuase it was full so i was put in a clean delivery room for my post-pardum. So i can't say i wouldnt ever go back, because now they have built a bueatiful new addition including more post-pardum rooms!

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Message from Medical City Las Colinas

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used Medical City Las Colinas, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review