The Capital Grille

★★★★☆
  • 250 Boylston St

    Chestnut Hill, MA 02167

    Map & Directions
  • 617-928-1400

Food

Food
More choices in Chestnut Hill:
Resultset_next

Tavern in the Square

730 Massachusetts Ave Cambridge, IA

Resultset_next

Red Sky Restaurant and Lounge

16 North St Boston, GA

3.6364 22
Hi! Sign in to let us know how The Capital Grille was?
Write a Review
.

Yes, it was a Saturday evening - and busy....however we made reservations at 5:15 to avoid the crowd (somewhat...!) Our waitress was busy and stressed and literally plopped food down onto the table as she flew by - diner style!! Not even placed in front of us! We had to bring our coffee & after dinner drinks to us !! She made us well aware that ""she' be back"" , ""she'd be right there"" when we really weren't looking for her - we were contentedly enjoying each other's company and really didn't want to be made aware of her hectic pace - -we were there to relax! After the initial pouring of wine, we served our own wine from the bottle for the rest of the meal - no service there either. My husband asked for a napkin, which came at the END of dinner. It was clear that she had NO time for us. Too many tables, perhaps? We really don't care WHY. With the amount of money you spend for a lovely evening, one would expect far superior service than what we experienced. The service was a HUGE disappointment. We left slightly less than our standard 20%, but should have left 10% so that she got the message. We just couldn't do that. The feeling that you were ""in the way"" truly put a negative vibe on an evening that we had looked forward to. In the future we will spend our $200 evening (for 2) elsewhere

1
★★☆☆☆

Yes, it was a Saturday evening - and busy....however we made reservations at 5:15 to avoid the crowd (somewhat...!) Our waitress was busy and stressed and literally plopped food down onto the table as she flew by - diner style!! Not even placed in front of us! We had to bring our coffee & after dinner drinks to us !! She made us well aware that ""she' be back"" , ""she'd be right there"" when we really weren't looking for her - we were contentedly enjoying each other's company and really didn't want to be made aware of her hectic pace - -we were there to relax! After the initial pouring of wine, we served our own wine from the bottle for the rest of the meal - no service there either. My husband asked for a napkin, which came at the END of dinner. It was clear that she had NO time for us. Too many tables, perhaps? We really don't care WHY. With the amount of money you spend for a lovely evening, one would expect far superior service than what we experienced. The service was a HUGE disappointment. We left slightly less than our standard 20%, but should have left 10% so that she got the message. We just couldn't do that. The feeling that you were ""in the way"" truly put a negative vibe on an evening that we had looked forward to. In the future we will spend our $200 evening (for 2) elsewhere

.

Serves a great meal. I love the steak here. I heard that the Capital Grille in Rhode Island is supposed to be the best. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and if you go, get the steak.

4
★★★★☆

Serves a great meal. I love the steak here. I heard that the Capital Grille in Rhode Island is supposed to be the best. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and if you go, get the steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

One of the best steakhouses in the Boston area. Food is excellent, although expensive. Atmosphere is great and restaurant is easy to get to in the metro west area. Highly recommend it when you are in the mood for a great steak.

5
★★★★★

One of the best steakhouses in the Boston area. Food is excellent, although expensive. Atmosphere is great and restaurant is easy to get to in the metro west area. Highly recommend it when you are in the mood for a great steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

I gave it only 2 stars, as it was meant to be a very upscale experience! We waited, largely ignored by the hostess, for over an hour. We were never thanked for waiting, despite our initial wait time of 20 mins far passing us by. Probably not again.

1
★★☆☆☆

I gave it only 2 stars, as it was meant to be a very upscale experience! We waited, largely ignored by the hostess, for over an hour. We were never thanked for waiting, despite our initial wait time of 20 mins far passing us by. Probably not again.

.

Treat yourself to a great dining experience at the Capital Grille. The service is first class and so is the food. The prices are pretty high, but for the quality of the food and service it's worth it.

5
★★★★★

Treat yourself to a great dining experience at the Capital Grille. The service is first class and so is the food. The prices are pretty high, but for the quality of the food and service it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

Capital Grille has one of the best steaks out there and it is still priced decently. The service is always good too. Sometimes there can be a crowd so reservations are a good idea.

5
★★★★★

Capital Grille has one of the best steaks out there and it is still priced decently. The service is always good too. Sometimes there can be a crowd so reservations are a good idea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

My wife and I went to eat at the Girll 12/7. The night started out fine. The dinner started out ok, the apps came out timely and were prepared properly. Then we noticed the table next to us that their filet was over cooked and they had sent it back get a new one. When the filet retuned it was brought to the table by the ?chef? him self, with an apology. After a long wait our dinner arrived at the table and now my wife filet was over cooked, (more burnt than over cooked.) so we sent it back and waited. The filet never came back! I had stopped eating my meal because it had taken so long . I had got the waitresses attention and she went in to the kitchen several times to check on it. She finally came out of the kitchen and said that she was getting a manager, without our asking. When the manager came to the table and we found her to be very condescending. At that point I told her that we would pay for the apps and the bottle of wine we had and would be on our why. When she had came over with the check she surprised me with two things, one was our filet, witch by now we did not want to eat a cold filet and second she gave us her card and said to call any time and she would make it right, but I?m not sure how she would remember us since she didn?t ask our names! Also it seemed very clear to me by the look on our waitress?s face that the kitchen was giving her a hard time about this. Please let your kitchen staff know that only the guests suffer when you give the wait staff a hard time. Give the same service to all the tables in the dining room! One other thing, the manager kept using the excuse that it takes time to cook a filet to her doneness (medium) but you?re a steakhouse so there should lots of filets already cooking. May I suggest taking a filet that is about to go out med-rare and just bring up the temp a bit and sending that one out, because to cook a filet med-rare does not take long!

0
★☆☆☆☆

My wife and I went to eat at the Girll 12/7. The night started out fine. The dinner started out ok, the apps came out timely and were prepared properly. Then we noticed the table next to us that their filet was over cooked and they had sent it back get a new one. When the filet retuned it was brought to the table by the ?chef? him self, with an apology. After a long wait our dinner arrived at the table and now my wife filet was over cooked, (more burnt than over cooked.) so we sent it back and waited. The filet never came back! I had stopped eating my meal because it had taken so long . I had got the waitresses attention and she went in to the kitchen several times to check on it. She finally came out of the kitchen and said that she was getting a manager, without our asking. When the manager came to the table and we found her to be very condescending. At that point I told her that we would pay for the apps and the bottle of wine we had and would be on our why. When she had came over with the check she surprised me with two things, one was our filet, witch by now we did not want to eat a cold filet and second she gave us her card and said to call any time and she would make it right, but I?m not sure how she would remember us since she didn?t ask our names! Also it seemed very clear to me by the look on our waitress?s face that the kitchen was giving her a hard time about this. Please let your kitchen staff know that only the guests suffer when you give the wait staff a hard time. Give the same service to all the tables in the dining room! One other thing, the manager kept using the excuse that it takes time to cook a filet to her doneness (medium) but you?re a steakhouse so there should lots of filets already cooking. May I suggest taking a filet that is about to go out med-rare and just bring up the temp a bit and sending that one out, because to cook a filet med-rare does not take long!

.

I have never had a better steak or dining experience. They are simply the best. The atmosphere is very quiet and intimate. They are very attentative and have a great menu of delicious steaks and don't forget to leave room for desert.

5
★★★★★

I have never had a better steak or dining experience. They are simply the best. The atmosphere is very quiet and intimate. They are very attentative and have a great menu of delicious steaks and don't forget to leave room for desert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings_icons Ratings_icons

.

For my husband's 50th birthday, our family of four went to dinner Saturday night - 10/27 at Capital Grille. \r
\r
While a bit surprised by the noise levels, that was the least of the unpleasant experience. Our table was squeezed between several large parties. After our daughter was knocked in the back for the third time, we asked that our table be moved. There was just not enough clearance for the wait staff to maneuver without banging into someone. \r
\r
My steak which was ordered medium well, arrived to the table almost rare. It took over five minutes to get anyone's attention to address the situation. Several weeks ago, we ate at Ruth Chris and there the wait staff do not leave the table until you cut into your steak and insure it is cooked to your satisfaction. \r
\r
\r
After, we finished our main course, we were asked about the check. As I informed the resturant that it was my husband's birthday, I was very surprised and annoyed. it was very clear they were trying to turn over the table. We ordered desert but they neglected to place a candle on his dessert. \r
\r
While the food was excellant, I have had much better dining experiences, especially for a special occasion dinner at Ruth Chris and Morton's. The waiter was very attentive when he could be , but he was clearly being insturcted to turn over his tables by the resturant manger. He also had to many tables.\r
\r
We won't be back. \r
\r
\r
\r

1
★★☆☆☆

For my husband's 50th birthday, our family of four went to dinner Saturday night - 10/27 at Capital Grille. \r
\r
While a bit surprised by the noise levels, that was the least of the unpleasant experience. Our table was squeezed between several large parties. After our daughter was knocked in the back for the third time, we asked that our table be moved. There was just not enough clearance for the wait staff to maneuver without banging into someone. \r
\r
My steak which was ordered medium well, arrived to the table almost rare. It took over five minutes to get anyone's attention to address the situation. Several weeks ago, we ate at Ruth Chris and there the wait staff do not leave the table until you cut into your steak and insure it is cooked to your satisfaction. \r
\r
\r
After, we finished our main course, we were asked about the check. As I informed the resturant that it was my husband's birthday, I was very surprised and annoyed. it was very clear they were trying to turn over the table. We ordered desert but they neglected to place a candle on his dessert. \r
\r
While the food was excellant, I have had much better dining experiences, especially for a special occasion dinner at Ruth Chris and Morton's. The waiter was very attentive when he could be , but he was clearly being insturcted to turn over his tables by the resturant manger. He also had to many tables.\r
\r
We won't be back. \r
\r
\r
\r

Cons: The resturant's focus was on turning over the table - not to the dinner's experience

.

For those nights where you really want to splurge and treat yourself (or a date) to great food this is the place. Although I have never eaten in the actual dining room, I love to eat at the bar, and the lamb chops are the best I've had, pretty much all over the world. No exaggeration. Bar staff are really friendly, service is excellent, and the food is mouth watering.

2
★★★★★

For those nights where you really want to splurge and treat yourself (or a date) to great food this is the place. Although I have never eaten in the actual dining room, I love to eat at the bar, and the lamb chops are the best I've had, pretty much all over the world. No exaggeration. Bar staff are really friendly, service is excellent, and the food is mouth watering.

Pros: fantastic food

Cons: expensive but worth every penny

.

I was terribly embarrassed to have arranged a corporate lunch here. Two members of the group were vegetarians, and there is literally nothing vegetarian on the menu. I've never had that happen before, and was very surprised to have encountered that in a higher-priced national chain. We paid for our beverages, I apologized profusely to the affected parties, and we all left. Very disappointing.

0
★☆☆☆☆

I was terribly embarrassed to have arranged a corporate lunch here. Two members of the group were vegetarians, and there is literally nothing vegetarian on the menu. I've never had that happen before, and was very surprised to have encountered that in a higher-priced national chain. We paid for our beverages, I apologized profusely to the affected parties, and we all left. Very disappointing.

Pros: None - party had to leave

Cons: No vegetarian menu items

.

We went to the Capital Grille with a party of ten people with a nine o'clock reservation recently. We were not seated until just past ten and by then we were all pretty hungry. Our waiter was terrible and added drinks we never ordered which totalled almost $100 that we caught by sheer luck. The steaks were all undercooked and returned to the kitchen. They simply reheated them and over cooked them all. When we left we told the host and the response was, ""thanks for the input"". Thanks for nothing, leave this place out of your plans in my opinion.

1
★★☆☆☆

We went to the Capital Grille with a party of ten people with a nine o'clock reservation recently. We were not seated until just past ten and by then we were all pretty hungry. Our waiter was terrible and added drinks we never ordered which totalled almost $100 that we caught by sheer luck. The steaks were all undercooked and returned to the kitchen. They simply reheated them and over cooked them all. When we left we told the host and the response was, ""thanks for the input"". Thanks for nothing, leave this place out of your plans in my opinion.

Pros: Good atmosphere, Good Bar Scene

Cons: Bad Service, Mediocre Food, High Prices

.

This was the BEST Kansas City Steak I have ever had! Topped with carmel butter...although expensive it was unbeleivable.

2
★★★★★

This was the BEST Kansas City Steak I have ever had! Topped with carmel butter...although expensive it was unbeleivable.

Pros: service, food

Cons: price

.

The steaks and side dishes were outstanding. Incredible. My dinner party loved it. The atmostphere was nicely traditional. Yet it was rather noisy on a Saturday night so we couldn't easily talk over the table. Service was very nice. But our food took over an hour and a half to prepare. When asked they said the medium well steaks take longer. I suggest you order a salad to give you something to do while waiting, or order ahead (an option?), or be madly in love with the person next to you so time flys. Since food quality can't be matched keep this place on your list to consider.

1
★★★☆☆

The steaks and side dishes were outstanding. Incredible. My dinner party loved it. The atmostphere was nicely traditional. Yet it was rather noisy on a Saturday night so we couldn't easily talk over the table. Service was very nice. But our food took over an hour and a half to prepare. When asked they said the medium well steaks take longer. I suggest you order a salad to give you something to do while waiting, or order ahead (an option?), or be madly in love with the person next to you so time flys. Since food quality can't be matched keep this place on your list to consider.

Pros: Great food, Polished service

Cons: , Noisy on weekend, Expensive

.

Had a $25 gift certificate and still ended up paying $130 more. Steaks were very good and the waiter, Joe, was courteous and friendly. I had a 5:30 reservation but showed up half an hour early and they had no problems seating us early.

A bit dark in the room. But otherwise, good food, good service. Still trying to decide if it was worth what I spent. I would definitely go back, but I'll have to save up a bit before I do.

2
★★★★☆

Had a $25 gift certificate and still ended up paying $130 more. Steaks were very good and the waiter, Joe, was courteous and friendly. I had a 5:30 reservation but showed up half an hour early and they had no problems seating us early.

A bit dark in the room. But otherwise, good food, good service. Still trying to decide if it was worth what I spent. I would definitely go back, but I'll have to save up a bit before I do.

Pros: large portions, tasty food, free parking

Cons: expensive, dark, expensive

.

My first trip to the Chestnut Hill location was less than impressive. Bartender was confused about order. Slow & confused table service. Steaks cold and not cooked as ordered. Veggies served very late.
No apologies, no eye contact. No going back. Very reminiscent of the service @ Bickfords.....
Have they lost their edge?

1
★★☆☆☆

My first trip to the Chestnut Hill location was less than impressive. Bartender was confused about order. Slow & confused table service. Steaks cold and not cooked as ordered. Veggies served very late.
No apologies, no eye contact. No going back. Very reminiscent of the service @ Bickfords.....
Have they lost their edge?

Cons: Little Value, Poor Service, Food Quality

.

Having eaten at the Capital Grille I do agree that it is a fine eating establishment but I don't think it is in any way a romantic place to eat.

2
★★★★☆

Having eaten at the Capital Grille I do agree that it is a fine eating establishment but I don't think it is in any way a romantic place to eat.

.

I had dinner at the Capital Grille for my twenty first birthday. The service was exellent, there is valet parking and there was someone there to greet me at the door. However, i ordered the filet mingon and it was horrible it tasted like liver. it was burned when i ordered it medium. everything but the steak was great.

1
★★★☆☆

I had dinner at the Capital Grille for my twenty first birthday. The service was exellent, there is valet parking and there was someone there to greet me at the door. However, i ordered the filet mingon and it was horrible it tasted like liver. it was burned when i ordered it medium. everything but the steak was great.

Pros: parking, dessert, wine list

Cons: steak

.

The Capital Grille is the best steakhouse I've ever been to. Better than Grille 23. Better than Abe and Louie's. Better than the Palm. It rocks.

2
★★★★★

The Capital Grille is the best steakhouse I've ever been to. Better than Grille 23. Better than Abe and Louie's. Better than the Palm. It rocks.

Pros: service, food, valet parking

.

The capital grill has the best steak in town. I have dined at the Federalist, The Chop House, Abe and Louey's etc...the capital Grill is the best. The service is 5 star, along with the atmosphere. Go...you will not regret it!!!

2
★★★★★

The capital grill has the best steak in town. I have dined at the Federalist, The Chop House, Abe and Louey's etc...the capital Grill is the best. The service is 5 star, along with the atmosphere. Go...you will not regret it!!!

.

This is a first class operation from the start to the finish. I highly recommend it for someone in the mood for a classy, high-class affordable evening.

2
★★★★★

This is a first class operation from the start to the finish. I highly recommend it for someone in the mood for a classy, high-class affordable evening.

.

OK- I'm a Chicago born, NYC raised steak house afficianado, and I'm telling you all: this is THE BEST STEAK in Boston!!! I'm not saying this is the universally best steakhouse chain; each city's are slightly different (I love Morton's in NYC but am at least dissapointed in Boston's); but Back Bay's Capital Grills aged steaks are simply to die for. We always come for carnivore's b-days and the like.....

2
★★★★★

OK- I'm a Chicago born, NYC raised steak house afficianado, and I'm telling you all: this is THE BEST STEAK in Boston!!! I'm not saying this is the universally best steakhouse chain; each city's are slightly different (I love Morton's in NYC but am at least dissapointed in Boston's); but Back Bay's Capital Grills aged steaks are simply to die for. We always come for carnivore's b-days and the like.....

Message from The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille is nationally acclaimed for dry-aged steak, fresh seafood, & extensive, award-winning wine list, presented with professional, attentive service in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance. -- seafood, steakhouse, steak, lobster restaurant, wine, wine bar, salmon, fine dining restaurant -- We Wine. We Dine.

More about The Capital Grille

Chestnut Hill seafood, steakhouse, steak, lobster restaurant, wine bar, salmon, american restaurant, fine dining restaurant

 

Wait, you're the expert.

If you've been to or used The Capital Grille, leave a review.

It's easy, only takes a couple of minutes and you'll help thousands make an informed decision.



Write a Review